Salisbury, MD 
Schumaker Pond Share
Uploaded By: GLong Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 219ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Gold Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Shumaker!

5+    8/19/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 Teepads & 2 Baskets allow for every kind of player from novice to pro to find difficulty at shumaker
Great use of the pond, roads, mandos, and hills to create difficulty.
Most holes have multiple tight routes
Great safari layout!
Best teepads of any course I've played.
Free!
Cons: Walkers/bikers/children at play. Patience is a virtue and while it doesnt bother me to skip a hole on a small course it could bother some disc golfers. People are used to disc golf at shumaker and will move out of the way usually or just ask politely. I've never had anyone become rude or refuse.

Hole eight yellow is close to children slides. Its easy enough to skip though its right next to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Close to gas stations/food. Have bathrooms and water fountain on site always pretty close by.

I truly enjoy every second I spend at shumaker. Its a sour patch kid, one day itll love you and give you the best score of your life and the next youll peg every tree, go in the road, miss your putt and roll down a hill. You'll learn patience and how to throw controlled lines at shumaker or fail miserably in the attempt.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Best of the few courses I've played

1    9/13/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: nate11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've only been playing for four months, but this course is the best I have come across.

The water adds a great mental challenge to the beginning of the round. Luckily for me the water was only a few inches deep a couple feet from shore.

The distances and room for error are appropriate for each hole. The open holes are long and the short holes are tight or have some hazard. No holes were too easy or too hard playing from the long tees to the long baskets.

Despite the trees everywhere, there is very little underbrush to lose a disc. There are some thorns, but nothing that prevents finding a disc. Even discs in the water are easily retrievable.

Great baskets.

The course uses its little elevation change brilliantly. Baskets are placed on or near the hills to add another variable to the putt. Going for a long one putt might lead to a frustrating three if the hill takes it.

Once you find the first tee, finding the next tee from the basket is simple. The small arrows attached to the baskets are helpful.

Nice people. It was my first time playing the course and a local gave me a scorecard with the course layout in exchange for me reviewing the course.

Great location. Being located right off of 50 makes it a great place to play. I played on the way back from the beach with my girlfriend, who also called this course the best she has played.

The pond. It's massive. Though a bit dirty, it definitely adds to the round.

The signage is accurate and points out the location of the red tee relative to the yellow. This is helpful for the spot where there are 6 tees in a tiny area.

The mandos are clearly marked in almost all cases. The signs are bright to contrast with the trees, although one hole (10?) had the signs partially obscured by tree branches and were cardboard color against a tree background.

I like the two sets of tees AND baskets. Playing from near tees to far baskets and vice versa adds two intermediate difficulties to make the course feel new to those replaying it.
Cons: The biggest con is safety. Throws near the parking lot, near the playground, and near other fairways are routine. A tee shot of mine ricocheted off a tree and crossed over another player's disc on another hole. With the back 9 being more tightly wooded and less spacious, there is a significant chance to get hit by or hit someone with a disc. Be aware at all times. Some baskets are also located right along the road and walking trail.

The trees produce a lot of debris (pine cones, branches, etc.) that lays on the fairways. This isn't a big problem, just something my girlfriend noted.

Finding the first tee from the parking lot is a bit difficult the first time through. "It's by the big cowboy head." Great, but where is the big cowboy head?

I played during a weekday, but if this course is crowded, safety would be a major issue. Plan accordingly.

There is no elevation change on tee shots at all. What little elevation change is left for approach shots to maximize the effect the slope has on the course.
Other Thoughts: Some of the baskets are tightly guarded by trees.

I liked the short dog leg left hole with the mando (7?). I got a birdie due to throwing an overstable disc up in the air a bit and letting it stall out and take a sharp left turn. I ended up about 15 feet from the basket.

The basket on 14 I believe is a cool sight. The basket is in the open with about 40 feet behind it and then the pond. It makes focusing on the basket a bit more difficult knowing that a long miss could end up in the water if the hill grabs it.

I love the challenge that each hole has. Everything seemed to have the right level of difficulty and danger.

My rating for the course is a 4. Other people on the course can severely affect the enjoyment and safety of the course. If the playground is in use, forget about throwing at those baskets near it. Other than the potential for not being able to play some holes and to be hit with a disc, this is an excellent course. I would highly recommend playing it during off-peak hours.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

2-4    8/13/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: brian j
Played: 75  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent tees and baskets. Also good use of the land and the course is very well maintained by the local college club (Salisbury State)
Cons: Holes are not well marked and a few holes as mentioned are close to a tot lot. I think they're getting ready to fixe the signage since they had a sample on the 18th hole.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very diverse gem

7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 tees and 2 baskets on every hole. Nice use of fast greens and elevated tees. Both wooded and open holes, but mostly wooded. All tee pads are rubber. Played in a slight drizzle and never lost my footing. Wooded holes are very shady and much cooler during the summer heat. Easy to navigate. Bathrooms at park. Disc sold next door at the museum.
Cons: A couple of baskets were near a tot lot, that may be unplayable if the park is crowded. Holes #3 and #4 around the pond had a lot of wildlife (geese, swans, etc) that called for some very cautious throws as not to hit them.
Other Thoughts: Very reminiscent of Bayville Park in Va Beach. 4 different configurations make this a very attracted course for the beginner all the way up to the pros. Long tee on #3 is sweet. Directions provided are perfect and easy to follow. If you are at any of the Delmarva beaches, drive west about an hour and play this gem.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.