Course Extinct
Spring Lake, MI
Rycenga Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 112ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great For Beginners, But Not My Style

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: ninjasousaphone
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Short Course

Great For Beginners

Great for Ace Chances

Baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Very Narrow

Fairways are convoluded with trees and don't offer much of a path to the hole.

Flow isn't great.

Hole signs are missing or in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: Played once, but as far as disc golf, I would rather drive down to Winstrom Preserve.

Looked at the posting board and it sound like the city is negative towards disc golfers and might tear down the course. I would rather see them move the course and use the baskets from this one. A course closer to Grand Haven would be great.

 

1    6/23/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rycenga is a short, technical wooded course. Overall, it is not too long, but accuracy is a must because getting off the fairways will make saving par (3) challenging. Navigation is easy as you just follow the path to the next tee. The woods provide a nice challenge, but there is little undergrowth, so even when you do hit trees and deflect, you should be able to find your disc no problem. There is a small creek that comes into play, but disc retrieval is not a problem here either.
Cons: Natural tees are a con, but also the fact there were no markers- just a single sign post and you just sort of throw from that general area. There are a couple spots where the tees and baskets were rather close to one another where over shooting the basket by a little would get to the next tee.

Hole #3 is the hardest hole on the course, but it is completely out of character from the rest of the course so it just doesn't fit. Also, it is rather unfair in design as the extremely narrow fairway snakes several times for 300' in the woods. It looks more like a hiking trail. (I wish I could remember it, but someone had written on the tee post a description of the hole that was something like "Hole 'O Doom" - and that's exactly what it was for me, and one could easily score a double digit number on this hole.) There were a couple of holes on the front that played along the back of some baseball fields- I don't mind a fence as an obstacle, but these holes are the weakest on the course, and might be unplayable if a ball game was going on.
Other Thoughts: ZMan44 and I stopped here on our way home from Beast/Leviathan/Flip to give ourselves a break. The hole distances being really short got our attention, so we had hoped to have some fun going for aces and scoring low. As it turned out the course was more difficult than we had thought. There are some places for ace runs, but not nearly as many as you might think just looking at hole length.

This course is ok- not horrible- but not super interesting either. It is a good place to work on your accuracy and short game. You could also easily play here with just a mid-range and a putter. It also makes for a quick round.

To find the course you have to walk a ways down the path from the parking lot. The front is to the left, the back is to the right (over a small bridge I believe.)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 meh... it's disc golf

2-4    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 194  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course, can be played in under an hour. Many very ace-able holes. Clean park, well marked trails. I kind of liked the risk-reward factor on some holes.
Cons: Kind of a wonky lay out. After finishing hole 1, must walk most of hole 6's fairway to get to hole 2. Not only is this dangerous, but it can really screw a person's mojo up.

I updated my review after playing a whole year playing and down graded this course. I played through twice today in an hour and a half and there really wasn't ANY challenge factor here. In addition, the tee sign for hole 2 STILL hasn't been replaced after over a year.
Kind of a Jeckyl and Hyde course; the short holes are definitely ace-able, the long holes (woods holes only) are impossibly long and very hard to par. The two long open shots are birdie-able easily.

Other Thoughts: Wanna kill an hour? you can play here. Want to play and improve your long game, drive as far as you can and work on power. it's not for you. for beginners though, it's good to work on mid-range and longer putts here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not good...but not bad

1    6/23/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rycenga Park was a pretty well designed course. It challenged shot shaping at a Mid-range level. Most holes were in the woods with tight fairways. Some used trees in the fairways as obstacles. Ona majority of the holes, it was apparent that there was some sort of design. Navigation was fairly easy. Posts marked the teeboxes and were present and functional on all holes the day we played. The park seemed like a nice place to relax.
Cons: Most of the holes were very similar length-wise. Hole #3 was the exception and was long, narrow, and tough. (not a con...fun hole) There were no tee pads. A few of the holes played along the fences to a softball field. One hole in particular was designed to where the best option was to throw out over the field and back into the pin location.
Other Thoughts: This is a course of ups and downs. There were some terribly designed holes and there were some pretty neat holes. Overall, however, it was not challenging if you are a solid mid-range player. Since that is my one strength, I was not challenged at this course. There may be others who can throw 500 feet who would struggle here. It just depends on your strengths.

I am struggling to find words for this review because the course was just kind of...there. It wasn't great. It wasn't awful. It was a little bit of both. Usually I leave a course with some kind of emotional attachment, whether positive or negative. This course gave me neither.

If I was in the area, I might stop by and play it again if I wanted to get in a quick round. I would never recommend that anyone go out of there way to play this course as there are other fantastic options in the area.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 VERY narrow

2-4    5/8/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging tight fairways
-Some interesting holes
-Almost always in the shade
-Protected from the wind
-Baskets are in good shape
-Fun for practicing narrow approach shots
-Fun for taking ace runs on almost every hole
-Large field right next to course so you can throw your drivers
-Restrooms nearby course
Cons: -A lot of the fairways are too narrow
-Almost every hole is a strait shot, no real opportunity to throw hyzer or anhyzer
-Longest hole is 300 ft, but good luck getting par
-Some holes are way too short
-There is only a few trash cans
-Navigation is an issue at times. I couldn't find one of the tees. I think it was missing, so I shot from where it looked like it would be.
-No actual tee pads
-No practice basket
Other Thoughts: This is not a course I would want to play all the time, but I had fun playing it. You could easily play the whole course with a beat Roc and a putter. Rounds go very fast. I played the entire 18 holes 3 times in about 2 1/2 hours. All in all I would say this is a course for practicing narrow approach and ace runs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Gregory
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This course has good signage. Although I had to look for tee 7. It's located in a nice park. The course runs through the woods so it should be cooler in the heat of the summer. Most of the holes, you have to have accurate tosses as it often times is only as wide as a path. 6 feet or so.
Cons: It's a short course. As it runs through the woods, you must be accurate. Dirt tee's.
Other Thoughts: If you are unable to throw accurately, then I would not advise the course. There is not much fairway. Good to practice some of you bending shots.

  A good practice course

5+    8/15/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: yeti
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is short and heavily wooded - this requires you to concentrate on accuracy and not on distance - a good skill to learn for Michigan courses.
Nine holes can be played in about 30 minutes.
Its not crowded.
Number 4 and number 9 are easily aceable, though I've only glanced off the chains.
Reasonably well marked and easy to navigate.
Cons: Currently closed due to wind damage - I wish the park was as quick to put the baskets up in the spring as it was to take them down in the fall or after the storm.
Its shortness will frustrate anyone who likes to throw long, sweeping drives. Cement teepads would be useful - teeing off of the first hole is like throwing out of a foxhole..
Holes 7 - 9 can go underwater in the spring.
Sometimes buggy.
Avoiding trees also involves luck as well as skill.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to where I live in Grand Haven and as short as it is, I can leave home, play nine holes and get back home in an hour.
Its playable though not ideal.
Only about 3 holes need a distance driver - the others can be played with a ROC and an Aviar

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/4/2008   4/4/2009
Review By: joelinator
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course to practice putting and approaching on. Also, a good course for beginners. It does include a few challenging holes.
Cons: A few holes just seem impossible. Not any extremely long holes. The two long holes that are in the open are basically the same, with the exception of a fence on one.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't take very long to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For Putts Sake!!!

1    6/23/2006   10/23/2008
Review By: RonRoc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Its a disc golf course
Cons: Its a disc golf course designed for mini's
Other Thoughts: Seriously, bring a Roc and thats it.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/28/2010   10/21/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2010
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tee signs with accurate distances. 18 Holes.
Few navigation issues.

Newer baskets. Some nice trees. A decent local park.

Free admission. Despite length, dense trees create some challenge.
Cons: Too many very short (under 150 feet) and/or wooded holes. Tees are now McGraft-style dirt craters.

Holes bordering baseball fields are the longest, but suffer from poor design (mandatory outfield fence).

Flat, mostly wooded course with lots of bugs.

Other Thoughts: Needs some help. Grand Haven/Spring Lake needs and deserves much better than this (hello? what about Hoffmaster State Park!).

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.