Richmond, VA 
Dunncroft - Castle Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Wildcattamer Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Variety in the shade

2-4    5/4/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Quick to play 9 hole course completely in the woods. Nice shade in the hot weather.

Variety of distances, turns, and obstacles. A couple of really cool holes navigating around the creek.
Cons: Leaves make it tough to find discs at times, definitely had to do some searching, but no lost discs.
Other Thoughts: If you want a fun quick game, this place is great. I think I played both times during school hours, and had no trouble playing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 holer

1    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice 9 hole course with a signature hole (hole 2).
- Tee signs at most of the tees.
- Course was empty when all other Richmond courses were extremely crowded.
- Wooded course requires some finess making it a challenge for all levels.
- Good variety in distances for a 9 holer.
- Very nice (and clean) bathroom facilities open year round.
- bolts on tee signs to hold your bag out of the mud.
- Soccer field infront of first tee to warm up on

Another great 9 hole course in Virginia.
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- not accessable during school hours
- some more signage needed to show where baskets are from tee pads and where the next tee pad is from the basket.
- Hole 4 had an awkward muddy downhill tee that was very slick.
- No clear tee boxes
-Course was very muddy (which is understandable at this time of year)
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9 holers in Virginia, right behind Bluemont. I am sure this course plays totally different in the summer when the foiliage is at it's peak, or the fall when massive amounts of leaves make finding your disc a challenge, but as far as winter and and early spring playing, this course earned a "very good" rating.
I conceed that a 3.5 is slightly high, but I thought this course rates better than a 3 (good) I enjoy a tight wooded finess course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty course in the woods.

5+    11/18/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: mrjohnahawley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really secluded. Very technical, forces you to work with head instead of your arm.
Cons: Only nine when it used to be 18, luckily I got to place all 18 once before it got dismantled.
Other Thoughts: Bring back the old front nine, the school isnt using that area! Who do we have to convince?

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wish it was still 18

5+    5/16/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -dual tees on 2, 4, 5, 8, 9
-the creek comes into play on 75% of the course
-hole 7, short but the almost the entire fairway is over the creek and the basket sits right at the creeks edge
-quick and fun
-used to be 18, and all the holes are from the original course
-easy to follow and bright blue signs at ever tee so they are easy to see
Cons: -closed during school hours because it is sometimes used for the middle school gym classes
-easy to lose discs under leaves because they never get raked anywhere, so watch your flight paths
-some tees (like 2 long) force you to awkwardly take your run-up around roots that stick out of the ground
-8's fairway and the area immediately in front of 9's tee get VERY muddy after it rains
-no distances or maps on tee signs
Other Thoughts: Dunncroft used to be 18, so what you're playing are the holes that were left over after they built the new middle school. It is one of the most legit 9 hole courses I've ever played due to the fact that it used to be a full course.

I wish that I'd been able to play this course when it was 18 because I've heard it was amazing. If you're looking for a challenging course for your over your lunch break, then Dunncroft is the choice.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Daily Player

5+    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: abdul haqq
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Less that a half a mile away from my house. I can ride my bike, walk or drive. My children love the play ground and the rest rooms are clean. Nice open field before the course to air out a couple of throws. Great for Aces. I hit hole 6 once and 7 twice.
Cons: Funky stagnat water in some places. If you step wrong you will get what my children call "Glop Foot" on the second hole.
Other Thoughts: Give us the other nine holes back they took before the school was built. More trash cans.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Cute Nine

1    5/9/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are bathrooms (clean), water fountain, playground, and a picnic pavilion by the parking lot.

Bag hangers on the tee posts.
A decent amount of benches (I want to say 5 out of 9 tees had a bench)
Orange center poles on the baskets make them easy to spot.
Holes range from 110' - 510'
Heavily wooded course. Good place to work on accuracy, if not on distance.
Course loops around on itself, so the 9th brings you right back to the beginning.
Cons: Not enough trash cans. Needs some clean-up. I wouldn't say the place is trashed, but an obviously abandoned bike laying by a tree around the 3rd or 4th hole sticks in my mind.

Natural Tees.
It's only 9 holes.
Tee posts let you know where you are, but not where you're going. There are very few distance markers, and no maps. The 8th tee was hard to find (see course info for directions to 8 & 9).
Other Thoughts: Theoretically there are blue and white tees - most markers were in the same spot. White tee markers for 3 and 9 were non-existent (or at least we couldn't find them)

The creek winds throughout the course and comes into play on many holes. Bridges are provided. But don't worry about losing a disc in the water. Even after a week and a half of steady rain it's not that deep. It's not that pretty, but it's not that deep.

At only 9 holes this course is a tease. It's over before you know it, and leaves you wanting more.
If I lived closer I would probably play this course more often, but nothing about it is so phenomenal to make a special trip. But if you're going to a concert at Innsbrook Pavilion (about 10 minutes away - if that) plan a little extra time to throw a quick round at this cute course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Home Field Advantage

5+    4/28/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: Wundrkid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy beginner course but still rough on professionals. Plenty of shade for the summer game. Regulars are throwing 6 days a week and the atmosphere is awesome.
Cons: No drainage on 8 or 9. I have been through plenty of times only to find standing water and thick mud.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course. It is less than a mile away from my place so I frequent the park and have somewhat mastered the tee shots. Good ace opportunities on 1, and 7. My only two aces came on number 7.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too Impressive

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park setting in a great neighborhood. Clean bathrooms and a lovely playground for the kids. Easy to navigate. Each Tee is marked by a stand with the number on it. First Time Friendly! Challenging wooded course.
Cons: 9 holes. No signs or maps. No Tee boxes, only tee markers with some missing. There are posts at every Tee but no signs for distance or direction. Poor drainage after rain. Hole 8 and 9 were very mushy and muddy after a week of dry weather.
Other Thoughts: OK, its a nice small course. For its size, it can be very challenging on your wood game. Hurts if you're a Grip and Rip type of player. A huge Soccer field to practice your drives on while walking to the first tee, much like Dorey. But like a little kid brother of Dorey, Dunncroft is nice but no substitute for the original. It plays like a small version of Dorey Park, but Dorey has much more variety and 18 baskets rather than only nine. Is it challenging? Yes, due to a winding creek that comes into play on most holes and a thick wooded playing area, but again you can get this (minus the creek) at Dorey and as an overall Disc Golf good time, it was a bit underwhelming. If I lived nearby, it would be a great quick nine. Bring out the kids and let them and the wife play at the playground while I throw a quick (alone should finish in under 30 minutes) round and its all good. But to drive a distance and hope for a great day out of DG, I'd have to say pass on Dunncroft. I'm being kind. The group I played with were much harsher on their critique, but most of what they had to say could not be printed.

Fav Hole: 7) A Tight Ace attempt through tough trees and crossing the creek.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Craig Fortune

2-4    5/1/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Wildcattamer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2009
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: I was blown away by the course. Very challenging course. I think its one of the best courses I have played.
Cons: Footage on the course would be nice. Its was a little muddy on the second trip thru.
Other Thoughts: Henrico has a jewel of a disc golf course super 9 hole course.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not Up to Par

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first noticeable pro to this course is that its in a nice neighborhood. The soccer field provides a nice place to throw a few practice drives, so long as there isn't a game going on. The baskets (and many hazards) are marked with orange paint, which makes them a little easier to find. The course is very wooded, with some holes requiring specialty shots that you don't usually have to throw at other area courses (Bryan, Gillies). There are several tight tunnel shots for added difficulty. Playing over the stream is nice, as are the changes in elevation - all but 1 or 2 of the holes play either uphill or downhill.
Cons: While playing in the woods has it's advantages, this course is a bit much. The fairways are hardly fairways at all - more like paths through the woods. Holes like this can be fun to play but some variation would make for a more enjoyable game. Playing here will improve your short game for sure, but you will be hitting a lot of trees. The course was also quite muddy - it would be best to wait a few days after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad park. I'm sure I'll play here again, but mostly because it's not too far out of the city. All things considered, though, if you want to play at a nice wooded course it is worth it to make the longer drive out to Dorey where the holes are more varied and you can play a full 18.

UPDATE (4/12/09): I have been back to this park several times since writing this review, and today was the best experience I've had. Even just yesterday it was very muddy, but it has since dried out and I found it much more enjoyable. Having become familiar with the holes helps as well - this course is really great for your short game. There actually are some chances to rip long drives, provided you can make it around the many obstacles. Playing here more has really improved my drive placement, and my scores here are much better now!

Initial Rating: 1.5
New Rating: 2.5

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.