Warren, VT 
Sugarbush - Base Course Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #10 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Blue Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/31/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Good solid discatcher pins on excellectly placed greens. Tee pads give you a decent view of the hole and how to engineer your shot. Fairways not overly tight or with splitter trees for that sort of poke and hope style of disc golf.
Cons: Tee pads need to be raised due to excessive snow which had melted into pools which froze into ice. This can be solved by raising the tee areas so the water runs off before it freezes. This technique also eliminated mud pools in the spring/summer.
Other Thoughts: I already played Warwick which had the same course architects and see the similarities in design. Excellent pro level golf experience all around.


1    7/14/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Base Course is definitely the more enjoyable of the two Sugarbush courses. It features some nice elevation change, although not to the extreme like on the Peak Course, and a nice mix of distance. The shorter more wooded holes use trees well to emphasize placement and line shaping while the longer holes use the more open space on the ski slopes to test players' ability to drive accurately over long distances.

The course does well to punish bad tee shots with thick but fair woods lining the fairways on the shorter holes. Pin positions on the more open holes are chosen well so that players are required to hit a particular spot to set up an easy approach to the green. Missing the intended landing area will require an extra shot to get a look at the green.
Cons: The course has a real rough-around-the-edges kind of feel to it. This is mainly due to the tee pads which are made up of loose gravel in a poorly defined box.
Other Thoughts: I certainly enjoyed playing the Base Course and I felt it provided a fun and fair disc golf challenge. However there was nothing spectacular about it that would make me want to return.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 base

2-4    7/10/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: discrun
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: played with some locals and that was really helpful. I liked the base course much more then the peak. I think this is a fun course with lots of interesting holes. They did a good job at the base by mixing things up so it does not feel like a ski area course.
Cons: benches and a little work on the tee boxes would be helpful
Other Thoughts: I'll be back

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The designed is bad.

5+    7/21/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: ESPNEWS
Played: 84  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 22 Not
Other Thoughts: I would give both Sugarbush courses such as Base and Peak 0 star because these courses are extremely hazard to play there. I can imagine if there was actually rain (the weather was quite hazy the whole time), there would be mudslide on the Peak course. You must bring a spotter with you all the way from first hole to eighteen holes.
My friend got a lot of poison ivy on both of his legs from knees to ankles. He did not enjoy playing there. As for Base course, from 1st hole to 8th holes, it was virtually impossible to play these holes because you have to walk on the uphill and we were already worn out. As for Peak course, there were some areas that were virtually impossible to play and this course is definitely suitable for highest level of professional players; we were certainly not at that level of profession YET. We were already worn out at the beginning of the course. Do you know why? Because when you throw your disc, it would go downhill with the steep downhill and that made you go downhill and look for your disc at almost every hole. Each player in each group had the same problem and we all had to waste time looking for each other's discs because the holes were all downhill. Additionally, we had to pay 15 dollars to lift us to the top mountain and we lost discs in there. I am glad nothing happened to me during the Peak course. I can't imagine if something happened to one of us during the Peak course; that will be responsible for injured players? We should choose courses that are safe for us to play at. Honestly, I don't think I will ever go there and play at the course again unless they redesign the course to avoid the hazard areas. These courses are very physically demanding. There were some players that resigned the tournament due to these reasons and that did not motivate us to continue playing the whole tournament.

3 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced complement to Peak Course

1    7/4/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Choice of Pro/Am tees

Newer baskets in great shape

Elevation changes on practically every hole

Decent balance of right/straight/left throws

Nice mixture of open/wooded holes

A number of challenging pin placements (up hills, next to drop offs, etc)

Some picturesque views of surrounding mountains/terrain

Well maintained with moderate disc loss possibility

Maps available onsite along with next tee signs/arrows made navigation a breeze

A pleasant and gentler alternative to the peak course

Appealing to the more casual/newbie disc golfer as well as more experienced players

It's in a ski area so amenities are on site: food, drink, discs for sale, accommodations; plus other activities (zip line, mountain biking, etc)
Cons: Pay to play

Tees are natural/gravel (expect 'better' on a pay to play course)

Ski lifts, buildings, equipment, etc. are an eye-sore on & around the course

Area below was loud (can hear it on several holes) and busy w/people (course however was not)

Even from 'pro' tees, some holes were just too short (9 holes of 250ft or less)

Course could use additional and/or alt. pin positions to add more variety/challenge/length

Seasonal/limited hours of availability

Unbalanced - front 9 was a high-quality physical challenge (climbing and throwing uphill with 6 'pro tee' holes over 300ft - half of which were over 500ft) while the back 9 was lacking in this respect (only 2 holes over 300ft with the rest under 235ft)

No sign at #1 pro tee (however this was only tee that had a rubber pad so I guess it's a trade off!)
Other Thoughts:

The base course seems designed to appeal to newer players, casual disc golfers and perhaps as a warm-up for more advanced players before they decide to tackle the peak course (or as an ego booster after getting smacked down by the peak course).



The first several holes are mainly longer, more open and play up or across the lift areas/base of the mountain and either begin or finish in the woods. These holes present more of a physical challenge but are not necessarily technical.



The second half of the course is mostly short and wooded providing opportunities for birdie chances and ace runs. These holes aren't as physically demanding as the emphasis is on accuracy. Even with errant throws, par is achievable as most holes are extremely short and punishment isn't too severe off the fairways



I appreciated what the front 9 design strived for - a longer more physically demanding play where you felt you earned your score. Somewhat disappointing was the back 9 where the physical demands were less, length was drastically reduced (even from the 'pro' tees) and the woods holes weren't overly technical. However all this is understandable as the appeal is more for the masses rather than the more experienced player who would be better off playing the peak course if they're looking for more difficulty.



Overall the design and flow was very fluid and intuitive making it by and large an enjoyable round. While on its own not a destination-type course, coupled with the peak course it's a balanced compliment and worth the time to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great layout.

1    7/21/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: JHill
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent scenery and challenging elevation along with tight lines on some wooded holes make this a challenging course. There are at least 4 "ace" holes, tight line downhill less than 200. Definitely a professional caliber course, although its not as challenging as I was expecting.
Cons: Pro shop closes at 4, its the only place to get course maps/scorecards (unless a friendly golfer hooks you up!) PEAK COURSE ONLY OPEN FRI-SUN!!!
Other Thoughts: Unless you're obese or have heart problems, you'll have minimal trouble hiking the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 physically and technically challenging

1    8/11/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: fbrookes
Played: 106  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great changes in elevation,course map well marked and holes easy to find,beautiful scenery,interesting wooded holes,nice dg swag in pro shop
Cons: very physically challenging going up and down ski slopes;very wet in August,lots of small streams make for some difficul maneuvering

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.