Lake Harmony, PA 
Francis E. Walter Dam - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
#17 basket to tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Needs some TLC for a 3.0

1    8/11/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: BPC2000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: concrete tee pads

baskets in good shape

starts near the parking area and loops around to end fairly near where you started

some challenging hole designs and pin placements

some landscaping and some fairways were trimmed down recently

18+ intact disc golf holes on this course

plays long on a lot of holes

close to poconos vacation spots along with a few other courses if you want to get out and play a few different courses
Cons: signage in disrepair and or non-existent, spent some time wandering around looking for the next tee or basket

course vegetation feels overgrown in some places and needs some landscaping

a few too many trees or obstacles in fairways and close to pins for intermediate players, maybe highly talented player will feel more comfortable

Warnings to be on the lookout for hunters and rattlesnakes. I saw neither but did get a laugh at the bullet holes in the scorecard box on the bulletin board.

Other Thoughts: All in all this course wasn't terrible. It just looked like a course that has lost its luster from lack of maintenance. It had a slightly abandoned, "ghost town" feel to it. I did like the concrete tee pads which were still intact, but I'm guessing some players will wish they were longer. It's a full 18+ hole course which is nice. The trimmed down fairways in spots gave me the idea that it isn't totally abandoned. I was looking to get out and play and It was close to my summer vacation spot so it got the job done. I would play it again if Im in the area, but hopefully it can get back to its original glory.

Bring your scuba gear

5+    12/27/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: carouselzero
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course looks incredible
Baskets in decent shape
Teepads are really nice
Good mix of hole distances
Cons: Signage is awful
Navigation is nearly impossible, bring a map
Drainage is pretty bad and some entire fairways are under water following a rain event
Some repetitive holes
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better with some club involvement. Put up some navigation arrows and fix the signage and this course would be much, much better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks like Arizona out here !

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Landscaping, this place is crazy, up and down, trees and rocks, grass, then boulders, very very cool mix of terrain and shots needed to play this course. Concrete tee boxes are nice, chains in great shape, some pretty cool holes.
Cons: Horrible Signs at each tee box, print a map or you'll be clueless where the pins are at every hole or how far you are from each pin, poor poor signage, you can get lost really quick, place needs a solid day of TLC
Other Thoughts: Saw a friggin rattlesnake on hole 5, almost $hit my pants, cool course, def challenging

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. Plenty of holes to play. A couple of the holes are memorable. Alternate baskets on some holes.
Cons: Finding your way around is very difficult. Poor signage. Few tee signs and not many arrows. Same tee shot over and over and over and over. If you like open tee shots and a course that is geared for long throwers, you will like this place more than me. Boring, imo.
Other Thoughts: My brother showed me this place on a recent visit. Glad I got to play it, but I did not think it was a good course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improving and growing

5+    11/23/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Improbably
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alternate sleeves are now in use.
Many pickers and dead branches have recently been removed.
Tee 15 now has a paving stone tee.
Cons: Finding all the holes is difficult.
Finding all the tees for all the holes is more difficult.
The signage is poor where the signage exists.
Other Thoughts: Wear orange hunting is permitted.
Wear boots and stop whining.

This is NOT a 27 hole course. This is currently a 37 hole course (17 of those holes are now on their own course page as FEW-top) and 12 of those 37 have alternate sleeves. More holes are under construction; always. . .

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not great

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2014
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees(except for #15)
-Multiple pin positions on some holes
-Decent variety of holes will test a lot of different shots
-Good variety in terms of hole lengths
Cons: -Course layout was pretty poor some pins were difficult to locate
-Poor signage, navigation was often difficult
-Hole layout signs were non descriptive and often times misleading
-A lot fot eh baskets were in poor condition, rusty, not solid, etc.
-The benches on the course were all in a state of disrepair and broken. And some holes had chairs that looked like they'd just been pulled from a dumpster.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was not impressed with this course. I think a lot of landscaping needs to be done here. Also look at rearranging holes a bit. For example hole 17 ends towards the parking lot and then 18 takes you further away from the lot. It also seems that with the marshy land this course would be unplayable with any kind of rain or bad weather.

Also, this is NOT a 27 hole course, this is an 18 hole course and 9 of the pins have alternate pin placements.

UPDATE: If you're looking into this course read the reviews, all of them. You can see there is a consensus about certain cons of this course. It seems like a bunch of the locals are giving reviews that list any major cons thumbs down(listing them as unhelpful) even though most of the reviews have the same complaints.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  playin in a storm

1    6/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: mzacc75
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are many different shots on this course, left/right and hilly. Also many varying distances that make the course more interesting to play. Fairways are fairly open but possibilities of landing in thick pine trees that can be hard to get out of.

Thought the baskets on top of rocks were interesting and gave you a different look for putting

concrete teeboxes with signs and wooden ladder paths help you navigate the course
Cons: The concrete teeboxes were too short. It was hard to get a good run up at times.

The first few holes are easy to get to but after that is difficult. There are not enough signs around and it can take a bit difficult to find the next teebox. Some arrows can be easily moved so it can throw you off if they are pointed the wrong way. Hard to find the tee for hole#15 and theres no sign for it. Hole#18 takes you away from the parking lot

Some of the baskets cannot be seen from the teebox so you have to take a little walk to see where it is before you throw

It can get very thick and marshy so it can be easy to lose a disc, especially on an errant throw

Other Thoughts: The course was good but i did not like it very much. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if we didnt play right after a storm with a tornado warning... but we still had fun playing on this course. We originally planned on playing at Hickory Run but a giant branches falling everywhere made us turn around to a nearby mcdonalds until the storm passed a bit and there we decided to go to FE Walter. Glad i got to play this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of holes.

5+    9/26/2013   10/10/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Makes excellent use of many natural alleys for the fairways.

Decent tee pads. A small but dedicated group of locals maintain and improve the course.

The unique landscape is used nicely.

Some holes have permanent alternate baskets, while others are movable.

New holes are in the works. F.E.W. keeps getting bigger.

Easy access, right off I-80, 476 (pa turnpike) and PA940, and close enough to PA115 and I-81.
Cons: Holes 3, 5, and 11 in particular are very poorly drained. Not the designers fault, just the nature of the land here.

Trouble finding the way. If you are a first timer, you will not find your away around easily. Lack of tee signs and arrows. Navigation is a nightmare.

Though it is great that new holes are always being added, it would make more sense to expend some of this time, expense and effort maintaining and improving existing holes.

Very few tee signs and the ones that exist are in bad shape.

Number 18 takes you away from the parking area, but this no big deal. You can just replay 16 and 17 to take you back.

Lost discs has been an issue on a number of holes. Some areas just seem to gobble plastic.

Most of the course demands similar shots. Play can get a bit repetitive and for me, at least, a bit boring. The new holes recently added remedy this a bit.
Other Thoughts: This course has a look all its own. Mostly an open course, but the vegetation comes into play more than you would first think.

Some holes have elevated baskets. Kinda cool once you get used to them. When the wind is blowing, things get tough.

This course grows on you.

Holes 6,7,and 8 are a tough stretch and the rest of the course has a nice variety of length.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 BIG Course

5+    8/27/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is excellent for the novice to the pro with several alternative holes and tees and terrain extremes from the Rocky "surface of Mars" to trees and bomber shots. Wild blueberries abound, please remember to drop a few to reseed the plants!
Cons: Played this course yesterday afternoon 4/7/2012, unfortunately, someone playing this course, or hanging out in the back 9, started a brush fire! The holes from 4B to 8B have been affected! The holes themselves were saved but you should expect to have to clean your discs of soot for a while! The undergrowth and a large portion of the wild blueberries have been burned!!! Please remember to pack out your butts and keep the "camp fires" to a minimum.
Getting more difficult to navigate this course, as the signs are getting old and some are missing.
Ticks all year and a breeding ground for snakes too.
Remember to respect the wildlife.
Other Thoughts: The road past the course is fairly well traveled and it seems like the locals enjoy running over Discs! :-( Other than that it is a GREAT 27 hole afternoon ... bring lots of water and possibly some food! Picnic areas close by.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/13/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of different looks at baskets
basket locations are cool some raised some sunk
huge area
long drives
Cons: ticks
cant play after rain
cant see most baskets from tee box
hard to stay in order
Other Thoughts: cool course cause it says theres 27 holes but with all the added tee boxes you can play all day. first time i went there i jumped in with a group of people who turned out to have made the course so it was a good experience.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.