Salisbury, MD 
Schumaker Pond Share
Uploaded By: GLong Hole #14 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 223ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 a 4 star course killed by safety issues

1    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads and two baskets on every hole
There was a pro shop in the men's bathroom selling discs, bags, clothes, and baskets.
Excellent tee signs on the far pins.
Arrows on the bottom of the baskets aided to smooth flow and few navigational issues.
Nice attempt at signature holes. The far tee for 3 is on the dock, the far tee for 6 is slightly down a hill, and 11 has dual mandos to squeeze between.
The bench on 16 serves as an ace board.
The course director and his dog (Air Bear) are awesome. He is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: LOTS OF MAJOR SAFETY CONCERNS really hurt this otherwise nice course:
6 throws dangerously close to the road and 7 throws towards the main parking lot. 8 throws over the parking lot and the worst offense is hole 8's far basket is placed in the middle of the playground (see pic). Hole 9 throws parallel with the road with both baskets being just a few feet from the road. Hole 10's basket is in the middle of 3 picnic tables (closest table is 11 feet from basket). There are also many times where you can easily throw onto someone else on another hole.
Other Thoughts: Course is just past the waterfowl art museum and just minutes from the zoo.
If you are looking for a nice place to play on a Saturday afternoon, this is not for you. This course needs to be played early in the morning on weekdays so you can play it safely.
According to the course designer this course was designed after Warwick park in NY, but less intense.
Chance of disc loss in the water on holes 2-4
Par is attainable (I deuced 1,5,6,18 *long tee to short basket), but there is a challenge present.
The course design is better than most 3.5 rated courses, but the other park activities make too many holes unplayable or risky.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Alot in a little

2-4    6/1/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you come up to the park you wonder how there is going to be an 18 hole DG course because it seems like a very narrow strip of land for a park. They fit it in but just barely!

-easy to navigate
-water holes make nice risk/reward
-clean and safe park
-friendly and helpful local players
-despite not being a huge course it can still be challenging
-bathrooms are centrally located and were very clean
-the throw from the dock was really fun
Cons: There are some things to watch out for:

- lots of goose poo
-rubber tees get slippery

*BIGGEST CON*
-safety hazards:
some holes play near parking areas, roads, and playgrounds
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly suprised with Schumaker but overall it is just way too squeezed in. I like the "Lost Disc" box, I hear when they drain the pond they brave the mud and go get the lost discs and try to get them back to their owner (nice job guys). I will be back sometime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Danger to Pedestrians

1    4/1/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Two permanent baskets and two tee pads (rubber) per hole. Each are marked either Blue or Gold. Gold tees play to gold basket, blue tees play to blue basket.
- Tee signs are simple but effective, and very easy to follow.
- Not much walking between holes. They are crammed on top of each other.
- Mandos and a plethora of trees throughout the course provide moderatly high challenge.
- Signature hole: Hole 3's gold Tee pad is on the wooden dock throwing back to shore.
Cons: - 18 holes each with 2 baskets in such a tiny wooded area is overkill. This course would have been better suited for 9 holes spaced further apart.
- You will cross fairways unless your disc flies the perfect indended line.
- Holes 9, 12, 13, and 14 present an opportunity to throw your disc straight into traffic on Schumaker Drive, where traffic was steady between 25 and 40 mph.
- Almost every hole plays near/around playground equipment or amenities. For how wooded this course is, discs can easily ricochet off a tree and injur playing children or observing adults.
Other Thoughts: For a park with some of the best Disc Golf equipment i've seen installed (baskets, tee signs and tee pads are spectacular), this is a course i don't want to play again. This courses layout kept me from concentrating on my throws and instead had me concentrating on where the pedestrian traffic was at all times. It is entirely too distracting for me as a beginner.

My opinion, Shumaker Pond DGC would make more sense being a 9-holer with two tee pads and two baskets per hole, spaced further from the playground equipment and Schumaker Road. Trying to put 18 in the limitted space between the lake and road created many hazzards for both the disc golfer and non-disc golfer. Half the holes i wouldn't dare throw a drive if children were using the playground equipment. If i had children, i would never bring them to play at this park in fear of them being hit by a disc. On 4 holes, you will have to look up and down Schumaker Road before driving to make sure no cars are coming or pedestrians walking the sidewalks.

In response to this review, I've been told "your concern is realistic but still is a bit exaggerated... needlessly scaring people away from playing there." My intention is not to scare people away from this course. My intention is to inform the anticipating player what to expect without exaggeration. I'm sure I'd play this course repeatedly if I lived nearby, learning the best days and times to play (I still wouldn't rate it higher). However, throwers lacking dependable accuracy will have many challenges. When holes are so close to other park amenities, sidewalks, and roads accidents can occur. Where there is playground equipment, children will stray and wonder (Check out Hole 9's pictures on this site). I'd rather not play a course where i can't concentrate fully on my throws and have to worry about making sure pedestrian traffic is fully aware of my potential (bad) play. Players with exemplary mid-range accuracy will have an easier outing.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Throw off the Dock!

1    9/17/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Incredible use of limited space. There are 72 layouts crammed into a sliver of land between a huge pretty pond and a street. There are 2 baskets and 2 tees with bright gold baskets and gold tees as the longer course and brilliant red baskets and red tees as the shorts. Very easy to recognize this obvious design. (some park's first timers get confused of which tee or basket to use). Despite the efficient use of space the course offers a lot to like. Well constructed big rubber tees on all tees. A couple more longer open drives in the latter 9. Plenty of technical holes. Some fast greens with the lake serving as backdrop. The distances usually work for the land given, any longer and it would become a reckless hazzard. Any shorter, and you would be bored. Challenge is here due to the trees and a few fast greens. There are plenty of food options nearby. What makes this course a must play is hole #3, the chance to throw off a dock over an expanse of water to a basket nestled up a wooded bank on the distant shoreline. This is a once in a lifetime type of hole and makes the trip here worthwhile. Talk about intimidation......if it was just a grass field and not a deeeeep pond it would still be a fun hole but standing there and seeing water all around is just quite a treat. It's a good play if your heading to Ocean City,Md area from the Balt/DC area.
Cons: It's tight and at times it's tough to relax as there is potential for conflicts with 2 shots playing over parking lots...and a slew of others playing with the street nearby. Theres a little swing set/play area that is very close to some baskets and tees. Some park benches line the shoreline of the pond as well. While the trees are a great challenge at times it's a bit tight for the distance required to throw(16) or maybe I'm not a fan of lay up golf. Definite chance of lost disc to water on holes 2,3 and 4. I was there in mid September and the bathrooms were already locked for season...can you say God Bless Burger King! You never feel like your at a disc golf course as it is a multi-use park and there are few areas where you ever escape the street view. Mandos are here. I know some don't like mandos.(definetely needed to ensure safer play) Basket 1 is right next to bathroom building! Someone could take a lump after taking a dump!
Other Thoughts: Excellent use of a pretty sliver of land next to a great pond. Very odd to see 6 tee pads clustered so close to one another around tee 17. When you drive in the park will be on your left...you will see some baskets from the road..park near the bathroom building but park closer to street so you don't risk being in way of elevated tee that fires over lot(it's a small lot relax) at rear of bathroom building you will see basket #1, If your looking at pond the #1 tee will be to your right closer to the pond and there is a silly cowboy head on a post that serves as info and tee #1 area. Go meet the cowboy and enjoy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Two by Two

2-4    8/19/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two (red and yellow, yellow longer) baskets, two teepads, signs on every hole. .Rubber teepads are long, wide, and flat. Easy course to follow for a first-time visitor. Practice basket. Not far from petrol and food.
Cons:
Yellow basket for #8 is mere inches from a child's playground ride. Hole #10 also plays near playground. If other park visitors opt to visit the pond, hole #2, and possibly #'s 3&4, would have some interference. Not sure how often the open space that makes up #12's and #13's fairways is used by non-golfers. Throw too far left on #2/14, too far right on #3/4, too far period on #14/17, and you may find water.
Other Thoughts:
Course is part of a multi-use park.. Fairly flat. While most holes are in the woods, this is not a deep-woods course, and the chance of losing a disc is relatively low, unless you find the pond. A few chances to air it out over open fairways. Nice blend of left, right, no turning holes. Fair fairways and/or throwing lanes, except 16-yellow seemed a bit over-the-top (straight, hard left a few feet, straight again). Teepads are easy to find from the basket just completed, and typically are not too far from each other. The pair of baskets on each hole are usually about 40' apart, but a couple of holes have them more like a 100' difference.

For this review, I played the course twice, both times from the shorter teepad, once to the short baskets, once to the longs. For the short-to-short, nothing was over 300', and 2/3rds of the holes were under 200'. Playing to the longer baskets pushed most holes over 200', and a few over 300'.

Solid course. The dual tee/basket combination gives you a lot of choices here. Trap Pond, about hour away, is also dual tee/basket, and quite a bit longer. Lots of options for the locals.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Course

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Minnick85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Scenic, Course Very Fluid, Mix of Challenges, Few Mandos
Other Thoughts: I thought on a Saturday afternoon I might run into a few veterans to pick their brains but I think Monday nights may be better. I did run into a nice guy at the local Dicks Sporting Goods as I was looking at discs and he gave me some advice and sent me to a great little bike shop by the college where the guy helped me find what I was looking for.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of MD's Newest

2-4    7/24/2008   2/1/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Something that makes all the difference when it comes to the success of a DGC is the people attached to it. Schumaker is lucky to have Chris Roberts as its mover and shaker. The course is located on MD's Eastern peninsula a lttle north of Ocean City and occupies a fairly modest sized city park with an ~10-15 acre pond. Water comes into play on 3-4 holes on the front nine, and is comprised of two nine hole loops that start and finish near a central parking area.
The course is mostly flat, and occupies a mostly (pine) wooded area, but given the sort of plain landscape - the course has decent variety (multiple tees and pins) and flows very well. The local parks have even let the course pro set up a little pro shop using the storage room of the bath house, so if you're there on a weekend, you've got a good chance of picking up a replacement for that disc you just chunked in the pond.
Cons: The park is not exclusive to DG, so there is the inevitable potential for conflict with picnicers or walkers. And there are a couple holes that bring the parking lot and an adjacent road into play.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is an excellent novice design effort. Good use of the property given the limitations. Not too tight, or too short, or too long. An excellent place for teaching DG to the uninitiated. A nice place to stop coming or going from the beach, or as a day trip from the DC Metro area. I'd give Schumaker a hearty thumbs up, and look forward to playing there again soon.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/7/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: Huck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As everyone has said it is a pretty good use of the space available. There are a nice variety of shots to be made. Not too much interaction between fairways.
Cons: Signage needs to be improved. There are a few shots that go over teh parking lot or near where kids play and I think the 2 water holes are brutal for beginners and some lefties. It only has one "nonsense hole" (i.e. we had to make a hole and this is what we came up with) but 1 is really too many.
Other Thoughts: When the park is not crowded it is a fun course to play. For more advanced players it is a great putter and mid range course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: GREAT USE OF LAND AVAILABLE
2 TEES AND 2 BASKETS ON EVERY HOLE
RUBBER TEES
NOT MUCH WALKING BETWEEN HOLES
Cons: HARD TO FIND FIRST TEE BOX AND SUBSEQUENT HOLES
SOME BASKETS HARD TO SEE
COULD NOT BRING KIDS IN STROLLER (TOO HARD TO PUSH)
Other Thoughts: PLAYED AT ABOUT 7 IN MORNING SO NOBODY IN PARK, CEPT OTHER GROUP OF PLAYERS. GLAD THEY WERE THERE OR ELSE I WOULD HAVE BEEN LOST A COUPLE OF TIMES
VERY SHORT COURSE BUT GOOD USE OF LAND (SOME HILLS, WOODS, LAKE, OPEN FLAT SPACE)

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

2-4    8/13/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: brian j
Played: 70  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent tees and baskets. Also good use of the land and the course is very well maintained by the local college club (Salisbury State)
Cons: Holes are not well marked and a few holes as mentioned are close to a tot lot. I think they're getting ready to fixe the signage since they had a sample on the 18th hole.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.