Richmond, VA 
Dunncroft - Castle Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Wildcattamer Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ok, short, technical

5+    4/2/2014   1/3/2014
Review By: HannibalRex
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Will def give your technical skills a workout, or break in every disc you have. Many trees have recently been cut down or trimmed, so that helps with several of the approach shots. Nice baskets. Soccer field is nice to air out before or after you play, if not too many people are goofing off (50/50 chance). There are a couple of really fun shots, #2, #7 - #9, many are "aceable" but I don't really believe many of the ace grabs noted on several of the tee posts. It's a nice course to play if it's windy because it's all wooded or in a valley, so makes for a nice place to go if it's just stupid windy elsewhere. Typically not too busy
Cons: I realize, and have had it pointed out to me, I sound like a jerk in my reviews so I'll keep it to myself. This is a nice place, my advice is go play it and find out for yourself. Have fun, be respectful, help out the beginners, set a good example - all things I need to work on myself (and not write reviews in a foul mood!).

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow Course with Sneaky Creek

1    3/21/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees on 6-7 holes makes it an enjoyable 18 hole loop if you play it twice.

Hole 2 is one of the best holes in the Richmond area...course is almost worth playing for this one approach shot!

Good hole length variety for a 9 hole course.

Soccer field before the first hole makes a nice warm-up practice area.
Cons: Only 9 holes.

Lack of hole variety...they all seem narrow, heavily wooded, and that annoying creek seems to swallow discs repeatedly. It is very well hidden on a lot of shots, but encroaches on almost every hole. And it smells pretty foul so retrieving discs is not fun. The second pass through the course was much nicer because I knew where the creek was, but this is definitely an annoyance on the first pass!

Tee areas are natural...they have large roots and the run-ups are sometimes limited to 1 step because of trees and benches.

Could not find the white tees on hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Its next to a middle school, and there are a lot of graffiti on the trees...typically mature graffiti penises.

Hole 7 is poorly designed...it plays straight down a creek, and there is no landing area on either side to lay up.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short... Like Putt Putt

2-4    5/28/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Beginner Course
-Incorporates small stream on several holes to make some interesting basket approaches
-Narrow fairways balance short holes
-Hard to lose a disc in either the woods or the stream
Cons: -Some fairways absurdly narrow
-Stream is often not visible from the tee and can be a source of surprise water penalties.
-Stream smells quite bad and detracts from the experience if you have to fish out a disc
Other Thoughts: Call this course what it is. A small nine-hole course that backs up to a small park. While a few holes require +200 ft shots to have an ideal lie, many of the holes feel like one is playing putt putt.

I have a special place in my heart for this type of course. With the openness of Bryan park, I would play this course if pressed for time or if I wanted to rest my arm and focus on finesse.

Unfortunately, the course over-rewards an accurate shot and over-penalizes a slightly inaccurate one. On many holes a 150 ft shot that hits a 6 ft wide window can set one up for a deuce, while a kick off a tree can have one looking at bogey or double. On the plus side, one could walk away from a round with a low-twenties score. On the negative, the difference between low twenties and upper thirties seems to turn on luck more than anything else.

I play this course because of its location near my in-laws. If it is down the road from you I can see why you might frequent it. It's worth playing at least once if you live in Richmond, and if one is craving a short game with intense finesse shots, this is the ticket. However, With other courses like Gilles Run and Bryan Park nearby, I can not imagine one wanting to play this course on a regular basis.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Dunncroft

5+    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: preakabryan17
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Quick to play
- Nice Baskets
- Elevation changes
Cons: - Needs a few more trees cut down
- Really nasty creek
- #4 and 9 have terrible tee pads
- Too difficult for inexperienced players
Other Thoughts: Needs a little more fairway and few less trees

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not too Impressive

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park setting in a great neighborhood. Clean bathrooms and a lovely playground for the kids. Easy to navigate. Each Tee is marked by a stand with the number on it. First Time Friendly! Challenging wooded course.
Cons: 9 holes. No signs or maps. No Tee boxes, only tee markers with some missing. There are posts at every Tee but no signs for distance or direction. Poor drainage after rain. Hole 8 and 9 were very mushy and muddy after a week of dry weather.
Other Thoughts: OK, its a nice small course. For its size, it can be very challenging on your wood game. Hurts if you're a Grip and Rip type of player. A huge Soccer field to practice your drives on while walking to the first tee, much like Dorey. But like a little kid brother of Dorey, Dunncroft is nice but no substitute for the original. It plays like a small version of Dorey Park, but Dorey has much more variety and 18 baskets rather than only nine. Is it challenging? Yes, due to a winding creek that comes into play on most holes and a thick wooded playing area, but again you can get this (minus the creek) at Dorey and as an overall Disc Golf good time, it was a bit underwhelming. If I lived nearby, it would be a great quick nine. Bring out the kids and let them and the wife play at the playground while I throw a quick (alone should finish in under 30 minutes) round and its all good. But to drive a distance and hope for a great day out of DG, I'd have to say pass on Dunncroft. I'm being kind. The group I played with were much harsher on their critique, but most of what they had to say could not be printed.

Fav Hole: 7) A Tight Ace attempt through tough trees and crossing the creek.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Course in Richmond's Far West End

5+    8/4/2013   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting holes around stream, benches and places to hang your bag at most holes.
Other Thoughts: You have to cross a wide field to get to the first hole at Dunncroft-Castlepoint, so it's a good idea to warm up by flinging your long range drivers from the parking lot to the first tee. Then put them away, because you may not need them again.

That caveat aside, however, the reduced and refined course at Dunncroft-Castlepoint (DC) is in some ways an interesting little course. Once a very tight, very challenging woods course, DC has been reduced to nine holes, still in the woods, but more reasonable in its challenges and making better use of the natural landscape remaining. Only the first hole is overly wooded, but it's also very short; after that control is still key, but the fairways are well defined and realistic. The course plays around a good stream, and four or five of the holes are made more interesting by the stream. In addition, the course plays dowhill (to the stream), uphill (away from the stream), and has a couple of flat holes (along the stream). Finally, DC features at least two holes that are legitimately par 4, making the course par 29 or 30 for nine. So in reality, if you have the control, you can break out the long range drivers for a few of the holes. Veer off course and you may suffer, however. DC is still an unforgiving course.

Overall, Dunncroft-Castlepoint is still a course for if you need some practice or a change of pace. It's only nine holes, it now has only one set of tees for most holes, it's all the woods, and has no teepads to speak of. The course does demand control, however, features a good bit of up and down, and the stream and the holes incorporating the stream are certainly unique to the area.

Favorite Hole - #7 - straight shot down narrow alley crossing bends in the stream for most of fairway.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded course near a school

1    8/13/2007   8/13/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wooded course. A creek winds through the course and comes into play on 7 holes.
Hole 1 is about 110 ft. and hole 9 is about 520 ft.
Cons: In places it can be a little tough to navigate. Tee 8 is a long walk from basket 7. From #8 basket follow a short dirt path to gravel path and make right to find 9's tee.
It's either on school property or at least right next to a Middle school and there has been some vandalism of the chains on a few baskets.
Other Thoughts: Long tees Course Level = Difficult White or easy Blue.

Look in the Files section for my more detailed review notes.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.