Marion, OH 
Sawyer Ludwig DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #10 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee: Basket is around the trees to the right.



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Enjoyable Round

5+    10/20/2012   12/20/2011
Review By: Nathan04W
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good Shot Variety(BH and FH)(Open and Wooded)
-Woods holes have some challenge, especially 13 and 17.
-Concrete Tees(Not huge but solid)
-Distance Variation
-Noticeable Lines(Some holes have crazy lines you wouldn't imagine, mainly those who play this daily know them but they are there.)
-Traffic is never heavy, but still a fair share of people playing.
-Friendly Locals(I know about everyone who plays this course daily, I'm one of em, and everyone is enjoyable.)
Cons: -During baseball season noise volume is loud due to games
-Train tracks across the street can have some interruption
-occasional people driving quads around(due to it being a local park)
-Lack of seating and trash cans.
-Randoms like to tear the signs off the posts, therefore most holes lack signage.
-Bathrooms are always questionable.
-During summer you get midget football practice in the field on 8(Just yell FOUR and wing it, cause that's what we do!)
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, I started playing here and love to go out everyday regardless of weather. This isn't a top of the line course but if you don't enjoy it well you don't know how to enjoy a round of DG. Maybe and hopefully I'll see you around!!

--I like to update a little about the current condition of the course. If recent rain can hold some water. Biggest flaw and stated above in the cons is the signage. Randoms rip them down every time new ones are put up so sadly it has kind of been overlooked now. Still a course I enjoy almost daily and the navigation isn't bad. Pretty much it follows smooth, 7 is in the woods behind 6 (some people might miss that, there is a pathway right behind basket 6), then heads back in the woods which flows smooth.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 firstcourse

5+    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: munky
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice mix of open vs. wooded, long bombs vs. short skilled shots.
-duel concete tees.
-trash cans.
-unless it has rained a bunch, the fairways are in good condition
Cons: -needs benches.
-people need to quit stealing the signs!!!
Other Thoughts: first course i played. play it a couple times a week. first time i played i was cursing #13 and #17. now these are my favorite holes. the lines ARE there to get birdies, u just have to hit them. like brianmtown20 said "thats disc golf"!! unless its your first time playing the sport, it has nothing to do with luck. see the line, know your discs and hit it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nucourse

2-4    4/5/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Enjoyable layout, open front 9 and wooded back 9.
~Navigation is very easy and provides good flow.
~Good mix of holes throughout.
~Distances play well for a wide range of skill levels.
~Concrete tee pads.
~Baskets are in great shape.
~Course is easy to find, ample parking provided.
Cons:
~8' tee pads are not quite long enough.
~A few of the wooded holes need more defined paths.
Other Thoughts:
Played this course while in town for a project down the way at the steel mill. Located real close to where I was working and easy to find, it was a great way to unwind. The entire course was wet and muddy, but I expected this since it rained the entire day prior and I was actually pleased with it not being in worse condition. Played my 1st round on a fairly windy and cool day. Nice mix of holes and getting around was easy. All in all this is a very nice course with a real solid layout. I would have no problem coming back here and playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Community Park

2-4    1/6/2011   1/7/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A tale of two courses here: the front nine is mostly wide open and the back nine is tight and reasonably wooded. This gives a nice balance of technical vs. bomber holes. The front nine also loops back to the parking area so you can restock if necessary. Dual concrete tees here give advanced and rec players skill appropriate tee pads. Quality baskets still in good shape. Not a lot of elevation, but the open fields challenge the wind. Ample parking and restrooms available.
Cons:
Posted distance on hole #9 is about 100' short of what it really is. Hole #17 is a ping-pong hole that needs some trees cleared out to make a legit fairway; as it is now that hole is more luck than skill. The tee pads here are just a bit short, I had to compact my x-step or I was falling off the front of the boxes.
Other Thoughts:
Hole #15 could use a Mando through the gap, otherwise the alternate route around the left side makes the hole completely different and easier. Sawyer is a solid Intermediate level course, as you get to the Advanced and up levels I suspect the better players will be bored with the repetitive holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile

2-4    7/1/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good park setting, with minimal interference between course and other park activities. Nice mix of open holes with enough mature trees to keep things interesting on the front nine (with one tight wooded hole, number 7), and more tight technical holes on the back nine. Course relatively easy to navigate, with just a couple of potential problems. Tee pads in good shape, albeit somewhat short.

Front nine ends back at the parking area near hole 1, making for a true front/back nine experience, though 18 finishes a little ways from the parking/hole 1 area.

Park has ample parking close to the course, adjacent to tee areas for holes 1 & 10, allowing you to start on either the front or back nine. Restrooms beside the parking area. Course map/scorecards at kiosk near short pad for hole 1.
Cons: Shule is thick to impenetrable in some places on the back 9. Navigation issue of missing hole 7 seems to have been resolved by placing a very obvious sign pointing to it on the trees behind the basket for hole 6, but it's still possible to miss the long tee area (and indeed, the entire long layout fairway) for hole 13 if you don't look carefully at the map -- there's a clear path leading away from the basket for 12, but if you take it you can only get to the short pad/fairway for 13. The long pad and fairway for 13 are reached by heading around a line of small trees behind the basket for 12, in the opposite direction from the visible path.

Hole 13 is unusual in that the fairways for the long and short layouts are completely different -- the short version is a tight line through the woods to the pin, while the long version is a completely open straight shot down a reasonably wide fairway with high grass to the left and thick shule to the right (between the long and short fairways) until just before you reach the pin location, which is tucked well back into the woods on the right at nearly a ninety degree angle. While the long version isn't a bad hole in the abstract, in many respects it's very similar to hole 11, which (though shorter) plays very much the same -- tee from near the beginning of a line of woods on the right with an open fairway and tall grass to the left, to a pin tucked into the woods on the right. Having two holes so similar to one another with only a single hole between them makes the long version of 13 feel somewhat repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Front nine rewards throwing far on several holes, without a lot of risk/reward choices -- you can be way off your line on most holes without hurting yourself too much (except on hole 7). Distance matters a lot less on the back nine, where control and shot-shaping are much more critical, and where thick and unforgiving shule lines the fairway on many holes. I'd sort of prefer a layout that mixed things up between these two different styles more, so that they came into play on the same hole at times or at least so that it were less all one or the other on each half, but that might have been tough to do given the available land/space and course flow/navigation considerations.

There was at least one discrepancy between the layout for Am Worlds and the course map here -- hole 17 had only one tee pad, which seemed to be the shorter of the two shown on the map.

All in all, this is a course worth playing if you're in the area; I didn't love it, but I didn't regret playing it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not as tight as I expected

1    4/5/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and short tees

Nice mix of open and wooded holes

Diverse course
Cons: Short tee pads

Poor signage

Very little elevation
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course. After hearing the Am Worlds are gonna swing through here, I planned to hit it this spring. Being another MOOD course, I expected it to be ridiculously tight. It wasn't.
Actually, the front nine to ten holes (with the exception of 6, I believe) are quite open. Uncharacteristic of the other courses they designed. The back nine is much more typical - tight and unforgiving. Throw soft as possible. The lines you need to hit back here are narrow at best.

The front is loaded with deuces. The back is full of chance. Ultimately, its a very balanced course.

Not much to speak of in terms of hazards - just tree's and tight fairways. No water or elevation or mandos or OB factors come to mind.

It's a serviceable local course but not a destination course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The Best to be

5+    12/18/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: BrianMtown20
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well designed course great job Ken Rollins. Trash cans are placed all over the course. I personally made two benches in 09' on holes 7 and 13. Hole-to-hole navigation signs are coming in the spring of 2010. The big navigation mistake is hole 6 to 7. Seven is just directly behind the sixes pin. It is a small trail. Also hole distance and layout signs will be in spring of 10'. THE BACK IS HARD and that is why a lot of people don't like the course but tuff S@*& that's disc golf. Hole 13 is one of the best holes in Ohio because it is hard. I have had birdies on it and I have taken 8's on it. It is very tight. The woods make the course. Hole 7 is a double hyzer and one of the only wooded holes on the front. The course will be worked on alot spring of 2010. I got a group of about 6 or 7 people ready to work in the spring on the course because of the 2010 AM worlds.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Quiet
Good Variety
Nice Layout
Newer Tee Pads
Ample Parking
Bathrooms in Park
Cons:
Very Short Tee Pads
Tee Signs (No Map, Distance, or Par Marked)
Small Navigation Issues
No Benches or Trashcans
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice sized and well rounded course. There are a variety of holes that vary in distance. Park can be a little hard to locate, but once you are there, the course is really easy to spot.

The front nine really vary in distance, but are mostly open. The designers did make good use of some matures trees in the fairways and near the baskets. Wind can be a huge factor on the front nine and can really carry your disc, fortunately there isn't a lot of rough and what is there is rather forgiving.

One navigation issues we had, which wasn't really that bad at all, was between hole 8 and 9. When you are at the basket for 8 you can see a tee pad directly to you right, just on the other side of the fenced in area in the park. This is the tee for hole 15. The tee for 9 is more towards the parking lot. Hole 9 and 10 play in the little grove next to the parking lot, and 11 is on the back side of the woods, near the baseball diamond.

The back nine are shorter and play in the woods. What the back nine lacks in distance it makes up for with tight technical shots. The fairways are tight and the rough is pretty hard to recover from. Its not too thick, discs are pretty easy to spot, but the trees can be thick and finding a route back out can be difficult. In my opinion the fairways could be opened up a bit more and a couple don't really have clear enough fairways to make a great intentional shot, in other words a couple "poke and hopes" on the course.

The course does have a couple blind shots where you might have to walk at least halfway down the fairway to spot the basket, but not so many that it is annoying. We also had a slight navigational issues once we finished up 18. We followed a huge path that was cut up into the woods that led back to the parking lot, but about 4 feet from the edge of the woods the path ended, and was blocked by a huge pile of brush and downed logs that we had to climb over. We didn't see the actual path out, so can't be much help there, but I can tell you not to follow the huge path that runs parallel to the fairway for 18 unless you want to climb through the brush pile. Another big con for me was the tee signs. All of the tees were marked with a sign, but the map of the hole was missing and no par, or distance was listed.

Overall the course played pretty well. It has a really good variety and plays nicely. If they could clean it up a bit, add some trash cans and benches it would really help with the overall look and feel of the course. The course could really use some newer, well longer, tee pads. Each tee pad was about 5 feet long and it was really hard to get a good run up. I really can't see this happening however because the tee pads are in really good condition. Another great addition to the course would be updating the tee signs with maps of each hole and especially mark the distance of each hole.

If you are in the area this is definitely a course worth checking out. It only take about an hour and fifteen minutes to an hour and half to play, so you will have plenty of time to check out some other courses in the area. As I stated before there are no trashcans throughout the course, so please remember to pack out what you pack in.

Update: Apparently we had a bit more navigation issue than we thought. When I was uploading the photos I realized that we missed hole #7 completely. I think that it must have been into the woods behind the basket for #6. From the basket of 6 you can see the tee for #8 right beside you, so we thought this was the next hole.
Update 2: Added some pros to the list.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/30/2006   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in nice city park. Front 9 easy to navigate, the back flows pretty well. Good baskets. It starts out by a creek, but it shouldn't come into play.
Cons: The front 9 is pretty easy, no real trouble or major length. The back is newer and much more difficult (and needs some maturity to make actual fairways.) The con for me is the extreme difference in the level of difficultly between the front and back.

This course was very muddy all over when I played it so take this into consideration if it has rained a lot.
Other Thoughts: [Original Review] -> This course was originally a 9 hole open course, and 9 more wooded holes were added later. I feel courses constructed this way just don't have the kind of continuity that a planned 18 hole course has.] -
Update-> I have been informed that the course was designed as an 18 hole course from the beginning, just in two 9-hole stages. However, this does not change my opinion that the front and back are completely different in style, and I personally prefer more of a back and forth mix between open and wooded.

The front 9 would make a great course for newer players or for the whole family. The back 9 had just been added last time I played it (2006).

*2nd Update- This course has apparently matured nicely as they are hosting Am Worlds in 2010. Hopefully I will get a chance to play it again sometime soon.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course offers a good variety of shots including technical and distance shots and both Hyzer and Anhyzer. Good flow and newly redisigned which offers some great improvements
Cons: A couple holes in the woods might be classified as poke and hope especially #13 and #17. Could be improved with just a couple trees removed. The tee pads being installed might be a little short on the open holes but should be sufficient on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads are currently being installed. Holes 1-5 are complete with both short and long tees. The long tees are very creative on the front nine and will be very fun to play. The long tees on the back nine looks to have just lengthened most holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center