Richmond, VA 
Dunncroft - Castle Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Wildcattamer Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not the best course ever, but still one of my favorites

5+    4/20/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Daniel_Gordon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied terrain makes the play interesting and worthwhile for a short course.

Great soccer field for warming up in.

Real baskets, always a plus.

Short enough to play a quick round if short on time, or play through twice if you have more time.

Challenging, but not infuriating.

Brand new posts to hold bags as of March 2013. Very nice Eagle scout project! I think the tee markers were newer too.
Cons: Natural tees - they get muddy.

This most recent time I played it tons of local kids were using it as a biking trail - we had to call out a lot to warn them that we were throwing. ( A few of them were very slow to get out of the way)
Other Thoughts: I know some people are pretty down on short courses, but this is one of my favorites. I know the fairways are narrow, but it's a great place to hone your accuracy or work on rollers (on downhill holes) and hammers

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Variety in the shade

2-4    5/4/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Quick to play 9 hole course completely in the woods. Nice shade in the hot weather.

Variety of distances, turns, and obstacles. A couple of really cool holes navigating around the creek.
Cons: Leaves make it tough to find discs at times, definitely had to do some searching, but no lost discs.
Other Thoughts: If you want a fun quick game, this place is great. I think I played both times during school hours, and had no trouble playing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 holer

1    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice 9 hole course with a signature hole (hole 2).
- Tee signs at most of the tees.
- Course was empty when all other Richmond courses were extremely crowded.
- Wooded course requires some finess making it a challenge for all levels.
- Good variety in distances for a 9 holer.
- Very nice (and clean) bathroom facilities open year round.
- bolts on tee signs to hold your bag out of the mud.
- Soccer field infront of first tee to warm up on

Another great 9 hole course in Virginia.
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- not accessable during school hours
- some more signage needed to show where baskets are from tee pads and where the next tee pad is from the basket.
- Hole 4 had an awkward muddy downhill tee that was very slick.
- No clear tee boxes
-Course was very muddy (which is understandable at this time of year)
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9 holers in Virginia, right behind Bluemont. I am sure this course plays totally different in the summer when the foiliage is at it's peak, or the fall when massive amounts of leaves make finding your disc a challenge, but as far as winter and and early spring playing, this course earned a "very good" rating.
I conceed that a 3.5 is slightly high, but I thought this course rates better than a 3 (good) I enjoy a tight wooded finess course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.