St. Paul (Roseville), MN
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: sheepweevil Hole #13 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 227ft.   3 / 278ft.   3 / 278ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    7/27/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: whereswenzel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners, not too long, but still a good distance to be challenging.
Cons: Too many trees, and also easy to lose your disk in the water as the water is often right in the way of play.
Other Thoughts: A good course overall despite the obstacles.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a good course for first timers

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Astus Vulpi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is big enough, there are usually people there who will be willing to help you find your disc if you lost it, great for intermediate players, good variations of difficulties through the course.
Cons: this is NOT the place to play your first game. Very tough for beginners, TOO MANY TREES, weird set up for navigating from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: this is the course i play on the most, being that i live so close to it, i DID play my first game here actually, luckily, i had a natural ability for getting the disc over the water hazards and not doing to bad for a first timer. Personally I find this course quite enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice wooded course

1    6/14/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: midsmalls
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out and has a great flow from hole to hole. I personally thought it was damn near impossible to loose a disc as there are so many trails right off of the fairway.
Cons: BUSY BUSY BUSY we went on a rainy monday at 5pm and it was packed. Muddy when raining
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to beginners and seasoned vets alike. It has a real "UP north" feeling to it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, but not great

2-4    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jeydax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed course, with many different types of holes. Long, winding holes. Hilly holes, tree holes, short holes... lots of different kinds make it a fun course. A long course to play for sure, but fun. The course will challenge pretty much all aspects of your game. Trees come into play on many holes, some water shots. The baskets themselves were nice, tees were all great.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs, and some of the holes are too "tight", in my opinion. Crowded course. Too much brush/trees in most holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the course itself is over-hyped. It is an extremely well designed course, no doubt, but wasn't *amazing* like some people have made it out to be around the Twin Cities. We played with a group of 4 and we all felt it was too easy to lose a disc. We spent a good 30 minutes trying to find some discs that were only a few feet off some of the holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    4/29/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes in the trees and out in the open. This lets you use your skill shots as well as just step back and throw it as hard as you can.
Cons: It was crowded when I played it, and it sounds like there are always a good deal of people at this course.
Other Thoughts: I will certainly play this course again, and I guess there is something to be said about a course that always has people at it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Course

5+    5/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: DISC CRAFT BUZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really cool course with some water hole's on hole 1 and 9 there are lots of short holes as well, most of which are in the woods. also a few far hole's I play here almost every day it's a pretty basic fun course.
Cons: There's a lot of beginners at this course the past few years it's been getting worse and worse and now kaposia park and north vally are pay to play so people are swarming acorn it's kinda a wait I suggest going there before 5pm.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very fun to play, plenty of differant types of holes, most of them are wooded but there are 5 or so out in the open, be prepared to bring all your shots and get yourself out of some tight spots, overall alot of differant types of shots make this course really fun to paly
Cons: overall i like this course a lot, however it is showing its age a little bit, the dirt in a few places is beginning to show some roots and stumps, also a few fo the tee pads need some work.
Other Thoughts: this is one of my favorite courses, the front 9 is a little easier than the back, if you throw great shots you can score low but big numbers are out there if you have a few wayword drives, and if the wind is blowing pretty good this course becomes even tougher than it is normally

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  DEEP and WOODISH

1    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: BOBriege
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course for any range of players. I played with a young 10 year old, experienced other, and another person my age just starting out and everyone was involved and enjoyed the course.

Each hole demands a different approach and makes think about your set ups and approaches. I was using types of shots I've never had been forced to use and loved the challenge.
Cons: Be prepared to hit trees if you're not comfortable with your flight paths, with the exception of 4 holes or so it's a great amount of wood holes. This may be frustrating to those just starting.

Hard course to get a good first impression but it is possible.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved the course and played it very well for my level. Recommended to all levels and for those looking for a course demanding accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jibbinmaster
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: This course has a bit of everything. The front 9 is mostly shorter to medium length holes with trees but still fairly open baskets. There are a few well placed water hazards, which are more like swamps.
The 9th hole can easily be played as a par 4, as its one of the longest holes on the course, especially when the wind is blowing since its the first hole to really open up from the trees.
The back 9 starts getting very technical, lots of well placed trees, for instance on the 11th hole the pin is tucked inbetween about 5 or 6 trees circling it, making a clear shot at the pin almost unheard of. This course will make you think, which is always more fun than being bored.
The last three holes are on open mowed grass hills, with nice elevation changes and when the wind is blowing, offers quite a challenge.
Cons: If you are a beginner, i would reccomend going with someone who has played the course at least once. I dont think this course is too hard for a beginner but its very common to not be able to see the pin from the back tee boxes, and the tee boxes can sometimes be hidden. Watch out because you could easily innadvertantly walk right into the middle of a hole and not notice, ive seen a few people almost get hit. Watch for walkers and bikers travelling the paths that run alongside most of the course as well.
Other Thoughts: Everyone here is very friendly, you would have no problem playing through, or when its busy and im just with one other friend I often will just play with a 2some i meet on a tee box or something. Be aware of law enforcement as well, as it is right off rice street they will patrol on the sidewalks along the course randomly, which is a pretty amusing sight to say the least. Have fun and enjoy.

 Great Skill Park

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offers one of the 'more' intimidating 1st holes out there, offering 3 tee locations. One over the "water" which is more like a biohazard swamp, one to the left which skirts it, and one to the right which bypasses it altogether. If you dont have confidence in your throw, borrow a friends disc.

Otherwise the course offers a good variety of holes and shots, you often need to avoid trees, and the back 9 offers 3-4 "open" holes.

There is a Secret teebox on 15 that offers one of the most entertaining shots on the course. Directly to the left while standing on the concrete box there is a path, to the left of the path there is a patch of dirt with a wooden post. that offers a difficult right to left bank shot, and one of the biggest turns on the course.

Everyone is super friendly, and are more than happy to have people play through, or play right behind so they dont get lost.

Its compact and parking is easy, plus the gas station down the road caters to the park, has discs for sale, and is easy to run down to.
Cons: The 'water' hazards are more mud-pit than anything else and can be awful to retrieve discs from if not impossible.

Download and print the PDF of the course map, if you dont have it you will get lost. People always jump from #2 to #9 by accident.

For whatever reason, in the 30+ times ive played this course, there always seems to be the kids tossing beer cans, or people playing multiple discs that slows down the game - it is a BUSY park. Waiting is never that long.

It is easy to lose discs on just about every hole if you arent careful.

Same goes for damage. Ive cracked a couple discs on errant tee-shots that smacked directly into one of the MANY tree obstacles in the course, so be aware.
Other Thoughts: I have been playin this course for the last few years and absolutely love it. The terrain is VERY challenging to maintain par, and requires a good touch. Many reviews say 'not for new players' but i would disagree, we have taken many newbies out and they loved it just because of how fun it was to play. Some people love the 'golf course' approach to disc with wide, open, long fairways. Where is the challenge in that? For those of us that dont have a cannon for an arm, but can still toss 250-300 on a solid drive, this place is a blast to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.