Course Extinct
Spring Lake, MI 
Rycenga Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #7 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 125ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 meh... it's disc golf

2-4    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course, can be played in under an hour. Many very ace-able holes. Clean park, well marked trails. I kind of liked the risk-reward factor on some holes.
Cons: Kind of a wonky lay out. After finishing hole 1, must walk most of hole 6's fairway to get to hole 2. Not only is this dangerous, but it can really screw a person's mojo up.

I updated my review after playing a whole year playing and down graded this course. I played through twice today in an hour and a half and there really wasn't ANY challenge factor here. In addition, the tee sign for hole 2 STILL hasn't been replaced after over a year.
Kind of a Jeckyl and Hyde course; the short holes are definitely ace-able, the long holes (woods holes only) are impossibly long and very hard to par. The two long open shots are birdie-able easily.

Other Thoughts: Wanna kill an hour? you can play here. Want to play and improve your long game, drive as far as you can and work on power. it's not for you. for beginners though, it's good to work on mid-range and longer putts here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not good...but not bad

1    6/23/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rycenga Park was a pretty well designed course. It challenged shot shaping at a Mid-range level. Most holes were in the woods with tight fairways. Some used trees in the fairways as obstacles. Ona majority of the holes, it was apparent that there was some sort of design. Navigation was fairly easy. Posts marked the teeboxes and were present and functional on all holes the day we played. The park seemed like a nice place to relax.
Cons: Most of the holes were very similar length-wise. Hole #3 was the exception and was long, narrow, and tough. (not a con...fun hole) There were no tee pads. A few of the holes played along the fences to a softball field. One hole in particular was designed to where the best option was to throw out over the field and back into the pin location.
Other Thoughts: This is a course of ups and downs. There were some terribly designed holes and there were some pretty neat holes. Overall, however, it was not challenging if you are a solid mid-range player. Since that is my one strength, I was not challenged at this course. There may be others who can throw 500 feet who would struggle here. It just depends on your strengths.

I am struggling to find words for this review because the course was just kind of...there. It wasn't great. It wasn't awful. It was a little bit of both. Usually I leave a course with some kind of emotional attachment, whether positive or negative. This course gave me neither.

If I was in the area, I might stop by and play it again if I wanted to get in a quick round. I would never recommend that anyone go out of there way to play this course as there are other fantastic options in the area.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 VERY narrow

2-4    5/8/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging tight fairways
-Some interesting holes
-Almost always in the shade
-Protected from the wind
-Baskets are in good shape
-Fun for practicing narrow approach shots
-Fun for taking ace runs on almost every hole
-Large field right next to course so you can throw your drivers
-Restrooms nearby course
Cons: -A lot of the fairways are too narrow
-Almost every hole is a strait shot, no real opportunity to throw hyzer or anhyzer
-Longest hole is 300 ft, but good luck getting par
-Some holes are way too short
-There is only a few trash cans
-Navigation is an issue at times. I couldn't find one of the tees. I think it was missing, so I shot from where it looked like it would be.
-No actual tee pads
-No practice basket
Other Thoughts: This is not a course I would want to play all the time, but I had fun playing it. You could easily play the whole course with a beat Roc and a putter. Rounds go very fast. I played the entire 18 holes 3 times in about 2 1/2 hours. All in all I would say this is a course for practicing narrow approach and ace runs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rycenga

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2010
Review By: Creepy Anhyzer
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is really fun to play. Your chances of getting a ace are really good. Most of the holes are under 200ft, it easy to shoot under par here. Rycenga is also a great place to work on your mid game and putting.
Cons: The lock the park gates at dusk.
Other Thoughts: This would be a fun place for a Ace Race. Play here if your having trouble with your mid game and putting.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Gregory
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This course has good signage. Although I had to look for tee 7. It's located in a nice park. The course runs through the woods so it should be cooler in the heat of the summer. Most of the holes, you have to have accurate tosses as it often times is only as wide as a path. 6 feet or so.
Cons: It's a short course. As it runs through the woods, you must be accurate. Dirt tee's.
Other Thoughts: If you are unable to throw accurately, then I would not advise the course. There is not much fairway. Good to practice some of you bending shots.

  Fun Play

2-4    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: aalocmelis
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked course, once you get on the course. Course flows very well, is fun for beginners, children and pros (tight fairways, trees). Can be played quickly.
Cons: No real direction from the parking area to where the course is, I think theres a sign missing. Baskets 10-18 are out and marked by sticks. Short holes.
Other Thoughts: I sent an email to Spring Lake township asking about the baskets for 10-18, will post back when i get a reply. I always play 10-18 but it would be made a lot easier if someone just came through with a can of fluorescent spray paint and painted the sticks marking the holes (just the sticks).

ALL BASKETS UP!!!!! 4/14

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  COURSE CLOSED!

5+    8/17/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: AndrewRoersma
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was challenging with tight fairways. It could be played quickly. Most holes you can get a birdie, except 3 is probably the toughest hole.
Cons: The course closed since the storm about a month ago. All the baskets are gone.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A good practice course

5+    8/15/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: yeti
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is short and heavily wooded - this requires you to concentrate on accuracy and not on distance - a good skill to learn for Michigan courses.
Nine holes can be played in about 30 minutes.
Its not crowded.
Number 4 and number 9 are easily aceable, though I've only glanced off the chains.
Reasonably well marked and easy to navigate.
Cons: Currently closed due to wind damage - I wish the park was as quick to put the baskets up in the spring as it was to take them down in the fall or after the storm.
Its shortness will frustrate anyone who likes to throw long, sweeping drives. Cement teepads would be useful - teeing off of the first hole is like throwing out of a foxhole..
Holes 7 - 9 can go underwater in the spring.
Sometimes buggy.
Avoiding trees also involves luck as well as skill.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to where I live in Grand Haven and as short as it is, I can leave home, play nine holes and get back home in an hour.
Its playable though not ideal.
Only about 3 holes need a distance driver - the others can be played with a ROC and an Aviar

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Decent local course

5+    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: TheMarz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners but still offers challenge for more experience players. It is a good finesse, can not just bomb it every hole. Able to play 18 holes in under an hour. It is also easy to follow with signs posted.
Cons: Trees, some holes are really short, have to share a hole with a baseball field. Bring bug spray in spring and fall. Some holes can get muddy after rain cause of the natural teepads
Other Thoughts: For one of the two courses in the Muskegon/Grand Haven area it is a decent course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good accuracy practice. Many ace opportunities. Quiet surroundings, easily navigable. Trees make for some tricky holes, a pro in my book. Shot a -1 my first time there, and -6 with a partner our second round.
Cons: Can get messy after a rain. Creeks are extremely dirty. Some holes are almost too short, while a few are almost impossible to deuce. Bugs were pretty bad in the deep woods.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are fine, tee pads are present, but can get muddy after a rain. Many leaves on the ground, but were not too loose to where you get buried often (May 2009).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.