Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Lafayette (West), IN 
Ross Hills Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #11
5 / 568ft.   5 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Wide Open as far as the eye can see

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.4 Years
Pros: Good long holes to test drives. Wide open space for learning new disc. Couple of good holes over the ravines.
Cons: I would say it had terrible signs if it had any but I can't cause there are none. Some holes don't even have pads to throw from so you just kind of look for a well beaten spot to throw from. Of the 20+ holes prob only 4 have any character at all, its really just wide open.
Other Thoughts: I only went so low cause its so hard to navigate. Be sure to download and print the .pdf scorecard from Wabash Disc Golf Club before going here. Otherwise, you will be throwing all over the place at the wrong holes. This place would be great if it just had a little character, but then again I do enjoy going here directly with a new disc.

 Long

2-4    4/6/2010   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some if it is wide open, which allows beginners to open up and practice the drives. More than 18 holes.
Cons: Some of the holes have, not wooded areas, but very high grass, which is hard to find a disc in. Tee pads are a bit to skinny.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Was re-designed in 2009?

1    8/14/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets that catch well. All in good condition. Flat & mostly open. About 1/3 of the holes have trees for some interesting holes,or atleast not as boring as the other 2/3 of the course,wide open!.....gusts' of wind will be the only factor in this area. Three of the wooded holes play along a tree line and the wind can still be a factor. Out in the middle of no place. Good bathrooms,south of parking lot (They were unlocked when I played). Two shelters with picnic tables and a grill.
Cons: Signage is the worst I've played,Because the course has NOTHING! Park Sign only at the Entrance. No bulletin board,tee signs,tee markers. Under Links/Files I Linked with the local clubs site. Go to that site a PRINT A MAP! Even with the grass short it's still so thick you will spend some time looking for the long,narrow,wavy rubber tees.
Other Thoughts: I came to get a round in and take some pictures. They will be posted soon. The last time I played here was about 7 years ago. Back then it was an 18 hole course. It also had three nice wooded holes. One hole,I can't remember the number,was a long downhill hyzer. Then you had to play two holes along a ridge back up to the open areas. These holes are no longer in the ground. Not sure why,but on a different review it was noted that someone got hurt trekking down the hill. If that's true,that's why the course is 21 holes now. If your coming from Lafayette if you think you've gone to far....keep going until you see people with sticks trying to hit a little white ball?!? Crazy people pay to play!? I only found a few of the Alt. Tee markers

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course with diversity

5+    1/15/2005   5/28/2010
Review By: LevinTBlack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Diversity. The first 9 are long open holes. Wind can come into play and you really got to bomb it. The back 9 is shorter and heavily wooded on most holes.

Two holes on the back 9 are the best holes I have ever played and I have played a couple dozen courses. The first of the holes you start on top of a huge, steep hill in the woods. You have to go about 100 feet down then 300 feet over and finally about 75 back up a steep hill to the basket. It is a truly great hole. The second one is a extremely steep hill with the hole about 250 feet away on top of the hill.
Cons: Out in the middle of no where and if it is a windy day it is impossible to play. Once played on a windy day and on a hole I had to tee off into the wind. The disc flew forward 20 feet and then the wind grabbed it and shot it 60 feet straight backwards. The reason it is so windy is because it is surrounded by farms that do nothing to stop the wind.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wild course, great experience

1    5/18/2007   5/18/2010
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's been a few years since I played this, but it was one of the best disc golf experiences I've ever had. If I lived closer, I would come to this course all the time.

The open holes give the player a lot of freedom. I don't have the arm needed to appreciate this, but for those of you that like to throw far, you'll love some of these holes.

The wood areas are truly the best though. The are pretty clean. Our group of 8 lost only one disc, and I feel we could have found it if we spent just a bit more time searching.

The designers know how to make really cool doglegs. Some of them are narrow, but perfectly shaped for the throws of a good player. Good throws are rewarded very well by this course. And if you don't find doglegs exciting enough, some of them are uphill or downhill also.

One of the holes bridges two different gullies. I've never seen another hole anything like this.

Lastly, the sheer size of this course makes it memorable. Bring drinks if it is warm, because you will need them!
Cons: Even though this course is close to perfect, it has a couple weaknesses. In my opinion, the holes in the open areas could be a bit more imaginative.

Also, I have to admit that losing a disc is a possibility. If you are a bit careful, it can be avoided. All of the main paths are big enough that you won't lose a disc unless you are a bit careless.
Other Thoughts: West Lafayette is a bit short on number of courses, but at least this one has a lot of variety. I plan to visit again, even though it is 2 hours away, because it is just so unique.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 well...it is a course....

1    4/25/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are baskets and most of them are in good shape. Which is more than I can say for some of the courses that I have played.
- There are tee pads. They are rubber, but at least they are there. if you had to throw off of the grass in this place, it would be unplayable.
- It's a course and it has 21 holes.
- the baskets are numbered.
Cons: - Zero signs. Not, "hey, there should be more signs on this course." As in, there isn't one single sign on this course. We found 1 tee on accident, as the tee pad sits in the middle of an overgrown field with zero markings. There are no "this way to next tee" or "you are throwing at this basket" or "start here" or anything in the way of a sign. Nothing. good luck knowing where you are throwing.
- this place isn't mowed. and since most of the holes sit in the middle of a wide open field, most of your game is just finding your disc again after your shot. And when I say it isn't mowed, I mean just that. It's not "a little" long, this is knee deep grass. no skips, no rollers, no accidental help on a bad throw...the disc hits and sticks in the grass and then you get to find it! Yuck.
- the tee pads are about a foot wide and rubber. not a fan of the rubber pads anyway, but these weren't good at all. plus, as I mentioned before, they were almost impossible to find in the super high grass. we missed a couple of them.
- not a ton of variety in the shots. most shots are you trying to find the right basket to throw to (walking to the poles and finding the number) and then finding your disc in the tall grass of the "fairway". They are sort of long (minus hole 2 which is super long AND has VERY high grass. so it plays even longer) and sit in the wide open.
Other Thoughts: Until there are some sort of signs put on this course, this is pretty much unplayable. I don;t like playing a course where I don't know which basket I am supposed to be shooting to, or where the next tee pad is or where to even start playing!
print out a map, take a local or just go play a different course. it really isn't worth playing this course unless you have no other options.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some good and some bad

1    9/23/2009   2/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a sprawling piece of property, with no real interference from the picnic areas around the park. A few holes play with some interesting elevation changes in the wooded area of the park and challenge you to control the disc up and down hills.

On many other holes, dense rough and steep ravines wait to catch errant drives and punish risky shots that go awry. These ravines are the best feature of the course to me, they can quickly turn birdie shots into bogies or worse, but your disc won't be gone forever. They are used well, with shots across and along the ravines to make you think about how to avoid them.

There are multiple tees on many of the holes, all with decent rubber pads. The multiple tees make the course more appropriate for different skill levels, especially when they take off some distance on the long bomber holes out in the open. The holes with obstacles mix up the left and right turning shots to make you use a variety of different lines to score well.
Cons: The course gets quite repetitive, especially out in the open fields. There are just way too many wide open shots in a field here. It's fun to open up and throw longer drives once in a while, but half the course is just grip it and rip it with no elevation and no obstacles.

There were several places on the course where the navigation wasn't obvious. It took some wandering to find the next tee, and then it wasn't always clear where to shoot from there. Tee signs would go a long way here.

The course drains poorly, it was muddy throughout even a week after a storm. This was especially an issue getting up and down the hills and ravines, so be ready to get dirty if you throw into the rough. Some tees were rubber and were lumpy and uneven, the rest were "grass", which really meant muddy spots in the field that were quite slick and mushy.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential, and has a few really fun holes around and over the ravines. Too much of the course plays through swampy fields though, and that really takes away from the fun factor here. It's an ok place to stop, but it's pretty far off the beaten path and not really worth much extra driving to play especially if there's been any recent rain.

Beginners won't like the length or the potential punishment for getting off the fairways with rough along them. More advanced players will find some fun challenges on a few holes here, but not quite enough variety to be really interesting or tough.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very long course with some holes that shine

1    9/17/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: ahaas
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the most part, the course is just plain long. I don't really enjoy the number of holes that are mainly a test of how far can you throw. But there are some really fun holes that make up for it and them some. Hole number two is a mild right to left shot. What make the hole fun is that near the tee, you have a tree that prevents you from throwing too high. Midway, there is a tree stump that is a bigger obstruction than what it looks. There is little room for error if you throw too strong, you will fly into the woods. Hole 5 is by far my favorite hole, if only I could play it well :( The perfect flight path will have your drive flying over two ravines. If your disk makes it over the first ravine, it then needs to make a sharp left to right turn where it will hopefuly find the opening to fly over a second ravine. The first ravine has a fairly wide opening, but a horrible climb down if you miss. The second ravine has a narrow opening, but not too bad at all if you go in. In fact, landing in the second ravine through the narrow open on your first shot leaves you in good shot position. Hole six is another fun hole. The flight path needs to fly straight and then fade right. The problems are two fold. One, for a RHBH player, there is a tree sitting close to the tee pad making an anhyzer shot almost impossible. If you are right handed, most will need to throw side armed or play it safe. The other obstruction is the wooded area lying between the hole and the tee. If the disk starts flying to the right too soon, I hope you enjoy shooting from the woods. As in hole two, you don't want to over throw the disk, the hole lies at the edge of woods. There a few more holes that test a combination of skill and proper speed. These "gem" holes really make the course shine, that is assuming you are not too tired to play them after throwing your arm out on the other long long holes.
Cons: There are too many holes that are just a test of how far you can throw. On the other hand, sometimes it is fun to just let a disk rip and not have to worry about where it will land.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention this course was long? :)
It is by no means a great course, but it is one I enjoy very much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uninspired design with a few exceptions

5+    6/25/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Rockwell
Played: 78  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expanse of land that feels away from it all.
A few holes are noteworthy. (see below)
The ability to throw your absolute hardest on some holes.
Cons: Uninspired course layout.
Little to challenge advanced players (other than distance).
Little for beginners to enjoy (due to flat, wide open distance.)
Other Thoughts: This is a 21 hole course set on a beautiful piece of secluded property. The terrain is surprisingly dramatic in this area, but unfortunately too rugged to actually play disc golf on safetly.

So we are left with a flat course that wishes it could play through the hills it is set atop.

Hole 1 starts out with a flat, straight ahead shot with absolutely nothing in your way. This, sadly, is a characteristic carried throughout the rest of the course.

There is, however, some fun and challenge to be had.

Hole 4 provides a long distance shot with several routes to choose from. A beauty of a hole.

Hole 5, possibly the signature hole, requires two well placed shots to leave you with a putt. Some might say it is a dangerous hole- having to play over the ravines twice. But there is a beginner tee that address this, and advanced players will enjoy the challenge.

Holes 6-8 are a nice stretch as well.

Hole 13 is a tester that will leave more pars than birdies on an advanced card.

Hole 18 is beautiful, and thanks to a wise old tree, requires angles and length rarely achieved.

Conclusion:
At 7520' (8527' pro tees) your arm will get a workout. And on a few holes, so will your mind.

There is disc golf to be enjoyed here, but with such a pretty peice of land, I long for something more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Behind the Ravines Golf Course in rural Tippecanoe Co., IN

5+    5/1/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Niven42
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long, epic holes with natural hazards in the form of ravines hidden behind tree rows, corn fields, and thick woods.
Cons: The ravines: another reviewer suggested that the best hole on the course was closed due to "some frat boy getting hurt". These deep ravines, with slippery, muddy sides are not for the faint of heart. If you fall into one, it will be hours before they will be able to get you out. There are very few amenities such as restrooms or running water, and the grass is not cut like a city park because of the immense area. Highly recommend you download the satellite photo of the area in order to locate the holes, since the common tee markers are rubber mats and the small, concrete blocks that mark the advanced/normal/beginners tees are very difficult to find in tall grass. Picnic groups and a ball field may need to be avoided. Hole #19 is pretty hard to find, since it is "tucked away" down a path.
Other Thoughts: Despite the ruggedness in spots, there is a lot of potential here, and the holes that snake around the vast central meadow are a blast to cut loose on. Hole #5, which crosses 2 deep ravines, is not for beginners. There is a small water spigot just to the south of where #14 starts, which is a welcome rest stop. The ravine behind that tee is amazingly deep, and with the tree cover during summer months, you will be in relative darkness driving into the brightly-lit meadow. The lack of decent tee pads and the risk of losing discs in ravines are a big downside, but the huge open area is great for practicing drives and could easily accomodate another hole or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.