Course Extinct
Sioux Falls, SD 
SE Technical Institute Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #9
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Extremely confusing.

2-4    2/17/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 356  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 37.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Has the potential for some really interesting holes/shots!
- Interesting elevation changes within the confined space/property.
Cons: - No tee/course signage to be seen, anywhere.
- No hole numbers on the baskets.
- Older, worn DISCatcher (portable?) baskets that were installed sitting too high in the ground.
Other Thoughts: One of the most confusing, seemingly neglected places I have ever played. There is absolutely nothing, anywhere, on the course to give you so much as an inkling of how to play the design. And if not for this website telling us where the first basket were located, I would have had no idea where to ever go to try and find the first hole (much less the other eight). Looks like a course that has been forgotten/neglected, which is a shame. Since at least the way I played it (guess at a course layout added as a .pdf to the course's Media/Files), it offers some fun and challenge! But not a course I would go out of my way to visit again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Little work would go a long way

1    8/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -An overall challenging layout
-Decent distances
-A good amount of trees, not completely open
-A few hills to make it more interesting
-Some good basket placements that are guarded and challenging
-Good parking
-Never ever crowded
Cons: -Tees were only marked by a white paper with a number. These wont last through the winter. They also had no indication of direction towards the basket and the baskets aren't numbered.
-Baskets are very old Disc Catchers, only a single layer of chains.
-I don't think there were 9 baskets here, maybe #8 was missing. The whole round was a guessing game.
-Plays immediately next to the interstate, not a peaceful round
-No map, signage, distance, numbering of any kind
-No tees, some are marked by a wood post but only a few
-Land is smashed between interstate and school buildings, not the best location.
Other Thoughts: Go to Tuthill and play. SIoux falls is very big for only having one legit course. If somebody at the university took this course over it could be decent. WIth signage, a map and tees as well as a new #8 this course would be a fun round, maybe deserving of 3 discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dilapidated

5+    6/27/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: XDrew
Played: 231  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course used to have really neat wood tee signs, which consisted of an entire course map, with nails marking your current tee and pin. Sadly, all of these placards, proclaiming "DISK GOLF," are gone, and even some of the posts are gone, making tees scarce. The designers fit a nifty little course in a small area. I really enjoy most of the holes, though they aren't terribly demanding. Highlights: hole 6 plays onto the fractured remains of a putt-putt golf course. Hole 9 is painfully long, and the initial uphill drive is a serious challenge.
Cons: I give this course a 2.0, because it's a fun 9, but it's not very golfer-friendly. Campus construction is taking away the course, bit-by-bit, and no one seems to care. This is a 9 hole course with 7.5 pins and 7 tees. Pin 9 is just a stick with no basket, Tees 1 and 8 are gone (make your own!), Pin 7 is gone (but you can play to Pin 5).
Other Thoughts: This course is very near my home, so I use it as my own little practice ground. After going there on and off for years, and driving past it daily, I just saw other golfers there for the first time this summer. I hope more people give it a chance, but I'm afraid it's going to slowly fade unless someone on campus revives it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Limp Forehand
Played: 119  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Some longer holes which allow you to stretch your throw.
-convenient campus locale if you attend
- One of the last holes has a pretty green
Cons: -Barely maintained- little to no signs, lousy tees, etc.
-Next to a loud highway that also adds an unpredictable wind.
-Poor Layout/design--confusing, conflicts with non-disc golf landscaping, backtracking
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately a student DG club could really make this a well-kept and fun course but they don't. Too Bad.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.