Course Extinct
Spring Lake, MI 
Rycenga Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #1 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 196ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Marker



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great For Beginners, But Not My Style

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: ninjasousaphone
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Short Course

Great For Beginners

Great for Ace Chances

Baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Very Narrow

Fairways are convoluded with trees and don't offer much of a path to the hole.

Flow isn't great.

Hole signs are missing or in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: Played once, but as far as disc golf, I would rather drive down to Winstrom Preserve.

Looked at the posting board and it sound like the city is negative towards disc golfers and might tear down the course. I would rather see them move the course and use the baskets from this one. A course closer to Grand Haven would be great.

I chose this for an ace run . .. and was pleasantly surprised

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Posts have Hole #, Distance, and a very simple vinyl map on the sign. It is rudimentary but it helps for the first timer for sure.

2) Some directionals help to move you around the course in a few of the tricky spots.

3) Good use of some minor dropoffs around baskets making for some tougher putts. Some might require a good shot and some might require some luck, but it changes the norm and that is good!

4) Excellent wooded course. I love this type of course even if it is short and straight forward. Executing lines is what makes this sport fun for me, and a wide open course does absolutely nothing for me.

5) Rain shelter and garbage cans available at the first tee.

6) Even though the course is wore down in spots . . . it is still a very healthy soil because of the sand that comes along with it. I typically would dock a course for this but in the sandy soil, compaction is so much less of an issue even if the turf is thin or non-existant.

7) Excellent variety on this course in terms of shot selection. You will have to execute all types of shots to score well here. The only thing this course lacks is real distance. I know the two along the ball fields are much longer, but it just does not cater to anyone other than the Recreational or Intermediate level player.

8) There were some garbage cans throughout the park to help with the collection of litter around each teebox.

9) Subtle rolling terrain . . . it doesn't go up or down much, but there are fall-a-way areas and mounds int he woods.

10
Cons: 1) #2 teesign and post is missing, look for the small stump, although it is pretty easy to figure out where to throw from on such a short hole.

2) Baseball fields are encumbering on the course (or vice versa depending on your perspective). Those holes would become unplayable with an active game because the lines that do not go over the fields are just not the desired intent of the holes (I assume at least). Perhaps I am wrong, but it just feels very contrived on these two holes.

3) A handful of baskets are leaning in the ground . . . I am sure this is because of the sandy soil but it is something I would like to see addressed. I am guessing they didn't use enough conrete to keep the basket from shifting due to the thaws coming out of winter.

4) Dangerous in a couple spots where tees are close to the previous baskets. Safety needs to be of the utmost concern if this sport is to move forward!

5) Dirt tees are never my favorite. Fortunately, the ground is soft and sandy, so we are hopefully not creating a deeper copmpaction of the soil. Some of these dirst tees have also exposed the soil to even more erosion.


Other Thoughts: Literally I had no idea what to expect. It was short and tightly wooded and I figured I would make some ace runs, as would my wife, Instead, we were treated to a wonderfully shaded course on a really hot July afternoon. I would return just about anytime I am in the area.It presented a lot of challenging tight shots. I still shot (-7) which is pretty good for a new course, but for the distance of the course it shows how challening and tight those holes are.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

GONE!!!

5+    9/1/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2012
Other Thoughts: I showed up today to play and was saddened to find that the course has been removed in its entirety. There was a sign reading " If disc golfers do not start picking up trash and drinking alcohol on the course Spring Lake Parks and Rec will remove all baskets and tee pads." That looks like exactly what they did...... To bad, it was a nice short course for beginners in the area.

 good for beginners

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: Great for beginners, as it is very short. Has a few interesting holes, layout is simple to find.
Cons: Not much challenge for good players, maybe two holes total you can air it out. I used a mid range or putter on almost every hole. There are no tee boxes, just posts and many of them are dangerously close to the last basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to bring rookies, but unless you have the shakes and just have to play, if you are better than novice its not worth playing.

 

1    11/5/2011   5/5/2012
Review By: Alpinemaps
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: SoCal visiting for a week. Loved this course!

For me, it was challenging. I'm used to wide open courses, where trees are scarce. This course had these narrow lanes. Yikes! It was a technical challenge for me. And one that I enjoyed.

It was also 35 degrees out when I played (7am the first week of November), so a bit chilly for me.
Cons: At the end of autumn, beginning of winter, the course was damp and muddy in the early morning. But otherwise, I thought the course played great.

I had a little trouble locating holes 8 and 9, but wandered around enough until I found them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but Swampy

1    4/5/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: alex.topspin.uganski
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very short holes are fun to throw. I thought this was a fairly easy course compared to what I'm used to. Rycenga is barely as wooded as Northend Riverside, yet the average hole distance is only about 40%, so it was a lot easier in my opinion. Really clean course in a nice area. Hole #14 is quite an awesome hole; it's not difficult, but it looks really cool from the tee, and you definitely don't want to miss to the left.
Cons: Some areas and tees are WAY too muddy/swampy. Easy to lose a disc if not careful. Easy to get shoes, socks, and discs really dirty/muddy if not careful.
Other Thoughts: The water is so-so on this course. What I mean is...The creeks/ditches provide a fun challenge to the game. However, some of the inner holes are extremely muddy and/or swampy, which makes it a chore going through the middle of the lineup.
Overall, this course was very fun to play though

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ACE RUNS!

2-4    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs (besides hole 2) They are all posts with a pretty decent picture of where the basket should be
-Nice Baskets double layer chains
-Easy to find your way around
-Mix of shots, from wooded, to open, turn overs, baskets hiding behind hanging trees, small water obs( a creek), A basket on a hill (15). from 100 to 300 ft.
-Easy place to learn lines
Cons: - A lot of short holes
-Some super tight fairways(Hole 3 8 10 14)
- No tee pads
-Can be very muddy at times
-Which leads to logs of bugs.
Other Thoughts: Starting off this place is kind of hard to find, I actually had to get on the site on my phone and read a review. When you come in and you see the shed you want to come into that parking lot and take a right and go to the very back of it, where there is another parking lot. It have a Basketball court on your right and volleyball on your left go towards the volleyball.

This place is an Ace Run City. I would not say that this is a destination spot, but if you are near it and you want ace runs... This is the place for you.(I actually got my first Ace here)

There is no drinking at this park(I saw a few beer bottles, bottle caps and even a crushed can in the parking lot), and there are also signs that say there are cameras there(I didn't see any.)

Now lets get to the Holes:

Hole 1 : A nice turn over shot. Easy and nice starting hole.

Long walk here but the signs by the basket you see will help you get there.

Hole 2 : about 100 foot pitch behind a tree. Missing a Post, but there was what seemed to be where it was so I shot from there.

Hole 3: Some people call this the Hole of Doom and I see why. It's about a 6 foot fairway, which if you get a nice shot up the gut you are good. If you get anywhere off the path... thats why it's the Hole of Doom. My first time I got a 3 and my second time I got a 6.

Hole 4: It's a 100 pitch behind a hanging tree. there is a window to go straight at it or a turn over shot.

Hole 5: Long turn over shot with a Fence line. If you get over the fence you'll be in the baseball field.

Hole 6: The only real Bomber hole here. just shot of 300 but there are posts along the walking bath. It's also in the outfield of a baseball field.

Hole 7: A shot tunnel shot to the left, can have a bad tee if it's been raining(Very muddy)

Hole 8: This one had the worst tee when I was there, was mainly all mud, and the main part for the line was hard to reach. Its a short one, but also very hard when the tee is muddy/

Hole 9: Short turn over here.

Walk back to the starting path and back to hole ten.

Hole 10: I think this can be one of the hardest holes here. It's about 150 and you have about a 3 foot window to hit after about 100 ft. The creek is on the side of this one also.

Hole 11: Seemed to be one of the longer wooded holes. A slight turn over.

Hole 12: This one was a very tight window to hit.

Hole 13: A tight S curve

Hole 14: the Signature hole. Its slight down hill to the basket on a Hill, but the sides can be very hard to recover on a bad shot. There is a creek if you over drive it, on the back.

Hole 15: Small Creek along the side. Not much just a point and shoot hole.

Hole 16: The tee is on the green of hole 15. I almost walked by it. A nice hard turn over shot.

A small walk here with signs

Hole 17: The longest hole in the woods, It's got the basket placed about 260 behind a few trees in a small tunnel. There is a small mound on the side and a creek past that.

Hole 18: another short and sweet one to finish the round off.

This place is very short and can take about 45 minutes to play if moving quit. This place with hold a special part in my heart as I got my first ace here, but besides that it's a very basic course.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/23/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rycenga is a short, technical wooded course. Overall, it is not too long, but accuracy is a must because getting off the fairways will make saving par (3) challenging. Navigation is easy as you just follow the path to the next tee. The woods provide a nice challenge, but there is little undergrowth, so even when you do hit trees and deflect, you should be able to find your disc no problem. There is a small creek that comes into play, but disc retrieval is not a problem here either.
Cons: Natural tees are a con, but also the fact there were no markers- just a single sign post and you just sort of throw from that general area. There are a couple spots where the tees and baskets were rather close to one another where over shooting the basket by a little would get to the next tee.

Hole #3 is the hardest hole on the course, but it is completely out of character from the rest of the course so it just doesn't fit. Also, it is rather unfair in design as the extremely narrow fairway snakes several times for 300' in the woods. It looks more like a hiking trail. (I wish I could remember it, but someone had written on the tee post a description of the hole that was something like "Hole 'O Doom" - and that's exactly what it was for me, and one could easily score a double digit number on this hole.) There were a couple of holes on the front that played along the back of some baseball fields- I don't mind a fence as an obstacle, but these holes are the weakest on the course, and might be unplayable if a ball game was going on.
Other Thoughts: ZMan44 and I stopped here on our way home from Beast/Leviathan/Flip to give ourselves a break. The hole distances being really short got our attention, so we had hoped to have some fun going for aces and scoring low. As it turned out the course was more difficult than we had thought. There are some places for ace runs, but not nearly as many as you might think just looking at hole length.

This course is ok- not horrible- but not super interesting either. It is a good place to work on your accuracy and short game. You could also easily play here with just a mid-range and a putter. It also makes for a quick round.

To find the course you have to walk a ways down the path from the parking lot. The front is to the left, the back is to the right (over a small bridge I believe.)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rycenga

5+    5/22/2012   9/17/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice course that can be played in under one hour. challenging technical holes mixed with short birdie making holes. easy to navigate. The woods is cleared out enough so discs are not lost easily. nice course to play on bright sunny days since most holes are in the shade. tee markers have accurate distance and shot line on them. some nice ace run holes. trash cans available on most holes.
Cons: dirt tee pads so some pads have roots in them so watch your step. To get to number two tee you need to walk up hole 6 fairway. they should make a path from the path to seven that would lead to #2 tee. Tee for #16 is way to close to basket for 15.
Other Thoughts: It really is a nice course in a heavily wooded area. Hole #3 is very hard to par with the long length and the curvy long narrow fairway. almost impossible to navigate without hitting one or more trees along the way. #4 is a very short ace run with large tree guarding hole on the right side with branch hanging just in front and slightly above the basket. #5 you have to deal with the outfield fence of the softball field. If drive lands in outfield your next shot can get tricky since the basket is just on the other side of the fence and woods right behind hole. #6 also goes along the outfield of a second ball field but this outfield only has stakes along the outside. both holes you can make in three though. #7 starts a run of 3 possible birdie opportunities. there is a short cut off tree in line with the hole that can stop a disc from making a nice run at the hole. #8 and #9 are tucked in around corners but both are highly birdie opportunities. If you have any bogeys on the front few holes you can make up your shots here. #10 makes use of small trees in the middle of the fairway. If you can keep your disc straight you can park it under the basket. if you hit a tree you end up in the woods or in the runoff ditch on the left. hole is still parable from either side of the fairway. #14 can get really tricky hole is on a ridge with a big sloping drop off on the left of the hole. best bet is to try to keep the shot low so if it does go left you wont be too far down the ridge. #15 straight shot but if you hit a tree could end up in deep runoff ditch to the left of the hole. #17 you can drive fairly well just don't get the disc too high in the air or the branches will swat it down.

When you get to the park you should park in the farthest lot. there will be basketball courts on your right and beach volleyball on the left. head towards the beach volleyball courts. 1st hole is up around the bend on the path to your left.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rycenga

5+    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 50  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This coures can be played through quickly. It has many short holes that can be aced but then also has some long holes that are nealy impossible. Some very challenging holes but the course is very forgiving with some very easy short holes.

The course is well laid out with many driving lanes in the middle of the woods. The ground is rather clear so you do not spend much time looking for discs.
Cons: The course does not have any tee pads so you find yourself tripping over roots when you are driving. Some of the holes like #3 are impossible to birdie and very difficult to par. The holes out of the woods are boring and just lead you back into the woods.
Other Thoughts: It does not take a long time to play so it is a good course to play if you do not have alot of time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.