Lake Harmony, PA 
Francis E. Walter Dam - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 385ft.   3 / 491ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Francis E. Walter Dam

2-4    7/26/2016   7/27/2016
Review By: ruraljuror
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun course with a variety of holes
Cons: -very short tee boxes--half of which do not have hole markers so you don't know what you're on (use the map in links)
-all the maps on each hole are long gone--although they are in the photos section if you want to see them
-almost no navigational help between holes
-can't see the pin from the tee on most holes
-ticks --be aware
-very swampy after rain
Other Thoughts: -hole 8 does not have the short pin. use the long one (462ft)
-20 holes are listed but only 18 are on the map? Edit: the additional holes are on the google map
-fun course, just could use some work.
-would play again

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DG Archeology

1    4/30/2016   5/3/2016
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18+ holes with decent, flush concrete pads.
-A few alternate pins on certain holes, both short and long.
- Scenery: One second you are in PA, next tee looks like you are playing somewhere outside of Phoenix AZ. Ugly, desolate, yet beautiful at the same time. I didn't get to play the back 18+ but I hear its more hilly and wooded, thus adding to the variety of terrain/scenery
-Nice flow to the 18 hole loop, if you can figure it out to begin with
-Varying levels of difficulty from hole to hole. Something for everyone
-Benches and chairs on select holes
-Many pins are adorned with full size American flags, making them easy to see and gives the place a patriotic vibe
-Nearby camp sites
Cons: -Signage is virtually non-existent
-No trashcans
-"Ruins" of long discontinued teepads scattered about further add to the confusion as to where to shoot from, and where to go next. They look like tee pads the ancient Maya would huck from.
-Picnic tables by first tee box are about to cave in and are a eyesore
-No signage, so no par set. Play them as all 3's, when some clearly are not par 3's, even on a pro's best day.
Other Thoughts: Certainly an interesting place, one I have yet to fully explore. I look forward to playing more here in the future, but in its current state I have to give The Dam a low rating. Signage and some trash cans could take this park from a 1.5 to a 4 instantly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sandbox course

1    11/28/2015   12/1/2015
Review By: dealinwithit
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The pros and cons of this course have been well documented on DGR and for the most part they are true. But the bottom line for me with this course is that I had a lot of fun playing it.

I was lucky enough to meet up with two great locals who showed me around the course and played a mish mash of the best holes on both courses.

Even with that help I think I still would of had fun. There are holes everywhere you look. Playing with seasoned players of the course, we still found a few tee pads they had never seen before. They told me they think people just come in and create holes to their liking which I think is great.
Cons: - Lack of signage (not a problem for me in this instance but its understandable)

- A few very old rusted single chained baskets scattered about that I wouldn't of had much of a problem with but I did spit out two putts so there.
Other Thoughts: This course could easily go from a 3.5 to 5 if there was a dedicated club around to uniformly take care of the course. Add signs, baskets, etc....

Despite its drawbacks there is a real charm to the course that I really like. One minute you're on a tee looking out over a rock field, the next minute your on a tee in the woods. Theres a great sandbox feel to the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs some TLC for a 3.0

1    8/11/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: BPC2000
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads

baskets in good shape

starts near the parking area and loops around to end fairly near where you started

some challenging hole designs and pin placements

some landscaping and some fairways were trimmed down recently

18+ intact disc golf holes on this course

plays long on a lot of holes

close to poconos vacation spots along with a few other courses if you want to get out and play a few different courses
Cons: signage in disrepair and or non-existent, spent some time wandering around looking for the next tee or basket

course vegetation feels overgrown in some places and needs some landscaping

a few too many trees or obstacles in fairways and close to pins for intermediate players, maybe highly talented player will feel more comfortable

Warnings to be on the lookout for hunters and rattlesnakes. I saw neither but did get a laugh at the bullet holes in the scorecard box on the bulletin board.

Other Thoughts: All in all this course wasn't terrible. It just looked like a course that has lost its luster from lack of maintenance. It had a slightly abandoned, "ghost town" feel to it. I did like the concrete tee pads which were still intact, but I'm guessing some players will wish they were longer. It's a full 18+ hole course which is nice. The trimmed down fairways in spots gave me the idea that it isn't totally abandoned. I was looking to get out and play and It was close to my summer vacation spot so it got the job done. I would play it again if Im in the area, but hopefully it can get back to its original glory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring your scuba gear

5+    12/27/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: carouselzero
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course looks incredible
Baskets in decent shape
Teepads are really nice
Good mix of hole distances
Cons: Signage is awful
Navigation is nearly impossible, bring a map
Drainage is pretty bad and some entire fairways are under water following a rain event
Some repetitive holes
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better with some club involvement. Put up some navigation arrows and fix the signage and this course would be much, much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Looks like Arizona out here !

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Landscaping, this place is crazy, up and down, trees and rocks, grass, then boulders, very very cool mix of terrain and shots needed to play this course. Concrete tee boxes are nice, chains in great shape, some pretty cool holes.
Cons: Horrible Signs at each tee box, print a map or you'll be clueless where the pins are at every hole or how far you are from each pin, poor poor signage, you can get lost really quick, place needs a solid day of TLC
Other Thoughts: Saw a friggin rattlesnake on hole 5, almost $hit my pants, cool course, def challenging

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. Plenty of holes to play. A couple of the holes are memorable. Alternate baskets on some holes.
Cons: Finding your way around is very difficult. Poor signage. Few tee signs and not many arrows. Same tee shot over and over and over and over. If you like open tee shots and a course that is geared for long throwers, you will like this place more than me. Boring, imo.
Other Thoughts: My brother showed me this place on a recent visit. Glad I got to play it, but I did not think it was a good course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improving and growing

5+    11/23/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Improbably
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alternate sleeves are now in use.
Many pickers and dead branches have recently been removed.
Tee 15 now has a paving stone tee.
Cons: Finding all the holes is difficult.
Finding all the tees for all the holes is more difficult.
The signage is poor where the signage exists.
Other Thoughts: Wear orange hunting is permitted.
Wear boots and stop whining.

This is NOT a 27 hole course. This is currently a 37 hole course (17 of those holes are now on their own course page as FEW-top) and 12 of those 37 have alternate sleeves. More holes are under construction; always. . .

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not great

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2014
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees(except for #15)
-Multiple pin positions on some holes
-Decent variety of holes will test a lot of different shots
-Good variety in terms of hole lengths
Cons: -Course layout was pretty poor some pins were difficult to locate
-Poor signage, navigation was often difficult
-Hole layout signs were non descriptive and often times misleading
-A lot fot eh baskets were in poor condition, rusty, not solid, etc.
-The benches on the course were all in a state of disrepair and broken. And some holes had chairs that looked like they'd just been pulled from a dumpster.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was not impressed with this course. I think a lot of landscaping needs to be done here. Also look at rearranging holes a bit. For example hole 17 ends towards the parking lot and then 18 takes you further away from the lot. It also seems that with the marshy land this course would be unplayable with any kind of rain or bad weather.

Also, this is NOT a 27 hole course, this is an 18 hole course and 9 of the pins have alternate pin placements.

UPDATE: If you're looking into this course read the reviews, all of them. You can see there is a consensus about certain cons of this course. It seems like a bunch of the locals are giving reviews that list any major cons thumbs down(listing them as unhelpful) even though most of the reviews have the same complaints.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  playin in a storm

1    6/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: mzacc75
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are many different shots on this course, left/right and hilly. Also many varying distances that make the course more interesting to play. Fairways are fairly open but possibilities of landing in thick pine trees that can be hard to get out of.

Thought the baskets on top of rocks were interesting and gave you a different look for putting

concrete teeboxes with signs and wooden ladder paths help you navigate the course
Cons: The concrete teeboxes were too short. It was hard to get a good run up at times.

The first few holes are easy to get to but after that is difficult. There are not enough signs around and it can take a bit difficult to find the next teebox. Some arrows can be easily moved so it can throw you off if they are pointed the wrong way. Hard to find the tee for hole#15 and theres no sign for it. Hole#18 takes you away from the parking lot

Some of the baskets cannot be seen from the teebox so you have to take a little walk to see where it is before you throw

It can get very thick and marshy so it can be easy to lose a disc, especially on an errant throw

Other Thoughts: The course was good but i did not like it very much. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if we didnt play right after a storm with a tornado warning... but we still had fun playing on this course. We originally planned on playing at Hickory Run but a giant branches falling everywhere made us turn around to a nearby mcdonalds until the storm passed a bit and there we decided to go to FE Walter. Glad i got to play this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.