Disc Golf Center
Cary, NC 
Scottish Hills Share
Uploaded By: aggreen Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 138ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket: New basket vs. old basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    3/3/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's nine holes here and three that are surprisingly decent. The last three holes are in the woods and they have decent length and difficulty and allow players to throw a good line. They wouldn't be out of place on the many Triangle-area courses that play short and tight. Fairly technical, there are some lines that can be thrown on them. Additionally, the ninth hole may be the shortest par-four in America.

It makes the course work well as an introductory course. The first set of holes will get kids throwing at baskets and eventually they'll wander across the greenway and see what the game is really like. It's not a bad concept and for a local neighborhood course, it probably works fairly well.
Cons: Still those first six baskets are just short tosses back and forth across an open field. Three basets would have covered the same area without crossing fairways(though I doubt that's an issue) at half the cost. There are no tees, really, just worn out areas with small posts marking it as a place to throw from.

In essence, it's a three-hole course, that would be in the 2.0 range if there were nine of them and 2.5 if there were eighteen, plus a small practice area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fine beginners course

1    1/5/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First 6 holes are short, but reasonable. Hole 4 has to be 80 feet, so go for the ace! Last 3 are a bit short as well, but are decent wooded holes.
Cons: Most baskets are very low to the ground for some reason. The last 3 are apparently handmade. 7 is fine, 8's chains are plastic, and 9 is truly wtf material. A metal square with a few fixed chains in the middle. Hard to find 7 from 6. They advertise a 10th hole but we couldn't find it.
Other Thoughts: The first 6 are at least playable if you're in the area. The last 3 are pretty funny to see, especially the "baskets". Think of it as an adventure.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for Practice

5+    6/8/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: DaDiscDude
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Variety of shot types
Easy 1st course
Ace possibilities
They provide discs if family wants to play
4th Of July Tournament
Cons: GREENWAY IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION
HOLES 7-8-9-10 ARE NOT ACCESSIBLE.
Fairways cross
Only #2 and #5 need a driver
Tees aren't easily found
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Triangle and you play disc golf, sign the family up for the pool, and you can play disc golf.

Needs work

5+    10/6/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: Chain_Bomber
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean
Easy for newbies
Decent Layout
First 5/6 holes are always groomed and the grass is nice and short.
Cons: Baskets are too short (height and distance)
Fairways cross
Lack of hole markers
Lack of true tee boxes
Lack of a basket on 9
Other Thoughts: Even though I am just starting out, there is only on hole that I can open up on and let one rip.
#7 is a long hole, but I am still not sure where to tee off from but its ok.

A little bit of work and some minimal money this could be a decent course. I like that is like 2 blocks from my house. I will play here a bunch just because its close and it will let me practice my accuracy.

Update:
Looks like some of the holes (7-8-9) for sure have new tee makers. Number 9 is still missing an actual basket. Again i think this could be a good course with some effort. Heck if they wanted help i would volunteer and work for free to make it a better course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Waste Your time

1    12/15/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: All Back Hand
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: New Baskets on some holes. Some room to make up new tee positions and make up a few better holes using basket locations. No traffic.
Cons: Too small a piece of land for disc golf. Volleyball net in the middle of the field. Could never play during summer months unless a member. Current tee pads make every hole under 150'.
Other Thoughts: 7 and 8 were your typical short technical wood holes that require accuracy and were the only holes I would consider worth playing as they were designed. This course is basically two shorter 200' wood holes and a couple baskets on the outside of an open field. We went for about 30 minutes and just messed around with the baskets from random tee locations. Don't waste your time.

 Triangle's only "green-level" course. New baskets.

2-4    12/14/2010   12/14/2010
Review By: aggreen
Played: 135  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #1 through #7 have new baskets. #7 is actually a fairly challenging hole - wooded and requires a solid, slight right, shot.
It is a great course for kids and beginners (which has been stated already), but still requires some accurate throws on #1, #7 and #8.
Holes #1 and #2 have gravel tees, which are actually pretty good.
Cons: Basket heights are very low, which can affect putting greatly.
There is one instance of crossing fairways - which can be a con with traffic. That said, there seems to be none. While we played it in the winter, the activities that would result from the amenities that the recreational club possesses during "in-season" (summer) could interrupt course play. There is a multi-purpose field that the course utilizes in holes #2 through #6.
The sign after hole 6 states there are "7 to 10" holes across the path. From what we determined, there is no hole #10.
Hole #8 has a poor catching, homemade, basket - had a few pass-throughs in our multiple rounds on this one.
Other Thoughts: There is some uniqueness to the course, which I enjoyed. I didn't place them in the Pros or Cons section, since they are subject to individual preference.
There is actually basic signage on holes #1 through #3. They are wooden arrows in the ground pointing to the basket. The distance is carved into the arrow "arm". There might be more of these signs, but we had to remove some dirt to determine they existed on the initial holes. That said, there are wooden posts that were recently placed by the tee areas. This is where you determine the tee pad, and could be the development of signage.
The "object" on hole #9 looks like a metal framed sign with 4 vertical chains making the "basket". I assume a hole out is hitting the chains, but they are taut, so it sounds like you are hitting the frame of the sign when you hit them squarely. I mention this, since it is only a 66' hole and very "aceable". In short, I hit the top of the frame on a drive and couldn't determine if I hit the chains or not - we agreed I didn't (would have been a cheap ace anyway - but an ace is an ace).
This is a private course, so permission from the administration of the recreational club is required to play. That said, in off-season, it looks like there should be no issues to play the course. There is a park across the street, which has restrooms and is easy to park in and walk across to the opening hole.
Overall, this course really gets beat-up in the reviews due to the prior baskets and, perhaps, high expectations. This course seems to be exactly what the designers intended it to be - a course for use with the recreational club, which would have families and kids utilize the course. For the DG community, this serves as a great course to intro new players and with their recent improvements, it looks like they are realizing the growth of the sport and facilitating its introduction to new players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    11/12/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
Pros: - Convenient area.
- Holes 1-6 now have Innova cages.
Cons: - Short
- The sign on the walk through says holes 7 - 10 are on the other side of the path. We never found hole 10
Other Thoughts: I took my 8 and 10 y/o daughters to play this course. It was OK as a starter course. We played Avalon Peaks the next day, and they enjoyed it much more. There is an alarm on the pool (the 10 year old threw onto the pool deck and I had to hop the fence to get the disc), but it shut off after several minutes of blaring.

We probably will not play this course again.

 F+

1    3/9/2006   3/9/2010
Review By: zacharypower7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located right off of cary parkway.
Pretty weak course otherwise. good for those new to the sport but no real challenge for even remotely skilled players. still better than nothing i guess.
Cons: Short, more like a course for putting practice,beat up baskets where there are baskets with plastic chains that don't seem to do very much in the way of stopping discs. I have heard of cops giving people a hard time about it being a private course even though i have never seen anyone playing it (i used to practice drives on a portion of the greenway right down the street from this course and it was always empty).
Other Thoughts: just too small an area for a good course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dilapidated

1    1/16/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a swimming pool, tennis courts and beach volleyball court on the premises. Great course for a family activity, especially for elementary school age kids or younger. Great Ace potential.
Cons: The baskets were the most dilapidated I've ever seen. They were all single plastic chained baskets that were rusted, bent and damaged. As mentioned previously, two baskets were missing. The plastic chains caught better than I expected, but blow threw would happen more than usual. There was a crisscross fairway, so watch out for other flying discs.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I rated this 1.0 was because I could see a lot of potential for families with very young children playing this course. It is really ideal for that, all you would need is a regular Frisbee. I played in the middle of winter, but I would imagine during the summer, when the pool is opened, the course could get a lot of traffic. Too bad it is in such terrible shape. Not much land to work with, but upkeep on the baskets would make it so much more enjoyable.

If your goal is to play a good or great course in the Raleigh area, then you should skip this course. If you want to try and get Ace's, or increase the total number of courses you've played, then play it, but you will be sadly disappointed.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Makes My Cry On The Inside...

5+    9/6/2008   1/15/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I grew up playing this course, especially since my family was a member of the Scottish Hills Recreational Club, which owns the land which the course resides.

The location of this course is perfect for Cary residents, as it is located right off Cary Parkway, and in the middle of a large number of seasoned residential areas.

Cons: Unfortunately, Scottish Hills Rec Club hasn't maintained the course other than mowing the grass (as required by Cary Town ordinance).

~ 90+% of the Baskets are not completely dilapidated.
~ Multiple chains are missing from a majority of the baskets.
~ All of the baskets located on the Cary Greenway are missing, or have been relocated without signage.
Other Thoughts: I remember when you could play this course 2-3 times in a row and still not get bored, but now it's better considered a decent set of practice baskets, if you don't feel like driving to a real DGC...

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.