Georgetown, TX 
San Gabriel Park Share
Uploaded By: Cody Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Up a slight hill



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mixed Emotions

2-4    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: redsealking
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: Located in a beautiful park along the San Gabriel river with tons of amenities for all walks of life. Some shade and a nice breeze. Was not crowded any of the times I played it. Course made good use of space provided.

Hole #2 was sweet. Forced you to throw super low and far, or throw a controlled S around huge guardian tree.

Hole #4 I liked. It required a long controlled drive to a landing area with a shorter controlled up just to get the three.

Hole #7 was a good golf hole. A long drive would land you at the base of a side-sloped fairway with the basket perched atop. A controlled up shot that doesn't roll away with card you a three.
Cons: Holes 1, 3, 5, 6 and 9 were super short and had very few obstacles to traverse. There was one point where you had to cross hole 3's fairway.

Some holes just had not much to offer. Wide open tees and baskets in open space.
Other Thoughts: Park itself was awesome. My wife and daughter were able to play at a fabulous play area while I threw. Being somewhat Austin area, I expected it to be super crowded but it wasn't. Course played super fast, so it would be easy to fit in a lot of golf.

Decent Park Course

2-4    11/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Typical park course with lots of mown turf and mature, trimmed up trees.

Good variety of hole lengths from 157' to 547; with a few ace runs and many birdie opportunities. Hole 4 is a legitimate 547 foot Par 4.

Dirt teepads with simple tee signs consisting of numbers on a short post. No maps or distances on the signs. With no specific designation for the front of the tee the dirt pads have gotten extended forward a bit on specific holes. No sign or post on Hole 3 and that pad looked like a runway.

Small creek (mostly dry) provides modest elevation change on several holes. Several baskets near or among trees add challenge. Hole 6 is the shortest hole at 157' but the basket placement between two huge Pecan trees makes it a blind shot from the tee. Good ace run, but if you get behind one of the trees it's par.
Cons: Holes 1, 5, and 9 are open shots across grass. Not particularly challenging or interesting.
Other Thoughts: Pretty little park with good access and parking. It looks like a course that gets a lot of use, but it is clean and in good shape.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Open Course

5+    12/24/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: rmarshall
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to get out and practice.. holes 1 and 9 are set up perfectly so you can go up-hill and down-hill to get a great driving practice in. Alot of nice elevation changes, and the grass is usually kept mowed pretty well so the weeds aren't too bad. A dry creek is in play for 7 of the 9 holes, which makes a defined fairway on most of the holes. There are alot of people here usually later in the afternoon / early evening, and are all friendly. All the pads are marked with a #, and the pad points in the direction of the respective basket.
Cons: Wind is a big factor here, and can ruin your day if you use lighter discs. When it gets realy hot in the summer, there is little shade so it can get a bit excessive. The city dump isn't far, so if the wind is blowing right, sometimes holes 1 and 9 aren't very pleasent on the nose. At times, the dry creek will fill with huge weeds, making finding a disc a pain if you throw in it.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course for driving. Hole 9 is a dream for practicing driving with a nice long sloping downhill and alot of space to just let them rip without having to worry about trees or people.

Overall, great course if your new to the game, and great course for practice if you want to get out of the house for an hour or 2. I wouldn't recommend making a long trip just to play this course, but if you are in the area, it's a nice little course with alot to offer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

2-4    9/6/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: smokfraglerock
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Pretty course with great flow from hole to hole. Great course for beginners. Awesome pin placements on several holes especially on number six. Park plays quickly so you can get nine in in about thirty minutes. People in the park are friendly.
Cons: Not many cons on this park. The tees are dirt and do show the wear of use and years. The flip side though is that the tees themselves act as signs pointing at the hole. No trashcans are on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is what it is. A neighborhood course that gets played a lot. You don't need a large bag to play, three or four discs will be enough. This course can do great things for your confidence if you are just starting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is my home course

5+    8/9/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Great changes in distance a little elevation change but not much. Hole one is fun to drive on and if you have a big arm its good open practice for your slower discs. Hole two is excellent design, over a creek, clear a hill, land past or in between two large oaks.I love pointing the basket out to new players. Hole three is short and a good ace opportunity with a couple angles around well placed trees and a basket just over a creek. Hole four is long but holds obstacle enough to stop you after just over 300 feet, a well placed shot after can land you birdie. Hole five is short and simple but can be damaging if the creek is full. Hole six is awesome basket placement. I haven't seen a basket placed directly in between two trees with only inches of leeway any where else. Hole seven Is a nice dive with a great hill and basket placement. Hole eight is short but requires a little accuracy with some annoying trees. Hole nine is down a hill and is very open. I love to play hole one and nine for a short bit of practice and if you only have a few minutes you can play a short circuit with holes one, two, three, eight, and nine. The course is in a figure eight witch allows quick play.Excellent 9 hole.
Cons: A little easy and not to much variety.
Other Thoughts: This course has a special place in my heart. I recommend it for Georgetown and Round Rock players looking for a fun and quick place to play.

 Best Beginner Course

5+    4/14/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: cris4422
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or to just practice. Great course to learn on. Not crowded. Fun to ace holes. Some wholes are pretty fun and can be challenging for different players.
Cons: Wind can effect play drastically. If it's windy I recommend going to Rivery Park. Not very well maintained as it is pretty old.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best practice course in the area.

5+    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: breakingday
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of decently ranged holes with a bit of complexity, and almost no brush to worry about. San Gabe is the usual default course if I'm in need of a quick game, or just want to practice.
Cons: You'll occasionally have to fish your disc out of the creek, and hole 7 gets some ridiculous wind gusts.

They still haven't replaced hole 8.
Other Thoughts: If you're interested in just practicing, going back and forth between holes 1 and 9 is a great way to spend a day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Typical "Run-of-the-Mill" Course. Not Flashy, but gets the Job Done.

1    3/13/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a nice undulating hill that plays well on holes #2, #3, and #7. The course is fairly wide open with a small creek playing through the middle of it. Don't look for a big challenge, but if you're in the mood for a nice casual round - this is a good spot for you. It's a heavily used park with many family facilities, and is fairly stroller friendly, so bring the family for the day and get some good practice in. However, it's just challenging enough to be a good time for experienced players.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: Hole #8 is currently missing it's basket. Doc half a disc in the rating. I would assume vandals since this is such a high volume park, but I never confirmed. Signage is there, nothing special - just a small wooden post denoting the hole number. The tee boxes are dirt, which aren't bad, but are a bit rutted from use. Being a well groomed park, you can just play the grass if you have an issue.

Parking is fairly sparse since the course is being used for so much, but the course is on the edge of the park, so you may or may not have an issue depending on the day. Facilities are present but there is a walk.

Finally the biggest issue is the simplicity of the course. A few long holes, a few slightly elevated boxes, but everything is a fairly straight shot to the box. #7 offers the only real challenge due not only to its length but difficult pin placement on the edge of the hill. #1 and #9 are boring and filler, but serve its purpose. I understand why, but it's too bad the river couldn't be incorporated into the design.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: I wish I had more positives to say about this San Gabriel because it's a nice average home course for many people. However, being so close to Rivery Park, it's just simply unforgettable by comparison. If you get a basket back in hole #8, I would give it 2.5 discs as a typical DG course. If you live in the area, want to get in a quick round, or get some good practice in with a new disc - this is your place, but don't go out of your way to get here. If you're looking for a challenge, go the extra few miles and play Rivery Park, or the many other superior Austin courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole course

1    5/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: wtafro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great place to play if you are looking for a quick round. Tee boxes are located near the end of the previous hole. Holes are marked well. Has some nice elevation changes and is a pretty nice park.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Needs some more trash cans through out course.
Other Thoughts: It isn't too far of a drive from where I am. Would like to play again when going down to DiscNation in Austin.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good re-design

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the tees are very easy to find and marked with posts after the re-design; still dirt though.
Glad they at least have one amateur par 4 on it which is # 4.
I like the openness as before, and there still are a few tighter shots to be had in that rolling field of old oaks.
Cons: My only gripe is that I wish they would've put the # 7 basket where # 5 used to be; the tee is the same though. There's no reason that they couldn't and it would've added ~80' more to the hole making it an amatuer par 4, in my book anyways, (just like # 5 used to be). # 8 really wasn't a par 4 before, so I guess we still wind up with the same overall par anyway.
Other Thoughts: I just corrected the measurements and par for each hole today by using the very scientific method of "big steps" ( 1 big step = 1 yard). Feel free to re-measure if you've got better methods than that....

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.