Neillsville, WI 
Schuster Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great Course!!

1    7/6/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: nin1002
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I recently moved to this area and live about 15 minutes from this course. I believe the course would get more love, but the fact of the matter is, unless you live in the immediate area, it is very doubtful you would just be "in the area" to play this course and it is most certainly not a destination course. With that out of the way, there are many positives here. There are 15 holes, and almost all of them play unique to each other. Traffic and other players are almost a non-issue. The only area where it can possibly get to be problematic is on hole 12 with a pavilion that can have gatherings going on it it. Speaking of hole 12, this has to be my favorite hole on the course. If you do not make it through the alley and into the grass next to the pavilion, you are almost certainly guaranteed a trip down the rather deep ditch. It's a beautiful and pretty shot to tee off on. The holes are unique with right curves, left curves, elevation, risk/reward elements, very small streams (less than 12 inches of water). The course is well shaded, well marked, quiet and clean.
Cons: There are not a lot of cons to this course in my opinion, and the ones I have are not deal breakers. The baskets are indeed depreciated. Honestly....who cares. I have played this course maybe half a dozen times with a buddy or two, and I don't think the depreciated baskets ever cost anyone a stroke more or less than any other course I've played where once in a while you just skim the chains and it is what it is. The first eight holes are very short (less than 150'). I really am not a fan of hole 11 as there is really no reward for your drive as it is a hidden alley to shoot into and you have to land it on a foot trail perhaps six feet wide 150' out.
Other Thoughts: The only people who will read this review are locals or perhaps other Wisconsinites making a road trip out of the courses here, Abbotsford, Stanley, Dorcester, and certainly Marshfield. And each and every one of those cities have great courses I think that are all distinctly unique to each other. Neilsville cannot be replicated, and it has a ton of personality to it that is is certainly worth making a pit stop here if you are passing through to somewhere else. It is nice if you have a buddy you are playing with to play a "best of 3 here" as it's a bit of a trek to the next course wherever that may be and the course is very short and you will play it very fast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of WI's first.

2-4    6/15/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 203  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2015
Pros: Concrete tee pads on all of the holes. Though hole 4's can't really be called a tee pad, more like a tee block since it's about 2 feet by 3 feet. the rest are small but sizable enough for these holes. Baskets on every hole, though many are in very poor shape. Park area available was used to the best of its ability. Navigation is sketchy for first time players. Hole 1 starts on the north side of the pavilion with 2 being across the street to the north. Multiple opportunities for ace runs. Holes extremely short in front nine. A small creek comes into play on numerous holes on the front nine. This is one of the original disc golf courses in WI so the short distances can somewhat be attributed to this.There are added on holes in the playground section of the park I would guess. These newer holes over some better distance which rounds out the course more evenly. Solid wooden tee signs, with hole number, basic hole layout and distance. Tons of ace runs. There's a pretty decent bit of elevation, tight tight fairways and thick rough and rollaway potential too.
Cons: Baskets! All baskets are present, however, about 6 or 7 must be homemade that catch terribly. I've had quite a few nice putts land in the bottom cage and actually fall through the bottom. The rest of the baskets are Mach looking pins that catch just fine though. Distance is a joke on a few signs. Hole 4 says it's 131' I believe and it can't be more than 70'. Many other park activities come into play on many of the 15 holes on this course. Ridiculously short holes. Baskets in horrendous shape on original layout. Not that It's ever too busy here, but if it was, there would be major issues with hole overlap, causing safety concerns to golfers and park users alike. It appears they use chickenwire to patch up baskets as well. A couple extremely short holes, bordering on absurd. Playground and volleyball courts come into play on 3 holes and a pavilion and walking trail can come into play on 4 others, which can be a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: One of the first disc golf courses in WI, and you can tell. EXREMELY short on what I would guess is the original layout. It's nice that they added length with the additional holes. However I prefer the original tight wooded holes. It's actually challenging to hit your line through the tight lanes and not way overthrow the pin.

 Shuster and Sweet

1    3/20/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) I am a sucker for short tight and technical courses . . . so I was hooked right away.

2) Elevation change is essential to this design . . . it makes the tight wooded holes even more fun and challenging.

3) Nice use of the flowing river and also what looks like a drainageway on the first few holes . . . not always running water, but I thin it adds come character to the holes.

4) Good variety in tree usage and foliage density . . . some slightly more open with key trees, some tight tight tight and technical, some parklike holes with turfed areas and only a couple of obstacles to avoid.

5) Decent concrete teepads . . . always a plus . . .especially in winter.

6) SIgns have Hole #, Par, Distance and the holes are short enough you can usually figure out the general layout of the hole from the tee.

7) Challenge is everpresent even on the open holes . . . the wooded holes might require a little luck, but if you execute a good shot you will be reqrded usually.

Cons: 1) Requires a little too much luck on a few shots . . .I wouldn't recommend cutting trees down and opening the course right up, but you do need luck on a few shots to avoid a couple late trees.

2) Baskets are homemade and aren't just the quality I would like to see, but this is an old park and a small town so it will do just fine for here.

3) No garbage cans available, but the course seemed pretty clean regardless.

4) A couple of dangerous areas for park users, vehicles, etc . . .it is an old course when less land was needed back in the day but not anymore, perhaps some screens wether natural or unnatural should be put up . . . or baskets or tees moved.

5) A few areas where compaction and erosion are taking place . . . all in all not bad, but it is noticable . . . probably because it is an old old course.

6) Missing basket on either #12 or #15. . . it hink #12 was missing so we played to #15 instead.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course . . . old, historic, wooded, technical, elevation, creek/drainageways, and lots of trees . . . all in all it has enough to bring me back . . . nothing so memorable to make it an unmissable hole, but when you hit your line and park a few of the baskets you will remember that shot you executed perfectly. That is rewarding too!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great signs with hole number, par, and distance clearly marked.
-Beautiful scenery
-Almost all holes have little stickers on the basket pointing to where the next tee is.
-All of the tee pads except for one are very large concrete tee pads.
-The course is very clean and well kept.
Good mix of very wooded and moderately wooded holes.
Cons: -The pars provided are way too high for such a small course.
-No garbage cans throughout the course.
-Baskets are very old and only have one row of chains.
-Holes are very short.
-Hole 15 gets very close to children's play equipment.
Other Thoughts: It is one of the original courses in the state of Wisconsin. The holes are very short but it is a very fun course to play. The course has lots of history but if you are looking for a challenging course look someplace else.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 recent upgrade

2-4    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 765  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Recently (2008) added 3 holes; as well as new/longer tees on other finishing holes.
Cons: Very short tees on most of the original nine. More than once, a family reunion type event at the pavilion has brought people into play.
Other Thoughts: Installed in 1988, so, one of original courses in state. Therefore, old style course with lots of holes under 300 foot. Some decent elevation and woods provide decent challenge. Play this one because of historical value and to see a nice park. If you're after championship caliber, this is not the place.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.