Tucson, AZ 
Sam Lena Park Share
Uploaded By: timg  



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Female Friendly

5+    7/20/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: chelsea
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Plenty of technical and difficult shots the course isn't over run by a multitude of other players, sometimes it's hard being the only female on the course, and it's nice to just play a round without constantly being hit on!
Cons: No visible tee-pads (map is a plus!) or direction on where the next tee-pad is.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Leave This One To The Picnic Crowd!

1    4/6/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, there are six single chain baskets here. And, the weather can be delightful, at certain times of the year, and certain times of the day.

The course designers tried to make the most out of what they had to work with. Which is a small area of a flat park, with plenty of other park users and not enough space for even a nine hole course. And no grass or elevation.
Cons: You're attempting to play around mulitudes of other park patrons. On the evening I played, there were two large picnic groups and I really didn't want to disturb either group. Or get cross between their crossfire!

There are no obvious teepads. The on-line map provided a minimum amount of help and guidance. Had there been anyone playing baseball, that would have empacted my game even more.

Some guy was having a siesta right in the middle of the concrete picnic shelter on # 3 or 4 so I just skipped that hole.

Single chain baskets. No teepads. No signs anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I don't really know my way around Tucson but I found the other three Tucson area courses all to have some redeeming qualities. If I lived down here, I'd definitely be playing those other three courses and be leaving this one to the picnicikers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 bad

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: drmagnum22
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: not really any good pros sorry to say :(
Cons: tee's are not maked well at all, goals are falling apart,bathrooms are locked at all times, no lights on for night golf,was a waste of my time but i though it couldnt be that bad
Other Thoughts: needs lots of work

 Better than no course, but...

1    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: hansolo01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park was almost empty when we played. Nice to have a course on this side of town. We played in November, and the weather was beautiful. Well-drawn map available from the "links/files" tab above. There are nice shady picnic tables surrounding the course, and a drinking fountain near the baseball diamonds.
Cons: The 6 (shared) baskets were in bad disrepair in Nov. '08. Most were held together with baling wire. Tee locations were poorly marked, if at all - a map is a MUST. Several shots/tee locations were nearly identical to those previously played. A few tees are on slopes over loose gravel that nearly tripped two in our party. 18-hole round takes nearly 2 hours due to inefficient course flow. Limited shade - course is probably too hot to play in Summer.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like an afterthought. Course might have traffic issues when busy with lots of players. Layout also requires several shots that cut over baseball diamonds, which could interrupt play if those are in use for other sports. If the tees were better marked, this course would be much more playable. Until then, I will stick to other courses while in Tucson.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Limited space

4/1/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting layout based on limited usage area, nice new baskets when we played there in early '07
Cons: recommend printing out the online map to help you figure out all the hole and tee placements. Multiple tees make a creative use of 6 baskets to create an 18 hole course. I can't imagine how this plays when it is crowded.
Other Thoughts: Hot and dusty in the middle of the day, bring water, although there are restrooms and water fountains nearby in the park building

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.