Disc Golf Center
Richmond, VA 
Dunncroft - Castle Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Wildcattamer Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Ok, short, technical

5+    4/2/2014   1/3/2014
Review By: HannibalRex
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Will def give your technical skills a workout, or break in every disc you have. Many trees have recently been cut down or trimmed, so that helps with several of the approach shots. Nice baskets. Soccer field is nice to air out before or after you play, if not too many people are goofing off (50/50 chance). There are a couple of really fun shots, #2, #7 - #9, many are "aceable" but I don't really believe many of the ace grabs noted on several of the tee posts. It's a nice course to play if it's windy because it's all wooded or in a valley, so makes for a nice place to go if it's just stupid windy elsewhere. Typically not too busy
Cons: I realize, and have had it pointed out to me, I sound like a jerk in my reviews so I'll keep it to myself. This is a nice place, my advice is go play it and find out for yourself. Have fun, be respectful, help out the beginners, set a good example - all things I need to work on myself (and not write reviews in a foul mood!).

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

BUG SPRAY

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Signs have par and distance along with bag holders.
2. Blue and White Tees
3. Tees are easy to spot
4. Trashcans
5. Shaded
Cons: 1. Bugs
2. These trees are heavily traveled so navigation from hole to hole can be tough.
3. Saw a copperhead when we played
4. Baskets are hard to spot
Other Thoughts: This course is a great one for beginners. I personally felt like the pars where too high except for hole 9. I enjoyed this course but I would not play it again in the summer without bug spray. For a quick 9 round I would recommend this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the best course ever, but still one of my favorites

5+    4/20/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Daniel_Gordon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied terrain makes the play interesting and worthwhile for a short course.

Great soccer field for warming up in.

Real baskets, always a plus.

Short enough to play a quick round if short on time, or play through twice if you have more time.

Challenging, but not infuriating.

Brand new posts to hold bags as of March 2013. Very nice Eagle scout project! I think the tee markers were newer too.
Cons: Natural tees - they get muddy.

This most recent time I played it tons of local kids were using it as a biking trail - we had to call out a lot to warn them that we were throwing. ( A few of them were very slow to get out of the way)
Other Thoughts: I know some people are pretty down on short courses, but this is one of my favorites. I know the fairways are narrow, but it's a great place to hone your accuracy or work on rollers (on downhill holes) and hammers

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow Course with Sneaky Creek

1    3/21/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees on 6-7 holes makes it an enjoyable 18 hole loop if you play it twice.

Hole 2 is one of the best holes in the Richmond area...course is almost worth playing for this one approach shot!

Good hole length variety for a 9 hole course.

Soccer field before the first hole makes a nice warm-up practice area.
Cons: Only 9 holes.

Lack of hole variety...they all seem narrow, heavily wooded, and that annoying creek seems to swallow discs repeatedly. It is very well hidden on a lot of shots, but encroaches on almost every hole. And it smells pretty foul so retrieving discs is not fun. The second pass through the course was much nicer because I knew where the creek was, but this is definitely an annoyance on the first pass!

Tee areas are natural...they have large roots and the run-ups are sometimes limited to 1 step because of trees and benches.

Could not find the white tees on hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Its next to a middle school, and there are a lot of graffiti on the trees...typically mature graffiti penises.

Hole 7 is poorly designed...it plays straight down a creek, and there is no landing area on either side to lay up.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/11/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actual baskets are always a plus, solid lanes, water hazards, decent elevation change, marked tees complete with bag hangars, trash cans on site. Also, this is a great beginner course as it is short, entertaining, and it flows really well. It's very easy to follow, and it has some solid elevation change for such a short course.
Cons: Graffiti and natural tees are about the only downside. The graffiti doesn't bother me but, if you play with kids, there are a number of trees painted with giant dicks. As for the natural tees, they are especially bad for two reasons. A) There are roots grown up through them that require that you watch carefully on the run up. B) Some of the tees are situated so you can't run up. For example, one of the holes has the tee markers, and the box is literally like four feet deep and backs up to a bench, so you really have no room to work with.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is an entertaining course, great for beginners. You won't really find a chance to open your arm up if you're a big driver, but it's a GREAT warmup course for Bryan or Gillies. Also, it's laid out well enough that it's easy to follow, and beginners do well here, as the holes aren't terribly long. This course is also a great place to practice placement, as some of the holes do require precision. The water hazard is entertaining...it's deep enough to be there, but not so deep that it swallows discs, and the creek definitely adds character to the course. The course was also quiet, and very clean. If you're in Richmond, Gillies, Bryan and Dorey are where it's at, but this is worth a quick trip if you want to warm up or strictly work on placement. As someone else mentioned, it's like playing putt-putt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old School...It's Old, by a School

1    8/29/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: > Better than I expected, signs were well dressed with graffiti, but some of the info is actually good, you get the ace accounts, and who is in love with who. That's character people.

>Across a soccer field, which if empty, is GREAT to warm up in.

>A nice variety of length, not all short holes.
Cons: >Woods, ALL of it. It seems to be a Richmond area requirement of DG for all the courses to be in the woods.

>Natural Tees, always a negative.

>Sometimes confusing to get around.
Other Thoughts: Not as bad as I have read, not quite on the level of Gillies, but not too far off.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short... Like Putt Putt

2-4    5/28/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Beginner Course
-Incorporates small stream on several holes to make some interesting basket approaches
-Narrow fairways balance short holes
-Hard to lose a disc in either the woods or the stream
Cons: -Some fairways absurdly narrow
-Stream is often not visible from the tee and can be a source of surprise water penalties.
-Stream smells quite bad and detracts from the experience if you have to fish out a disc
Other Thoughts: Call this course what it is. A small nine-hole course that backs up to a small park. While a few holes require +200 ft shots to have an ideal lie, many of the holes feel like one is playing putt putt.

I have a special place in my heart for this type of course. With the openness of Bryan park, I would play this course if pressed for time or if I wanted to rest my arm and focus on finesse.

Unfortunately, the course over-rewards an accurate shot and over-penalizes a slightly inaccurate one. On many holes a 150 ft shot that hits a 6 ft wide window can set one up for a deuce, while a kick off a tree can have one looking at bogey or double. On the plus side, one could walk away from a round with a low-twenties score. On the negative, the difference between low twenties and upper thirties seems to turn on luck more than anything else.

I play this course because of its location near my in-laws. If it is down the road from you I can see why you might frequent it. It's worth playing at least once if you live in Richmond, and if one is craving a short game with intense finesse shots, this is the ticket. However, With other courses like Gilles Run and Bryan Park nearby, I can not imagine one wanting to play this course on a regular basis.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average...

2-4    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is short but makes great use of the space given it. Many of the shots weave in and out of a tiny creek making for some challenging shots and approaches at times. The fairways are pretty wide open for the most part with the trees thinned nicely.
Cons: The course does not offer a variety of shots as most holes are fairly straight from tee to basket.
The tees are just little blocks of wood on the ground, with many missing or in disrepair.
The tee posts are just that...a 4x4 in the ground. Some of the posts have the tee number on them, some don't. some have the par number, some don't. Some have the distance to the hole on them, some don't. Most baskets you can see from the tee, which is a good thing because you are given no signs or diagrams for direction.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course would be good if it was just better maintained and if better tee posts were put in. I took a friend who was new to the sport, and so it was a good introduction and place for him to practice different shots. However, this is not a course I plan on revisiting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quaint Disc Golf Park

2-4    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All wooded but still lot of variety, easy to navigate, nice location.
Cons: Lack of details on tee signs, missing tees, only nine holes
Other Thoughts: This course is completely wooded but still has variety as it can be pretty technical and does not favor right or left handed players. Our goal was to play white tees and follow up with a round on blues, but many of the holes seem to be missing one color or the other. The course also lacks tee signs with information about length and direction but after taking a quick look, its easy to find your way around. Hole eight is the only hole that's out of the way but if you head right on the running trail its hard to miss. The designers made great use of the creek that runs through the property, as it runs through eight of the nine holes and by the baskets on holes 2 and 7. The course as a whole was attractive, well designed, and enjoyable, but there was still room for improvement.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Dunncroft

5+    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: preakabryan17
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Quick to play
- Nice Baskets
- Elevation changes
Cons: - Needs a few more trees cut down
- Really nasty creek
- #4 and 9 have terrible tee pads
- Too difficult for inexperienced players
Other Thoughts: Needs a little more fairway and few less trees

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.