Lake Harmony, PA 
Francis E. Walter Dam - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Looks like Arizona out here !

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Landscaping, this place is crazy, up and down, trees and rocks, grass, then boulders, very very cool mix of terrain and shots needed to play this course. Concrete tee boxes are nice, chains in great shape, some pretty cool holes.
Cons: Horrible Signs at each tee box, print a map or you'll be clueless where the pins are at every hole or how far you are from each pin, poor poor signage, you can get lost really quick, place needs a solid day of TLC
Other Thoughts: Saw a friggin rattlesnake on hole 5, almost $hit my pants, cool course, def challenging

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  playin in a storm

1    6/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: mzacc75
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are many different shots on this course, left/right and hilly. Also many varying distances that make the course more interesting to play. Fairways are fairly open but possibilities of landing in thick pine trees that can be hard to get out of.

Thought the baskets on top of rocks were interesting and gave you a different look for putting

concrete teeboxes with signs and wooden ladder paths help you navigate the course
Cons: The concrete teeboxes were too short. It was hard to get a good run up at times.

The first few holes are easy to get to but after that is difficult. There are not enough signs around and it can take a bit difficult to find the next teebox. Some arrows can be easily moved so it can throw you off if they are pointed the wrong way. Hard to find the tee for hole#15 and theres no sign for it. Hole#18 takes you away from the parking lot

Some of the baskets cannot be seen from the teebox so you have to take a little walk to see where it is before you throw

It can get very thick and marshy so it can be easy to lose a disc, especially on an errant throw

Other Thoughts: The course was good but i did not like it very much. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if we didnt play right after a storm with a tornado warning... but we still had fun playing on this course. We originally planned on playing at Hickory Run but a giant branches falling everywhere made us turn around to a nearby mcdonalds until the storm passed a bit and there we decided to go to FE Walter. Glad i got to play this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not For Everyone's Tastes

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has 18 featured holes plus an additional 9 in another area of the Dam. With its unique topography ranging from grassy fairways and landing areas to asteroid-like rocky ground, F.E. Walter Dam starkly contrasts many of the other Eastern PA disc golf courses. Good mix of both open holes and ones scattered amidst pine trees, providing a challenging and unusual obstacle throughout the course. Signage is present and navigation is relatively easy. Baskets are all in good shape. Some course improvements have been made, including cement tee pads at numerous holes and wooden walkways/planks in particularly swampy areas of the course. Good balance of distance ranging from 200-800 feet, with most holes in the 300-400 range. Close to hotels, gas and food if you're paying a visit.
Cons: While I appreciate the effort at getting cement tee pads installed, they are too short. Swampy areas around some of the holes are a mess after rainfall. Signs, while adequate, are basic and don't stand out. Only a few holes have benches/logs to rest on and none have poles to hang your bag on. No ammenities at The Dam near the course.
Other Thoughts: While this is not a bad course- it is challenging and unique in many ways- I must be honest: I didn't care for it much. Others will disagree with me and be perfectly fine with it. Half the course is loaded with overgrown, tall grass in the fairways and the other half feels like you're playing in a rock quarry. Pine trees are drive killers at multiple holes unless you have a great tomahawk in your arsenal. It has none of the inherent beauty of many of the other fine disc golf facilities in the state. The novelty of the surface and overall appearance is worth a look but not repeat visits.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Evergreens and Bogs

5+    7/10/2000   10/29/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A fairly decent, moderately long golf course in a great part of the world. Plenty of parking, and the flow is pretty good. Pin-point accuracy is not required, especially if you're able to throw high and far. There are plenty of holes where twos are possible. As others have stated, it's really different from other courses in PA, because of the landscape and flora. It's not a tough hike, and it's a pleasant, scenic spot. It's fun to play at the Dam.
Cons: Many holes are pointlessly blind, requiring first-time visitors to hike out to check the pins. There are boggy spots on the course, and lost discs are a possibility in the evergreens. It's remote, and amenities are primitive or non-existent.
Other Thoughts: I've hardly ever played this place recreationally; mostly in tournaments. I'm not sure I would CHOOSE to play here, just for fun, although I have had fun every time I've played here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not great

1    8/26/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: leopardchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout of open and technical holes with excellent elevation changes. Varied terrain, not what you would expect for a disc golf course. Local club very active here...currently have started installing concrete tee pads. Thanks "bearclaws" for your work here and elsewhere!
Cons: Some signage hard to follow, especially on blind shots. Had some problems navigating, but not too bad. Course was overgrown in several spots. In fact on some holes on the back nine there were no safe landing areas. Very good chance of losing discs on those holes.
Other Thoughts: I was not overwhemled w/this course. I think this course would play much better in the fall when underbrush has subsided. Wear some waterproof shoes, the course gets swampy in spots! I will come back to try again just for the unique terrrain.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Idaho or Pocono?

2-4    3/6/2006   2/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offers a playing experience that is quite unique to Pennsylvania Disc Golfers. You will have to throw into the relatively open air and land safely amongst dangerous low scrub pines, bushes and evergreens. There are no obvious fairways defined by old majestic hardwoods. It reminds me of landscapes out west particularly Idaho....has that craters of the moon type feel at some places...really weird but kind of fun in a unique way. The course is close to a cool Dam and reservoir and Pocono resorts and a WAWA conveniance mart are not far away. The course itself has ample length to challenge you. A few unique basket locations, such as the elevated one shown in the photos. A different playing experience. You have to be able to throw over obstacles often...tomahawk/thumber anyone? Playing here is about landing placement and not fairway accuracy....this is a skill many woodsy Easterners never learn and often they just assume the course sucks...open your mind up and your enjoyment and game will improve here.
Cons: IT gets a bit repetitive throwing over scrubby brushed moonscape without any clear fairways. You will search for your discs in the bushes or the evergreens more than once. Not much tremendous elevation here despite being in the mountains and no water despite being a Dam course. IT is like a desert out there...so it's rocky and dry, though flash floody when it rains.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play just because it is such a strange course. It offers a different challenge that will only enhance your game. I would not say it is an elite course, but it is not an easy course to play either. Despite that I think it should be played just due how different it is.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 nice challenge

8/7/2008   8/11/2008
Review By: dancordle5360
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Bearclaws are doing alot of work on this course. Fairways are "Fair" if you choose to play conservative. If you choose to go for it, or try to fight the pines, you might be taking alot of 4's and 5's. If you like rough terrain this is your course. Signage was adequate.
Cons: Rough terrain. Some holes are short and less challenging. I played the day after a rain, and the course was very wet.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, you must stop by this course. Definately worth the time. Also, drive down to the Dam. It is something to see.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 "Welcome to the Moon with Pine Trees"

6/21/2008   7/10/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good length, a mix of left/right holes, completely different terrain than most east coasters are used to (short, thick pines that will eat your discs). Land is not mixed use... no worries about joggers. Well maintained. A unique experience in PA and worth at least one visit.
Cons: Only four alternate tees / holes. No amenities other than a port-a-potty... it's like the desert out here (tons of bugs too). Alternately super dry and super wet ground thanks to the watershed. Rocks will tear up your discs. People who throw big tomahawks will eat this course up as they won't have to contend with the same trees that backhand throwers do. Could use some better signage for finding the next hole, especially on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time at the tourney here. Hope they can expand a bit to make the 800-footer permanent. Might be more fun in the winter without the brutal heat and bugs, especially since the pines will stay about the same year round.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

9/20/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 278  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good job was done to even out righty/left holes. Some holes have 2 baskets while others do not.
Cons: Scorecard maps and distances don't match up with the signs often enough to make things confusing. This is not a 4.5 star course.
Other Thoughts: Feels like a high altitude desert. Short to medium height pines spinkled here and there will force you to use overhand shots more frequently than usual. Slight elevation changes keep things interesting. Unlike most dam courses there are no water throws here or even views of the dam.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.