Salisbury, MD 
Schumaker Pond Share
Uploaded By: GLong Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 192ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Unexpected Surprise

2-4    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Permanent red and yellow baskets on each hole.

Slightly wide and long rubber pads with excellent placement and drainage to the sides installed properly on level surface, not one single pad had divots, or imperfections around the earth that allowed you to approach from multiple sides.

Smart basket placement for red and yellow rated , a few options available off the tee-pad on lanes you would take towards the basket.

Excellent use of the land space

With 2 pads and 2 baskets offers 4 different ways to play each hole, increasing replay value.

This place will work on the parts of the game that matters most, placement and approach play and smart lane choices.

Beginners will enjoy seeing birdy options Advanced players will enjoy the many options to replay this course and lane/line opportunism for practice.

Water and elevation skip hazards will force careful placement if your running at the basket for ace runs.

Great signage , next tee signs.

Does not take long to play the course.

Very clean, no trash.

Restroom and water avail on site.
Cons: Park safety stops this from being a 4. Mandos attempt to correct this. Multiple people playing can inter lap fairways

Some may consider the length of the holes to be a con if your a fan of just throwing giant hyzers.

New players may get upset at some of the tight lanes and mando's on a few of the holes.

There is a playground on the site and some benches/walking paths and roadway which will come into consideration at times,


.
Other Thoughts: I got to play this course on accident was driving though to Chesapeake from pa and was a last minute choice since it was on the way, This was refreshing, played the course twice was no boring, I WISH WISH WISH this course was closer to me. Please if you are driving through do yourself a favor and get off the highway and play this. Hopefully there are not alot of people there when you are, see cons.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Flexible Course

2-4    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: TomZ
Played: 123  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and two baskets on each hole provide a great variety of play experience. Great for a group with mixed skill levels. Lots of trees, which means you have to aim carefully and hit your line.
Cons: Not much elevation change to work with, but it has been taken advantage of where possible.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent variety, incorporates many different types of terrain, including water very nicely. I would definitely recommend this course to anybody, because it presents a challeng to newbies and veterans alike. I love this course bbecause of its variety and flow, and for the fact that I can come play a quick round when I want in a nice atmosphere, and not have to allow a day for it. In fact, if you are eplaying solo, you can probably get in a round in 45 minutes. Water holes present nice risk/reward situations.
Cons: people other than disc golfers are present during some parts of the day. However, if someone is obstructing your throw, you could go the the other pin position if it is only a casual round.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the bathroom facilities is nice (open when course designer,Chris Roberts, is there), and local players were very helpful and knowledgeable. I would come to play this course again for sure, and it's not too far from the "beaten path."

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/3/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **I played Gold tees to Gold pins**

-Dual Tees and Dual pins for every hole, makes lots of good combinations
-Rubber tee pads! I prefer these.
-Signs are very nice, though they really don't give an accurate representation of all the trees on the back nine
-Good use of Mandos.
-Loved #3. I had never thrown from a dock before and that was great fun despite the goose poop.
Cons: -The course is extremely tight
-#8 should be removed from the course all together for safety reason, throwing over a parking lot to a basket that is in the middle of a play ground. I took the safe route and 2 putted just so I wouldn't hit any toddlers that were playing there
-On the back nine, "fairways" were cluttered with trees and random picnic tables. Not very friendly to beginners or novices
-Holes down by the water were covered in goose poop but there isn't much to do about that.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time on the first 7 holes after that was just frustration with the course design. Remove #8 and move some picnic tabes and knock down a few trees and you would have a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Course

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Minnick85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Scenic, Course Very Fluid, Mix of Challenges, Few Mandos
Other Thoughts: I thought on a Saturday afternoon I might run into a few veterans to pick their brains but I think Monday nights may be better. I did run into a nice guy at the local Dicks Sporting Goods as I was looking at discs and he gave me some advice and sent me to a great little bike shop by the college where the guy helped me find what I was looking for.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.