Sabattus, ME 
Sabattus Disc Golf - Hawk Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #10 (Taken 8/2010)
5 / 514ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great variety

1    8/26/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through mostly flat Maine woods. The lines are fair but there is enough rough to punish errant shots, but enough gaps to offer chances for creative recovery shots. The fairways are immaculately groomed, the wooded holes are fine gravel and the open shots have nicely mowed grass. There is a nice mix of mostly technical shots and a few well placed open holes to keep things interesting.

This course has the best length variety of the courses here at Sabattus, with plenty of ace chances and some big bombers mixed in with mostly moderate lengths. There is a good balance of left and right turning holes with some creative line shaping needed.

The concrete tees are in great shape, as are the baskets. The signage is clear and easy to read with hole layouts and distance. The course flows well with no navigation issues. The complex is a model for pay to play facilities, with two other nice courses on site along with a well stocked shop and a great warmup and practice area.
Cons: There are several sharp dogleg holes that get a little repetitive at times. Some of the open holes could have used the edge of the rough and woods a little better rather than just a straightforward open hole. Some of the signage seemed a bit off on the hole shape and distance.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course tough, but more approachable than the Eagle course. It isn't quite as long or tight, but it is still fairly challenging. More experienced players won't find quite as many tests here, but more variety than the tougher Eagle. This whole facility is a destination for sure, with three different levels of courses and a nice shop. The staff seemed knowledgeable and very helpful, and it's obvious that a good portion of the proceeds go to maintaining and improving the courses. The owner is planning on adding a 4th course in the next year or so.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best I've played

5+    7/14/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ryan LaRoche
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: After reading the other reviews I am basically only doing this because I am reviewing all course I have played.
-Immaculate facilty
-Great signage
-Variety of shots
-AMAZING shop
-Feels like a ball golf course-even better actually. The maintenance on this course is above any that I have EVER seen.
-Challenging for the newb and even hard to master for the "experts"
-Family, Fun-not just on the signs, it is what you see out there.
Cons: -Can be wet-like any course in Maine
-Staff is not always super knowledgeable, but tries very hard to answer your questions.
-Signs may be a little off for the 1st time player.
-Yeah that is about it...
Other Thoughts: These people have done an amazing job on this course. It can be crowded as it is the premier course in the Central Maine area. But overall it is the best disc experience that I have ever had and it continues to be every time I play it (well over 100 rounds already). Any player of any level would enjoy a day on this course.

 If Disney Did Disc Golf

1    6/18/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course in immaculate condition. On same site with another 18=hole course, 9=starter course, and well-stocked clubhouse.
Cons:
Either the signs exaggerate the distances a bit, or the Maine air added 75' to my throws! Some of the turns at the holes are sharper than indicated by the signs.
Other Thoughts:
The course has an excellent clubhouse, with plenty of discs, beverages, and snacks for sale and lots of outdoor seating. The tee areas have all the amenities - long-n-wide-n-flat concrete teepads, good signage, benches, trashcans, place for cigarette butts. The fairways were either low cut grass on the open holes, or fine gravel on the wooded holes. The excellent baskets were surrounded by a thick spread of mulch, and the course was a cinch to navigate - didn't even realize there was a map on the back of the scorecard. Didn't see a bit of trash anywhere.

With five holes ~200' or less, and an equal number greater than 500' in length, there is good variety in distances, from up-n-over-a-small-rise-to-a-basket-near-a-shallow-creek 169' #6, to long-n-wide-open 646' #14. The course is fairly flat, except for the holes (2,3,6,7,8) that play down towards or up from the creek, and even the elevation changes on these holes is moderate. While mostly straight shoots are needed from the tee, there will be occasion for a sharp right or left turn. Trees come into play from time-to-time, and, excluding around-the-woods right-turning number-12, the "wooded" section of the course are holes 7-13, although none of the required lines would be considered tight.

Favourite hole: 555' #2. After quickly exiting a pocket of trees, must avoid the parallel treeline to the left while not hitting a tree in the scattered perpendicular line of trees coming in from the right. The approach from the open space must clear to right-side treeline yet not be too long into the next pocket of woods, needing to dip down and to the right to reach the basket

As a single player, I had to play through a lot of different groups, and as I interacted a bit with each group, they all shared one thing in common - they all seemed to be enjoying themselves tremendously. There is a very positive/fun "vibe" at this course, with minimal/no chance to get lost or lose a disc, well-groomed tees/fairways/baskets, and fun holes offering some challenges, appealing to a wide spectrum of players.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 #1 in Maine - Go Here First

5+    6/16/2010   2/25/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A Fantastic layout on the Hawk the go to course at Sabbatus. Wonderfully placed baskets on every fairway offering a lot of challange for the enthusist and a lot of fun for players of all ages. Cement tee pads lined up properly at every hole amazing printed hanging signs at every tee, as well as trash cans and relatively new picnic tables at almost every tee as well, you won't have to search for a seat on this course while your waiting to throw.

Front 9-
Ace the first hole its only 177 feet dead a head of you. :)

You can bomb it on a lot of the fairways including holes 2 and 4 on the front 9, and there's also a lot of interesting hyzer and turnover shots as well; including holes 6 and 7; one shooting down the hill and to the right of a brook near the banking where the basket is placed through small trees, and the other shooting up the hill into a hard right horse shoe to the other side of the brook, amazing layout.

The Back 9- Starts off a bit different then the front moves to deeper wooded shots for the first half of the 9, then to a more open set or fairways about 5 holes in. Hole 9 is very long par 5 into the trees and there is a steep embankment to the right of the fairway, a hard shot to land if you miss, lots of trees in the way. Hole 13 is an ace race hole as well a short shot par 3 with a few trees half way through in the middle of the fairway and two very good shots to either side for any type of thrower.

You can find anything your looking for at this course.
Cons: I don't have any cons about this course really overall the upkeep is amazing the fairways are lined with wood chips in the middle and gravel and rock on the sides of most holes, and near the baskets as well.

Some Concerns on Shot Choice-
Hole 7 is a great sidearm and hyzer RHBH hole, just don't put to much on it or you'll go to far into a really thick patch of ferns just beyond the horse shoe. Also I'll note to be careful finishing the hole as well as some of the deepest pockets of the brook run parallel to the path that leads to the basket.
Other Thoughts: About This Course As A Whole-

Where to begin. This outstanding course that is not a far drive at all from Enman Field in Brunswick or Dragan field or Campbell Highlands in Auburn if your in the area Definitely make this your first stop.

Overall this place has it together a truly amazing pro shop the biggest I have seen in Maine and NH and they have hundreds of discs to choose from in many different weights and sizes they offer food and beverages in the pro shop and offer a microwave as well to heat things up. This place is the next best thing than buying discs online. A pretty good lost disc record as well with players names, make, and model of discs lost.

Least I forget to mention the giant disc golf basket fountain made of brick, which is located right when you pull in near the road, truly amazing and gives a great first impression to anyone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A New Favorite

1    8/3/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Hawk at Sabattus Disc Golf is an exceptional course that features great variety and is an outright joy to play. The course has a great layout featuring a solid mix of L, R, and straight fairways. Most holes incorporate trees, obstacles, and elevation in a well-thought, elegant manner. The Hawk has numerous densely-wooded, but fair fairways. The course has good variation in distances from the first hole ace run to long-bomb fairways. Two noteworthy holes include:

Hole 2 - This hole is a fantastic example of a unique design the plays mind games with the players. The fairway is actually quite wide with the basket tucked slightly downhill and in the back, right corner with woods bordering the fairway on the right and in the back. The head games come into play when viewing the wall of birch trees half way down the 555' fairway that take up the left 2/3 of the space. The trees are only 6" around and spaced 3-6' apart, which should provide plenty of space through which a disc could pass. Despite this, the natural inclination is to throw to the right of these trees and any drive that isn't on the mark will end up in the woods to the right.

Hole 14 - Requiring both control and power, this hole features a tight, straight tunnel shot that opens into a wide-open fairway. If you can get your drive out on the first throw, you've got a solid shot at par. If you miss the gap, you're looking at a multiple bogey situation.

The tee signs at the Hawk were exceptionally detailed and displayed fairways, major obstacles, distance, par, and basket location. In addition to tee signs, the course had plenty of signage directing players to the baskets and toward the next tees.

The course itself was meticulously maintained. The concrete tees were in fantastic shape, as were the baskets. Garbage cans, picnic tables, and butt buckets available on nearly all the tees. The fairways and paths were all clear and wooded lanes consisted of gravel, mulch, or wood chips. Surrounding many of the baskets were wood chip greens. There was very little underbrush and shule, reducing the possibility of a lost disc and making the course more aesthetically pleasing.

On many other courses, close proximity of baskets to the next tee is a big safety risk and falls solidly into the "Cons" list. At the Hawk, however, the people at Sabattus Disc Golf covered all their bases. A saftey net was installed between the basket of hole 6 and the tee of hole 7, protecting the players without sacrificing the layout of those two holes.
Cons: Very, very few cons. Several of the holes had a simplistic feel and were somewhat repetitive. Additionally, other than trees and giant rocks, there wasn't anything to really push the risk/reward aspect of the game. A water hazard, unique "locals route", or distinctive mando would have done something to push this course to the upper-most level.
Other Thoughts: The people at Sabattus have their act together across the board. I had the most fun playing the Hawk out of all the courses I've ever played. After my first round, this course is now tied as my favorite course.

When comparing the Hawk to the other courses at Sabattus Disc Golf (although this had no impact on my rating), this course had wider and more traditional fairways and throwing lines than the Eagle. The Hawk was also much longer and had a lot more variety than the Owl.

Sabattus, ME isn't exactly in the thick of things, but Sabattus Disc Golf is well worth the trip and I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone that is considering a disc golf trip to Maine. I wish more courses were modeled after the disc golf complex at Sabattus.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Immaculate Facility

1    5/3/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You feel like you are arriving at a real golf facility when you drive up. The amenities are world class. Everything is clean and tidy from the parking lot, pathways leading you to different courses and the pro shop. The people here are extremely friendly and want you to have a good time. The pro shop is beautiful and has an amazing stock of discs, snacks and whatever you may need.

The course is immaculate in it's maintenance - seriously- every fairway (in the woods) has a gravel path down it's center and wood chips everywhere else. Some serious labor has gone into making this a good experience. As said in other reviews, the signs are fantastic.

The design of the course has it's share of challenges, from narrow woods to open fields. It's the mid-level course, and it did not frustrate this 916 rated player too much. Minor elevation changes are well used and there's a good combination of narrow , medium and wide fairways.
Cons: I felt too many holes shared a similar design of 3 different types. Wide open holes- whether short or long (1, 4, 14,16) that had few hazards in the fairway. Sharp, short doglegs that were decent length but required about the same distance to get around the initial dogleg. Horseshoe-shaped holes.
It seemed that many of the holes (though enjoyable) seemed to give me a sense of Deja Vu as I went along.
Other Thoughts: The par was VERY generous here - I think it would be fair to shave 12 strokes from the par and it still would be reasonable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sabattus Is World Class Course

1    7/26/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Spoonie-J
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The best signage I've ever seen. Very well groomed fairways and greens. Excellent variety and clever course design keeps it interesting and challenging throughout.
Cons: Most of the baskets are surrounded by plenty of mulch which made for soft landings on approach shots. I liked this personally, but some people may prefer more natural terrain like grass or dirt, which can be more challenging.
Other Thoughts: I've played over 20 courses in 5 states and this course ranks in the top 3! The owners have clearly invested a lot of time and effort to make this a world class course. The price is well worth it for the quality you get.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sabattus Rocks!

6/20/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The other reviews say it all. This course has everything you could want. The most proffessional course I have every played. And a crazy suprise that you can't miss (or believe actually exists) from the street. Only played the pro course but it was amazing. I threw almost every disc in my bag and every shot in my repertoir. I could go on and on about this course.
Cons: The proshop had everything you could need but was still kind of a turn off. It reminded me of a ball golf course in alot of ways and lost its grassroots appeal that so many courses attempt to maintain. My buddy put it best, " when did Nike start getting into disc golf?"
Other Thoughts: If doing a tour of Maine courses, this is the #1 can't miss.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The absolute BEST disc golf facility and amenities I've ever seen (500+ courses). Pro shop with discs, bags, hats, food, water, beverages. Parking lot, practice baskets, 2-18 hole courses and one 9 hole course lit for glow play. All w nice cement tees and mind blowing tee signs. Well maintained also.
Cons: Some of the longer, tougher holes are kind of 'iffy', "U" shaped fairways, and forcing putter shots off the tee to a small landing zone then a long drive from there. Expensive to play.
Other Thoughts: Combine the best holes from both 18 hole courses and you'd maybe get one of the best 10 courses in the world.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sabattus is AWESOME

1    10/22/2007   11/1/2007
Review By: discNDav
Played: 297  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: everything...two 18 courses, both very challenging...cement tees, trash cans,
cigarette butt tin can, tee signs on every hole....pro shop...creeks, ponds, hills, woods, open shots, short, long, wood chipped fairways...everything you would want from a course! A short lighted course is being built as of Oct 2007.
Cons: $4.00 a round or $8 all day but it is worth it, I didn't mind paying to play here.
Other Thoughts: I have played over 220 courses in over 20 years and think Sabattus might be the best DG facility I have even seen!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.