St. Paul (Roseville), MN 
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: sheepweevil Hole #1 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 145ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Most popular course in the Twin Cities

5+    2/10/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In some ways Acorn is a great beginner to intermediate level park. It's the quintessential "local course" for any suburban-city dweller. Short enough that anyone can play it. Long enough that good players will still be able to let a few drives rip at full power. Wooded enough that it's not just an open field. It presents a pretty good variety of shots without being overly punishing or difficult.

The front 8 are all birdies for anyone who can throw 300 feet and all very aceable. From there it gets a bit harder, but not much. It's below average difficulty when compared to other full length courses in the area. There is some funky water to contend with, but shooting around it from an alternate tee is always an option.

Acorn is a casual friendly course. Its got nice baskets, benches at a lot of the holes, and it flows pretty naturally. There are always enough people there that getting lost shouldn't be a problem.
Cons: It gets ungodly busy during peak hours in the spring, summer, and fall. The course only takes about an hour to play a leisurely round in a small group, but that can be doubled or tripled by wait times if you go on a weeknight or weekend. Lines of 10-20 people on hole one are not uncommon and large groups (6-10+) of complete noobs with no knowledge of etiquette appear regularly.

The quality of the teepads is inconsistent but they are serviceable.

There is a very legitimate chance of being hit by a disc or hitting someone else. I've seen it happen no less than 3 times in the hundreds of rounds I've played here. Acorn has a few blind drives near very busy walking paths and a lot of holes play next to each other or the path with no natural boundaries to block stray drives. In addition, despite the hundreds of disc golfers there every day, the park is frequented by a lot of people who just stroll around the course with no regard for the danger or inconvenience.
Other Thoughts: Acorn is an entertaining, pleasant course to play, if you get there at the right time of day. The earlier in the morning you go, the less likely you are to run into crowds, and more likely you are to find unmarked discs just laying around, lost the day before by some unfortunate beginners.

It's not the most challenging course. A skilled golfer will have fun racking up the birdies and a recreational player will have a decent chance at pars.

If you're new to the area, it's a good place to go to meet disc golfers when it's busy. If you're passing through, it's a nice place to stop by and play. If you live close by, it's a great place to play every day.

If you're looking to play a course in this area on a weeknight or weekend, go to Lakewood Hills or Kaposia instead.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Local Favorite

5+    10/22/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: omni
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a bit of everything! From tightly wooded, obstacle heavy in the front 9 to more open, longer holes in the back 9. Some holes are very technical, bring a tight lined fairway driver or mid range. Once you find the tee area most teeboxes are easy to find and concrete.
Cons: Water comes to play in hole 1 (and a few others to a lesser degree) and I totally hate that hole since there are branches right around it you can snag and lose a disc. If you are new, play the short tee on hole 1 (its a short putt from that box). This course can be crowded at times, I tend to play early morning and that helps. The layout is a bit tricky, bring a map.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course and I've played it over 20 times. There is also a nearby disc golf store and occasionally there will be kids selling disks someone on the front 9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for technical shot selection. Hard because it is tight easy because it is mostly short holes. Only 9 & 18 are two drive holes and 9 really isn't that long. The trees and tee pad placement make is course challenging.
Cons: There is no real elevation change to speak of. Short course. Very Very crowded! Tee pads need some work.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/27/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: whereswenzel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners, not too long, but still a good distance to be challenging.
Cons: Too many trees, and also easy to lose your disk in the water as the water is often right in the way of play.
Other Thoughts: A good course overall despite the obstacles.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a good course for first timers

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Astus Vulpi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is big enough, there are usually people there who will be willing to help you find your disc if you lost it, great for intermediate players, good variations of difficulties through the course.
Cons: this is NOT the place to play your first game. Very tough for beginners, TOO MANY TREES, weird set up for navigating from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: this is the course i play on the most, being that i live so close to it, i DID play my first game here actually, luckily, i had a natural ability for getting the disc over the water hazards and not doing to bad for a first timer. Personally I find this course quite enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice wooded course

1    6/14/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: midsmalls
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out and has a great flow from hole to hole. I personally thought it was damn near impossible to loose a disc as there are so many trails right off of the fairway.
Cons: BUSY BUSY BUSY we went on a rainy monday at 5pm and it was packed. Muddy when raining
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to beginners and seasoned vets alike. It has a real "UP north" feeling to it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, but not great

2-4    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jeydax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed course, with many different types of holes. Long, winding holes. Hilly holes, tree holes, short holes... lots of different kinds make it a fun course. A long course to play for sure, but fun. The course will challenge pretty much all aspects of your game. Trees come into play on many holes, some water shots. The baskets themselves were nice, tees were all great.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs, and some of the holes are too "tight", in my opinion. Crowded course. Too much brush/trees in most holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the course itself is over-hyped. It is an extremely well designed course, no doubt, but wasn't *amazing* like some people have made it out to be around the Twin Cities. We played with a group of 4 and we all felt it was too easy to lose a disc. We spent a good 30 minutes trying to find some discs that were only a few feet off some of the holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    4/29/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes in the trees and out in the open. This lets you use your skill shots as well as just step back and throw it as hard as you can.
Cons: It was crowded when I played it, and it sounds like there are always a good deal of people at this course.
Other Thoughts: I will certainly play this course again, and I guess there is something to be said about a course that always has people at it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Course

5+    5/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: DISC CRAFT BUZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really cool course with some water hole's on hole 1 and 9 there are lots of short holes as well, most of which are in the woods. also a few far hole's I play here almost every day it's a pretty basic fun course.
Cons: There's a lot of beginners at this course the past few years it's been getting worse and worse and now kaposia park and north vally are pay to play so people are swarming acorn it's kinda a wait I suggest going there before 5pm.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very fun to play, plenty of differant types of holes, most of them are wooded but there are 5 or so out in the open, be prepared to bring all your shots and get yourself out of some tight spots, overall alot of differant types of shots make this course really fun to paly
Cons: overall i like this course a lot, however it is showing its age a little bit, the dirt in a few places is beginning to show some roots and stumps, also a few fo the tee pads need some work.
Other Thoughts: this is one of my favorite courses, the front 9 is a little easier than the back, if you throw great shots you can score low but big numbers are out there if you have a few wayword drives, and if the wind is blowing pretty good this course becomes even tougher than it is normally

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.