Fort Benning, GA 
Russ Pond Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #7
3 / 189ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course to work on your short game!

5+    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: shadykiller8
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large variety of shots needed throughout course.
Not busy
Cons: Hole markers need repairs.
Baskets need repairs and or new footings
Other Thoughts: This course is a daily play for me. Course is short enough where you can knock out 18 in about an hour. I'm a beginner and this course is perfect to teach control and precision without too much risk of losing a disc except for hole 7. Where there is a water hazard. Overall the grass is kept short and the course is clean! Its no flat rock park... But it will do for some lunch break fun!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Putter course

1    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: Usdrummer72
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Open shots.
Not busy.
Cons: Very short, as most holes are under 200 and the longest is about 240.
Older baskets.
Park environment is run down.
On a military base, so accesss is limited.
Other Thoughts: Would be a good course to practice with a putter or a beginner.

  Good for what it is

2-4    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: czeunges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy, quick layout. An excellent course to take kids and new "recruits" to the sport to. Very quiet area and usually not many people there, making a very relaxing atmosphere. Lots of birdie and ace chances. You can easily play a few loops here in an hour or so.
Cons: Some very, very short holes, so not much to offer for "bombers". Some might say that it being on a military base is a con, but the times I have gone they just scanned my driver's license at the gate and wished me a good day (I'm not military).
Other Thoughts: The course is in good shape and well maintained. It is great for what it offers: an easy, laid back beginner's course. If you are looking for a crazy, bomb it out challenge, this is not it, but it doesn't try to be. It's a decent alternative for a quick session when you get bummed out hitting trees out at Flat Rock :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/4/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course.
Solid use of the features available.
Concrete Teepads
Good variation of shot types.
Cons: The baskets have quite a bit of wear on them.
No huge "obstacles" so to speak
No tight lines you have to hit.
Other Thoughts: Overall,this is a fun little course,a friend and I decided to go out and play it just to see what was there,all of the previous reviews are quite old,and it seems to me that they have made some active efforts in improving this course,with some more care this could be bumped up to a 2.5,which in my book is pretty solid for a 9-holer.

If for some reason you're out here,go for it,you'll probably have the whole park to yourself and all you really need is a putter for the entire course,but we still had a great time and played it a few times.

I wouldn't say go out of your way to play,but it is worth checking out,and pretty much every hole is an ace run,i'm sure we'll be back again to have the whole park to ourselves!

I would usually have a lot more to say,but it's a short little course,so I did the best I could,haha.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Its on an Army Base

5+    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: RandomToss
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its is built over historical features and incorporates the crumbling ruins in to the course. This adds some interesting fun. Plus its on a very historic Army base, the home of the U.S. Infantry.
Cons: Small. And watch out for the disc gator at hole 7.
Other Thoughts: The fact that there is a disc course built in to a park that is not seldom used means you practically get your own private course to practice on.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Better off not having a course...It's really that bad.

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: spinner
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There are no pros. Sorry
Cons: The course itself is just terrible. No rhyme or reason to any of it. I'll get some 5 gallon buckets and set up a course in your back yard better than this one...
Other Thoughts: Just like everything else on any Army base. If some officer isn't enjoying it, no one cares...

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  hardly a course

2-4    2/6/2010   2/7/2010
Review By: espnuke
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a disc golf course on Fort Benning!
Cons: The course is a strewn together bunch of baskets. I could of done a better design going to a marked tree in the woods. Baskets were bent up, No tee boxes just some random pink flags, all tee signs were busted out, and there is missing baskets. Wish there was a course map at the beginning. I was the only person on the course but hole 7 i believe or 8 plays with a road as a fairway which could cause potential problems on populated days.
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a joke of a course. It did a poor job of fullfilling my itch to disc while im up here in GA.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 under construction

1    2/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At first glance, the property appears ideal for a DGC. It's shaped like a big bowl, with a pond of about 2-3 acres in the center with hills rising from its banks in all directions.
The baskets are in good condition. There is a nice mix of open hills, peppered with stands of well established trees, with minimal undergrowth.
Cons: The park is a recreational use area that appears family oriented, with walking trails, and picnic tables everywhere. Lots of potential conflict on a nice day. The rec area is currently under construction, and a couple baskets have been pulled/relocated (it looks like temporarily) while heavy equipment does some grading (maybe even reconfiguring the pking lot).
Several tee signs were busted out of their frames, and none of them had distances for the holes. But all the holes were so short, they weren't hard to find.
Other Thoughts: This course is a perfect example of trying to fit DG as an activity into an area already being used for other purposes. In addition, there just isn't enough room here to place a DGC safely. Given the available land at Ft. Benning (and a little luck) I remain hopeful the corp will find a suitable home for their equipment.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.