Lake Harmony, PA
Francis E. Walter Dam - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
-- / --   3 / 207ft.   3 / 207ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not For Everyone's Tastes

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has 18 featured holes plus an additional 9 in another area of the Dam. With its unique topography ranging from grassy fairways and landing areas to asteroid-like rocky ground, F.E. Walter Dam starkly contrasts many of the other Eastern PA disc golf courses. Good mix of both open holes and ones scattered amidst pine trees, providing a challenging and unusual obstacle throughout the course. Signage is present and navigation is relatively easy. Baskets are all in good shape. Some course improvements have been made, including cement tee pads at numerous holes and wooden walkways/planks in particularly swampy areas of the course. Good balance of distance ranging from 200-800 feet, with most holes in the 300-400 range. Close to hotels, gas and food if you're paying a visit.
Cons: While I appreciate the effort at getting cement tee pads installed, they are too short. Swampy areas around some of the holes are a mess after rainfall. Signs, while adequate, are basic and don't stand out. Only a few holes have benches/logs to rest on and none have poles to hang your bag on. No ammenities at The Dam near the course.
Other Thoughts: While this is not a bad course- it is challenging and unique in many ways- I must be honest: I didn't care for it much. Others will disagree with me and be perfectly fine with it. Half the course is loaded with overgrown, tall grass in the fairways and the other half feels like you're playing in a rock quarry. Pine trees are drive killers at multiple holes unless you have a great tomahawk in your arsenal. It has none of the inherent beauty of many of the other fine disc golf facilities in the state. The novelty of the surface and overall appearance is worth a look but not repeat visits.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  not that great

1    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: smokey420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: a few open shots nice t boxes most cement
Cons: i did not like this course at all i guess maybe its just not a begginers course but me and my freinds spent more time looking for discs than throwing them. alot of the time you cant even see where youre disc lands. its muddy and wet not very enjoyable and its very very confusing if you do play i would highley recomend printing the course map otherwise u will never make it through. if youre in that area u may as well go to hickory run much better place
Other Thoughts: it is a fun course thoe some shots of 500 ft its like playing ontop of a mountain pretty cool scenery wouldnt recomend it thoe

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 second time playing here

2-4    11/28/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: aklimbing
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice and open with some good long holes. The pars are hard to come by on some big holes. Great set-up. the bear claws did some great work up there.
Cons: The wind can get out of control. the good part is you can laugh like crazy when you hae a bad shot and just blam it on the wind. The tee boxes are a little short, but better than not having them.
Other Thoughts: I lost a blue 173 champion Valkyrie on one of the seldom played back holes and don't know how to log it

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Play in NE Pennsylvania -- feel like you're in Idaho or Colorado!

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The close proximity to I-80, I-476, and a Wawa convenience store is a HUGE perk for me!

I absolutely love the terrain of this course. Rocky and martian-like, with the resemblance of the great American West. The placement of baskets on the rock piles add to that effect!

I feel like there's a ton of variety in these holes. Lengths (in feet) range from the 180s to 500s with varying difficulties and risk/rewards. Hole #6 is by far my favorite hole. The tees and signs are maintained pretty well and the concrete teepads are heavenly.

Compared to the nearby Hickory Run State Park, there are virtually no people here; you should be able to navigate 18 holes pretty quickly.
Cons: The rocky terrain can be pretty rough on some discs -- especially DX and Pro-D plastics. I'd recommend using champion, star, ESP, or Elite-Z discs on this course to avoid seeing your plastic get eaten by the ground!

Another issue is the presence of swampy water in parts. Watch out where you step or you might be walking around with wet feet for the rest of the day. Trust me, I know!

Finally, the course can be a little tricky to navigate the first time. As such, you should probably bring a map.
Other Thoughts: I go to college about 2 hours away from this course and it's totally worth the drive! It's challenging enough for an experienced player, but not too difficult to frustrate a beginner. I can't think of any course in Pennsylvania that resembles this place and for that, I think it deserves a visit!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A jem in the Poconos

1    11/6/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: DGWookie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of left and right, a lot of blind pins - which I like, elevation changes, easy to navigate, almost impossible to lose your discs (in the fall months) unless you tree one high, reminded me a lot of courses out here in Colorado. The scenery is so different than Hickory Run (lots of leafy trees) or Prompton (long grassy open fairways) that it is worth playing just for the experience.
Cons: There is a lot of ground level standing water, so you might not want to play it in sneakers. Some tee boxes were very wet/muddy.

Other Thoughts: The only things I'd change around/reconfigure would be the positions of #16, #17, and #18 so the course finishes out by the parking area. And, concrete tee pads all the way through.

This is a DG course that I will definitely play every time I visit NEPA.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Evergreens and Bogs

5+    7/10/2000   10/29/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 35.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A fairly decent, moderately long golf course in a great part of the world. Plenty of parking, and the flow is pretty good. Pin-point accuracy is not required, especially if you're able to throw high and far. There are plenty of holes where twos are possible. As others have stated, it's really different from other courses in PA, because of the landscape and flora. It's not a tough hike, and it's a pleasant, scenic spot. It's fun to play at the Dam.
Cons: Many holes are pointlessly blind, requiring first-time visitors to hike out to check the pins. There are boggy spots on the course, and lost discs are a possibility in the evergreens. It's remote, and amenities are primitive or non-existent.
Other Thoughts: I've hardly ever played this place recreationally; mostly in tournaments. I'm not sure I would CHOOSE to play here, just for fun, although I have had fun every time I've played here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Frances Walter Dam

5+    10/12/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: Fireal
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. It's only about 20 minutes from my home, and I play it as much as possible. This course has a little bit of everything, from some awesome ace chances, to some incredible difficult holes to par. Also our local club ( the bearclaws ) have been adding concrete tee-pads to make the course even better.
Cons: The only complaints I have about this course is that it can get very wet, especially after heavy rainfall. Also a few of the holes are somewhat rocky, which can eat up discs. Overall, the amount of cons are minimal.
Other Thoughts: It's awesome to have this course and Hickory Run's course in the area, considering they are complete opposites, so you can never get tired of switching up play between courses. Frances Walter Dam also has been adding some great hidden holes, which has turned the course into 27 holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good but not great

1    8/26/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: leopardchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout of open and technical holes with excellent elevation changes. Varied terrain, not what you would expect for a disc golf course. Local club very active here...currently have started installing concrete tee pads. Thanks "bearclaws" for your work here and elsewhere!
Cons: Some signage hard to follow, especially on blind shots. Had some problems navigating, but not too bad. Course was overgrown in several spots. In fact on some holes on the back nine there were no safe landing areas. Very good chance of losing discs on those holes.
Other Thoughts: I was not overwhemled w/this course. I think this course would play much better in the fall when underbrush has subsided. Wear some waterproof shoes, the course gets swampy in spots! I will come back to try again just for the unique terrrain.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A different kind of course

1    8/14/2008   8/14/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large disc golf only area with rocky ground and lots of small pine trees and evergreen shrubs. There are no huge elevation changes, but many of the holes play up or down smaller hills adding some difficulty and variety. The trees are great obstacles, and make the course significantly more difficult as the best lines on many holes go over the small pine trees, and the wind plays with the disc a lot when you throw it that high.

This course has plenty of length, with a nice mix of longer holes and more reachable holes. It felt like a good mix of lefty and righty holes along with some straight shots. Some holes have rough that will really punish errant shots, and test how well you can throw for distance while still retaining accuracy. There are some nice unique holes and some cool basket placements that add variety throughout.

There is plenty of parking, with a port-o-potty at the beginning of the course. The tees are natural, but were level and large enough for the most part. There was some signage, enough to figure the course out, and the baskets were in good shape with tall poles to make blind pins more visible.
Cons: The course had some navigation issues for a first time visitor, though we were able to figure things out with a little wandering. The signs didn't seem accurate at times, and made a few blind holes a little confusing, you might want to scout the course your first time through.

The middle of the course felt like there were a bunch of holes that weren't quite different enough for my taste. The scenery and landscape were cool, but base plastic discs tended to get a little beat up on the rocks.

There were some areas of the course that were quite swampy, even though there hadn't been a rain in a while. This also made for lots of mosquitoes breeding in the standing water. A few of the tees in the lower part of the park were affected by the water, and this made for some difficult spots to throw from.
Other Thoughts: This is probably not the best course to bring a beginner to, due to the difficulty and the length. It is a course that will offer a different kind of challenge to more experienced players, and has enough more difficult holes to test most players.

This is a fun and different course, not at all like the other PA courses I've played. I would definitely recommend stopping here for a round if you're in the area, especially if you feel like a change of scenery.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DAM these pines!

2-4    6/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have never played a course in PA that has the play and feel at F.E.W. The pine trees are a max height of 40-50ft (good for big arms that can cruise overtop) BUT these pines are very wide and bushy to the ground. (If you land behind one...goodluck) These pines are the dominate trees of the park though there are some hardwoods. Course has a nice mix of distance and accuracy. Tee pads are gravel and little signs of the hole are posted. There are some really nice seats out towards the later holes. (swinging 2 seater, couch) You will most likely throw every shot you know at this park.
Cons: I heard this course will have wet spots even if it hasn't rained in days. BRING TOWELS(It's near a dam) The tee pads can get a little flooded and can really bring your game down a notch. This course was hard for me with a hard wind. Once your disc went above the 30-40ft high trees the wind just takes it. Bring extra socks and shoes that dry easily. The signs aren't accurate.(it may show the pin being straight when really it doglegs right a bit.)
Other Thoughts: This course may be much for beginners or recreational players. I like the different play and feel of this course. Idk if I would make a trip for this one course though. I would definately stop by here and Hickory Run next time I go snowboarding.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.