Salisbury, MD
Schumaker Pond Share
Uploaded By: GLong Hole #7 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / 248ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Red Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Shumaker!

5+    8/19/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 Teepads & 2 Baskets allow for every kind of player from novice to pro to find difficulty at shumaker
Great use of the pond, roads, mandos, and hills to create difficulty.
Most holes have multiple tight routes
Great safari layout!
Best teepads of any course I've played.
Free!
Cons: Walkers/bikers/children at play. Patience is a virtue and while it doesnt bother me to skip a hole on a small course it could bother some disc golfers. People are used to disc golf at shumaker and will move out of the way usually or just ask politely. I've never had anyone become rude or refuse.

Hole eight yellow is close to children slides. Its easy enough to skip though its right next to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Close to gas stations/food. Have bathrooms and water fountain on site always pretty close by.

I truly enjoy every second I spend at shumaker. Its a sour patch kid, one day itll love you and give you the best score of your life and the next youll peg every tree, go in the road, miss your putt and roll down a hill. You'll learn patience and how to throw controlled lines at shumaker or fail miserably in the attempt.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Surprise

2-4    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Permanent red and yellow baskets on each hole.

Slightly wide and long rubber pads with excellent placement and drainage to the sides installed properly on level surface, not one single pad had divots, or imperfections around the earth that allowed you to approach from multiple sides.

Smart basket placement for red and yellow rated , a few options available off the tee-pad on lanes you would take towards the basket.

Excellent use of the land space

With 2 pads and 2 baskets offers 4 different ways to play each hole, increasing replay value.

This place will work on the parts of the game that matters most, placement and approach play and smart lane choices.

Beginners will enjoy seeing birdy options Advanced players will enjoy the many options to replay this course and lane/line opportunism for practice.

Water and elevation skip hazards will force careful placement if your running at the basket for ace runs.

Great signage , next tee signs.

Does not take long to play the course.

Very clean, no trash.

Restroom and water avail on site.
Cons: Park safety stops this from being a 4. Mandos attempt to correct this. Multiple people playing can inter lap fairways

Some may consider the length of the holes to be a con if your a fan of just throwing giant hyzers.

New players may get upset at some of the tight lanes and mando's on a few of the holes.

There is a playground on the site and some benches/walking paths and roadway which will come into consideration at times,


.
Other Thoughts: I got to play this course on accident was driving though to Chesapeake from pa and was a last minute choice since it was on the way, This was refreshing, played the course twice was no boring, I WISH WISH WISH this course was closer to me. Please if you are driving through do yourself a favor and get off the highway and play this. Hopefully there are not alot of people there when you are, see cons.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Best of the few courses I've played

1    9/13/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: nate11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've only been playing for four months, but this course is the best I have come across.

The water adds a great mental challenge to the beginning of the round. Luckily for me the water was only a few inches deep a couple feet from shore.

The distances and room for error are appropriate for each hole. The open holes are long and the short holes are tight or have some hazard. No holes were too easy or too hard playing from the long tees to the long baskets.

Despite the trees everywhere, there is very little underbrush to lose a disc. There are some thorns, but nothing that prevents finding a disc. Even discs in the water are easily retrievable.

Great baskets.

The course uses its little elevation change brilliantly. Baskets are placed on or near the hills to add another variable to the putt. Going for a long one putt might lead to a frustrating three if the hill takes it.

Once you find the first tee, finding the next tee from the basket is simple. The small arrows attached to the baskets are helpful.

Nice people. It was my first time playing the course and a local gave me a scorecard with the course layout in exchange for me reviewing the course.

Great location. Being located right off of 50 makes it a great place to play. I played on the way back from the beach with my girlfriend, who also called this course the best she has played.

The pond. It's massive. Though a bit dirty, it definitely adds to the round.

The signage is accurate and points out the location of the red tee relative to the yellow. This is helpful for the spot where there are 6 tees in a tiny area.

The mandos are clearly marked in almost all cases. The signs are bright to contrast with the trees, although one hole (10?) had the signs partially obscured by tree branches and were cardboard color against a tree background.

I like the two sets of tees AND baskets. Playing from near tees to far baskets and vice versa adds two intermediate difficulties to make the course feel new to those replaying it.
Cons: The biggest con is safety. Throws near the parking lot, near the playground, and near other fairways are routine. A tee shot of mine ricocheted off a tree and crossed over another player's disc on another hole. With the back 9 being more tightly wooded and less spacious, there is a significant chance to get hit by or hit someone with a disc. Be aware at all times. Some baskets are also located right along the road and walking trail.

The trees produce a lot of debris (pine cones, branches, etc.) that lays on the fairways. This isn't a big problem, just something my girlfriend noted.

Finding the first tee from the parking lot is a bit difficult the first time through. "It's by the big cowboy head." Great, but where is the big cowboy head?

I played during a weekday, but if this course is crowded, safety would be a major issue. Plan accordingly.

There is no elevation change on tee shots at all. What little elevation change is left for approach shots to maximize the effect the slope has on the course.
Other Thoughts: Some of the baskets are tightly guarded by trees.

I liked the short dog leg left hole with the mando (7?). I got a birdie due to throwing an overstable disc up in the air a bit and letting it stall out and take a sharp left turn. I ended up about 15 feet from the basket.

The basket on 14 I believe is a cool sight. The basket is in the open with about 40 feet behind it and then the pond. It makes focusing on the basket a bit more difficult knowing that a long miss could end up in the water if the hill grabs it.

I love the challenge that each hole has. Everything seemed to have the right level of difficulty and danger.

My rating for the course is a 4. Other people on the course can severely affect the enjoyment and safety of the course. If the playground is in use, forget about throwing at those baskets near it. Other than the potential for not being able to play some holes and to be hit with a disc, this is an excellent course. I would highly recommend playing it during off-peak hours.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time on the Pond!

5+    8/18/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 2 Tees and 2 Pins

Sign on all 18

Excellent mix of 'Mandos'

Easy to navigate

Good mix of narrow & open shots
Cons: Goose poop on 3, 4, & 5

Some throws are a little too close to the road and main parking lot


Other Thoughts: Always a good time at Schumaker Pond!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Flexible Course

2-4    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: TomZ
Played: 112  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and two baskets on each hole provide a great variety of play experience. Great for a group with mixed skill levels. Lots of trees, which means you have to aim carefully and hit your line.
Cons: Not much elevation change to work with, but it has been taken advantage of where possible.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 technical

1    5/6/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very tight technical course. the water plays part in about 6 holes. if your disc doesn't go to far in the water it is shallow enough to retrieve.
Cons: lots of trees in the way. i hate trees. also there is a lot of pedestrians. with it being in a city park it is in the middle of a city park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent variety, incorporates many different types of terrain, including water very nicely. I would definitely recommend this course to anybody, because it presents a challeng to newbies and veterans alike. I love this course bbecause of its variety and flow, and for the fact that I can come play a quick round when I want in a nice atmosphere, and not have to allow a day for it. In fact, if you are eplaying solo, you can probably get in a round in 45 minutes. Water holes present nice risk/reward situations.
Cons: people other than disc golfers are present during some parts of the day. However, if someone is obstructing your throw, you could go the the other pin position if it is only a casual round.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the bathroom facilities is nice (open when course designer,Chris Roberts, is there), and local players were very helpful and knowledgeable. I would come to play this course again for sure, and it's not too far from the "beaten path."

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/3/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **I played Gold tees to Gold pins**

-Dual Tees and Dual pins for every hole, makes lots of good combinations
-Rubber tee pads! I prefer these.
-Signs are very nice, though they really don't give an accurate representation of all the trees on the back nine
-Good use of Mandos.
-Loved #3. I had never thrown from a dock before and that was great fun despite the goose poop.
Cons: -The course is extremely tight
-#8 should be removed from the course all together for safety reason, throwing over a parking lot to a basket that is in the middle of a play ground. I took the safe route and 2 putted just so I wouldn't hit any toddlers that were playing there
-On the back nine, "fairways" were cluttered with trees and random picnic tables. Not very friendly to beginners or novices
-Holes down by the water were covered in goose poop but there isn't much to do about that.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time on the first 7 holes after that was just frustration with the course design. Remove #8 and move some picnic tabes and knock down a few trees and you would have a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a 4 star course killed by safety issues

1    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads and two baskets on every hole
There was a pro shop in the men's bathroom selling discs, bags, clothes, and baskets.
Excellent tee signs on the far pins.
Arrows on the bottom of the baskets aided to smooth flow and few navigational issues.
Nice attempt at signature holes. The far tee for 3 is on the dock, the far tee for 6 is slightly down a hill, and 11 has dual mandos to squeeze between.
The bench on 16 serves as an ace board.
The course director and his dog (Air Bear) are awesome. He is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: LOTS OF MAJOR SAFETY CONCERNS really hurt this otherwise nice course:
6 throws dangerously close to the road and 7 throws towards the main parking lot. 8 throws over the parking lot and the worst offense is hole 8's far basket is placed in the middle of the playground (see pic). Hole 9 throws parallel with the road with both baskets being just a few feet from the road. Hole 10's basket is in the middle of 3 picnic tables (closest table is 11 feet from basket). There are also many times where you can easily throw onto someone else on another hole.
Other Thoughts: Course is just past the waterfowl art museum and just minutes from the zoo.
If you are looking for a nice place to play on a Saturday afternoon, this is not for you. This course needs to be played early in the morning on weekdays so you can play it safely.
According to the course designer this course was designed after Warwick park in NY, but less intense.
Chance of disc loss in the water on holes 2-4
Par is attainable (I deuced 1,5,6,18 *long tee to short basket), but there is a challenge present.
The course design is better than most 3.5 rated courses, but the other park activities make too many holes unplayable or risky.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Alot in a little

2-4    6/1/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you come up to the park you wonder how there is going to be an 18 hole DG course because it seems like a very narrow strip of land for a park. They fit it in but just barely!

-easy to navigate
-water holes make nice risk/reward
-clean and safe park
-friendly and helpful local players
-despite not being a huge course it can still be challenging
-bathrooms are centrally located and were very clean
-the throw from the dock was really fun
Cons: There are some things to watch out for:

- lots of goose poo
-rubber tees get slippery

*BIGGEST CON*
-safety hazards:
some holes play near parking areas, roads, and playgrounds
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly suprised with Schumaker but overall it is just way too squeezed in. I like the "Lost Disc" box, I hear when they drain the pond they brave the mud and go get the lost discs and try to get them back to their owner (nice job guys). I will be back sometime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.