Course Extinct
Spring Lake, MI 
Rycenga Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #2 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 128ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 good for beginners

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Great for beginners, as it is very short. Has a few interesting holes, layout is simple to find.
Cons: Not much challenge for good players, maybe two holes total you can air it out. I used a mid range or putter on almost every hole. There are no tee boxes, just posts and many of them are dangerously close to the last basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to bring rookies, but unless you have the shakes and just have to play, if you are better than novice its not worth playing.

 ACE RUNS!

2-4    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs (besides hole 2) They are all posts with a pretty decent picture of where the basket should be
-Nice Baskets double layer chains
-Easy to find your way around
-Mix of shots, from wooded, to open, turn overs, baskets hiding behind hanging trees, small water obs( a creek), A basket on a hill (15). from 100 to 300 ft.
-Easy place to learn lines
Cons: - A lot of short holes
-Some super tight fairways(Hole 3 8 10 14)
- No tee pads
-Can be very muddy at times
-Which leads to logs of bugs.
Other Thoughts: Starting off this place is kind of hard to find, I actually had to get on the site on my phone and read a review. When you come in and you see the shed you want to come into that parking lot and take a right and go to the very back of it, where there is another parking lot. It have a Basketball court on your right and volleyball on your left go towards the volleyball.

This place is an Ace Run City. I would not say that this is a destination spot, but if you are near it and you want ace runs... This is the place for you.(I actually got my first Ace here)

There is no drinking at this park(I saw a few beer bottles, bottle caps and even a crushed can in the parking lot), and there are also signs that say there are cameras there(I didn't see any.)

Now lets get to the Holes:

Hole 1 : A nice turn over shot. Easy and nice starting hole.

Long walk here but the signs by the basket you see will help you get there.

Hole 2 : about 100 foot pitch behind a tree. Missing a Post, but there was what seemed to be where it was so I shot from there.

Hole 3: Some people call this the Hole of Doom and I see why. It's about a 6 foot fairway, which if you get a nice shot up the gut you are good. If you get anywhere off the path... thats why it's the Hole of Doom. My first time I got a 3 and my second time I got a 6.

Hole 4: It's a 100 pitch behind a hanging tree. there is a window to go straight at it or a turn over shot.

Hole 5: Long turn over shot with a Fence line. If you get over the fence you'll be in the baseball field.

Hole 6: The only real Bomber hole here. just shot of 300 but there are posts along the walking bath. It's also in the outfield of a baseball field.

Hole 7: A shot tunnel shot to the left, can have a bad tee if it's been raining(Very muddy)

Hole 8: This one had the worst tee when I was there, was mainly all mud, and the main part for the line was hard to reach. Its a short one, but also very hard when the tee is muddy/

Hole 9: Short turn over here.

Walk back to the starting path and back to hole ten.

Hole 10: I think this can be one of the hardest holes here. It's about 150 and you have about a 3 foot window to hit after about 100 ft. The creek is on the side of this one also.

Hole 11: Seemed to be one of the longer wooded holes. A slight turn over.

Hole 12: This one was a very tight window to hit.

Hole 13: A tight S curve

Hole 14: the Signature hole. Its slight down hill to the basket on a Hill, but the sides can be very hard to recover on a bad shot. There is a creek if you over drive it, on the back.

Hole 15: Small Creek along the side. Not much just a point and shoot hole.

Hole 16: The tee is on the green of hole 15. I almost walked by it. A nice hard turn over shot.

A small walk here with signs

Hole 17: The longest hole in the woods, It's got the basket placed about 260 behind a few trees in a small tunnel. There is a small mound on the side and a creek past that.

Hole 18: another short and sweet one to finish the round off.

This place is very short and can take about 45 minutes to play if moving quit. This place with hold a special part in my heart as I got my first ace here, but besides that it's a very basic course.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Play

2-4    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: aalocmelis
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked course, once you get on the course. Course flows very well, is fun for beginners, children and pros (tight fairways, trees). Can be played quickly.
Cons: No real direction from the parking area to where the course is, I think theres a sign missing. Baskets 10-18 are out and marked by sticks. Short holes.
Other Thoughts: I sent an email to Spring Lake township asking about the baskets for 10-18, will post back when i get a reply. I always play 10-18 but it would be made a lot easier if someone just came through with a can of fluorescent spray paint and painted the sticks marking the holes (just the sticks).

ALL BASKETS UP!!!!! 4/14

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Decent local course

5+    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: TheMarz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners but still offers challenge for more experience players. It is a good finesse, can not just bomb it every hole. Able to play 18 holes in under an hour. It is also easy to follow with signs posted.
Cons: Trees, some holes are really short, have to share a hole with a baseball field. Bring bug spray in spring and fall. Some holes can get muddy after rain cause of the natural teepads
Other Thoughts: For one of the two courses in the Muskegon/Grand Haven area it is a decent course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good accuracy practice. Many ace opportunities. Quiet surroundings, easily navigable. Trees make for some tricky holes, a pro in my book. Shot a -1 my first time there, and -6 with a partner our second round.
Cons: Can get messy after a rain. Creeks are extremely dirty. Some holes are almost too short, while a few are almost impossible to deuce. Bugs were pretty bad in the deep woods.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are fine, tee pads are present, but can get muddy after a rain. Many leaves on the ground, but were not too loose to where you get buried often (May 2009).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a short walk in the woods

2-4    5/6/2007   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: overall a rather short course, can be played in under an hour. Attractive wooded scenery, some elevation on the back 9, good mixture of lefty and righty holes
Cons: heavily wooded, accuracy and luck will be rewarded, can be played with just your putter.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.