Fairmont, WV 
Seth Burton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 406ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nothing Spectacular, but Very Solid

5+    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Seth Burton Memorial DGC is located in Morris Park just south of Fairmont. This park is always in top shape and is very well manicured. While there isn't a whole lot to do in the park, there are various playground areas, pavilions, and walking/running paths which are often used. The best part of this park is that it plays near Orange Crush, both starting at the same spot in the park. Both play around the mountain in opposite directions - Seth Burton winds counter-clockwise around the park, while Orange Crush winds clockwise.
-Only about a half-mile off I-79 for easy access
-Signs are in top shape and they tell you everything you need to know (except for pars, for some reason) - holes lengths from both tees and to both pins. There are L's and S's posted on each tee sign's pole, as well as on every tee, to guide you to your tee of choice. Two tees per hole, as well as two pin positions per hole, give a good variety to the course. Each tee and pin position offers a significantly different challenge.
-Baskets are DISCatcher and in top shape
-Tee pads are in great shape, concrete, and are a perfect length
-A good variety of hole lengths: 5 200-300', 10 300-400', and 3 400'+, including a 665' long hole from the white tees, and 1 < 200', 1 200-300', 7 300-400', 7 400-500', and 2 600'+ from the blue tees.
-While this is only a moderately wooded course, it it surprisingly challenging with the tree positions in the fairway and elevation. Elevation is present on almost every hole, which definitely affects your upshot selection. Most of the holes slant hard down to the right, while 8 goes hard uphill and 9 goes hard downhill
-There is some shot selection on most of the holes
-The road is O.B. and plays a factor into many holes
-A lot of chances to bomb a disc and a lot of chances for fairly tight navigation through some trees. Maybe the most fun aspect of this course is the emphasis it puts on drives. On a lot of drives, you have to make it past some close trees to the tee and in between a few in the fairway. If you hit the line you are in a good spot for an upshot but hitting an early tree can and will hurt you score big time. I can specifically think of 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 18 that offer this type of look.
-Navigation is a breeze and your chance of losing discs is very minimal, almost 0%. Rough is hardly present except on a few holes.
-The course circles around the park and right back to your car.
-Every hole is solid but*
Cons: -There is no parking lot here, but there are a few spots for parking alongside the park's road when you first drive in. On crowded days (usually just weekend afternoons), it can be hard to find a spot.
-There are no bathrooms when you first enter. The only one I've come across are after hole 7
-Because the course plays in the same direction around the mountain, the fairways are usually slanted in the same direction. It depends how you look at this, as it can be seen as a challenge or it can be annoying. I've thrown near-perfect upshots that rolled 20-30 feet down to the road. Again, it can be viewed as upping the challenge but also comes across to me as a limitation to the course.
-Course can seem repetitive at times, not a whole lot of hole variety.
-Most holes play close to the road, where people walk and run. Not an overly crowded park, just pay attention to non-discgolfers.
-*None of the holes really stand out as amazing.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course and always serves an enjoyable round. This course in itself doesn't offer anything spectacular, but it is a great course to play a league with it's awesome upkeep, cleanliness, and lack of a chance to lose discs. The best part about Seth Burton is that it is right next to Orange Crush. Playing or combining both courses in a day is a lot of fun, and since they go around the mountain in opposite directions, you can break the courses up playing the front 9 of one and the back 9 of the other. This gives tremendous variety for a day of disc golf. Be prepared to see wildlife, as I've seen big snakes and deer a few times here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Memorable Memorial Course!

1    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's start off by saying that this isn't Orange Crush, but that's a good thing. That course is fine as it is, and this serves as nice open-air complement to its tight-fairway/technical sibling course.

I say "open-air" with reservation because it's not like you'll be ripping drives way open in fields every hole. There are a few like that (#4,7,12,14), but the vast majority of holes traverse up and down hillsides with many trees in play. These holes have precarious tree placement, and many provide two different lines to the basket.

The road comes into play on a few holes, and the tennis course comes into play on the last few holes. I think this characteristic forces the thrower to thread the fairways with lazer accuracy. I used my fairway drivers a lot during this round and found myself getting a lot of practice of controlling my drives.

My favorite hole was probably #9, a very short and blind RHBH anhyzer drive downhill to a basket placed right on the hill. Even though the hole isn't long, the blindness and possibility of discs rolling onto the road made this one stick out in my mind.

Nice use of red and blue tees to welcome people of all skill levels. Overall, I would suggest bringing a new player to this course without him/her getting too frustrated.

Bathrooms available, as well as many benches. Parking is plentiful.
Cons: I know it was a Saturday, but there were a TON of non-disc golfers walking around the holes. Because of the elevation on many holes (especially the blind ones), it's important to look before you throw here.

A few of the ponds in the park are dried up. It'd be great to see them come into play as water hazards.

I'd like to see a couple of the insanely-wooded holes like Orange Crush in this course. Not a whole lot, but 2-3 would be nice.

I wish there was a way to realistically throw off the hill to the first hole for #18. I realize this is a safety hazard, but it would make a memorable last hole. I thought 18, a short anyhzer drive to the basket, was a big let down compared to many of the other holes--notably the last few back nine ones.
Other Thoughts: Between Orange Crush and Seth Burton, this park has the complete disc golf package. While it took me a long time to play both rounds, I can't think of too many better places to get a complete and diverse golfing experience. The elevation, OB challenges, and mix of open-air and moderately-wooded fairways make for a nice course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well done

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept 18 hole course that wraps around a park and the hill it sits on. Great signs and maps to show you the layout. 2 tee pads at most holes with work being done to add alternate pads to the remaining holes.

This course has a nice balance of holes and shows no favoritism towards RHFH or RHBH type shots. Most holes offer multiple lines and routes to the basket.

Good use of elevation. There are holes that play along the hill, up the hill, and down the hill. And even a hole that uses the steep hillside as a great risk/reward feature.

Mostly a nice walk in the park without and brutal climbs or hikes. This would make it a good place if you had a less comitted friend or spouse playing with you.
Cons: No big draw backs. One could nitpick something, but there was nothing that stood out to me as a negative. Probably the largest negative is that the is nothing that stands out as exceptional either. I didn't have one hole that really stood out to me.
Other Thoughts: This course is the type that plays through mostly open fields with just enough mature trees to force some shot making. This can be fun as it leaves you with several ways to tackle a hole. You are never really forced to make one certain shot. This is good in a fun-factor kind of way, but it also make the course a little easier than some others. Most of the holes are from 300-400 feet, but there ae a couple longer holes for those that really can rip a disc. The few shorter holes offer a little more heavily treed fairways to keep things fun also. There's even a nice short downhill ace run mixed in with an OB road directly behind it.
The other aspect of this course is that there are really no super memorable holes. There is just a bunch of decent holes on a well-cared for course. There is also new pads and signs being installed to help make this course even better. combine that effort with the Oragne Crush course on site, and you have a must play experience. It makes for a tough day, but this is simply half of a great two-course location. If you are travelling on I-79 make sure you get here.. It is wellworth a stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/10/2010   3/7/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seth Burton Memorial DGC offers a fun variety of obstacles and terrain. It is a fun and more forgiving course to play after Orange Crush, but it still offers a good challenge.

Moderate elevation change - throughout the entire course there is a left to right slope as the course wraps around a hill. Although it can be subtle at times this slope can cause a good shot to roll OB if you aren't careful.

Great Mix of Holes - Each hole has 2 tee pads and 2 pin placments. Change of pin or tee pad can give each hole a very different feel. The course rewards players that can use a variety of FH, BH and overhand shots. There is a good sense of balance between tight shots and open long bombs.

Good Use of Obstacles - Mature trees throughout, however fairways remain clear. The OB road meanders through the course giving you something else to think about.

The course is overall in great shape. The park is wel maintained, no trash and the grass mowed regularly.

Navigation is relatively easy. Tee signs are accurate and the course follows a logical flow counterclockwise, with only a couple that backtrack.
Cons: There isn't too much to hate about this course. It definitely feels like the entire course slopes left to right and that can get repetitive after a while.

Other Thoughts: This course is a fun change of pace to Orange Crush. It's almost unfair to have 2 courses of this caliber at the same location. This park is definitely worth going out of your way for, but plan for a full day to play both courses.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Park Course

2-4    9/11/2010   1/20/2011
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course's best attribute is its flight lines: grand shots along the hillside of a grassy park with towering shade trees. An OB park road that runs to the left of some holes and to the right of others places a premium on disc/shot selection. A round at Seth Burton will leave you with fond memories of stable drivers thrown out over the curving park road and fading back inbounds at the end of the flight to attack the pin.

Hole length, OB, sloping hillsides, difficult greens, giant trees, and two tees/pins per hole all provide challenge and interest. The course plays basically in a counter-clockwise direction around the crown of a big round hill that makes up a nice municipal park.
Cons: Seth Burton Memorial DGC suffers a little from ill-defined pars with a bunch of tweener holes. Short and long tees seem to vary widely in their difficulty by hole. I can't really figure out if they're designed for advanced ams or top pros.

Nit-picking a couple issues, the concrete tees are nice but are sometimes elevated a couple inches above the ground to risk a twisted ankle. Also, I find the tennis court on Hole 17 to be a little gimmicky, and wish the trees on the right side could be cut back so it would be clearer whether a disc landing in the tennis court was always OB or whether its flight path was inbounds before landing OB.
Other Thoughts: Make a day out of playing Seth Burton and Orange Crush DGCs. I liked Orange Crush a lot more than Seth Burton, but Seth Burton is certainly a much more relaxing round. Courses are located minutes from I-79. The West Virginia Disc Golf Club puts on fun events here, and I recommend playing one of their PDGA tourneys.

Have fun putting on this course, and see if you can best my 150' rollaway on Hole 1 during a PDGA tourney :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Interesting Course!

1    8/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained and has a unique mix of holes. I wasn't expecting this course to be anything more than a warmup for Orange Crush. What I found was that it was a very unique mix of situations requiring just about everything in my arsenal, many of which I rarely use and aren't polished as a result. My favorite hole was the short downhill par 3.
Cons: There are no real cons to this course. The one thing that I wasn't sure I was going to like before playing itw as the close proximity to the road for just about the entire course. I only recall a dozen or so cars passing us for our entire 2.5 hour round, so it wasn't an issue at all.
Other Thoughts: This is a great counterpart for it's sister course, Orange Crush.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: lilniners
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nicely labeled with maps as well as long and short.

The course tests your big arm while also bringing plenty of trees as obstacles into play.

The holes have flags on top to help gauge the placement and distance.
Cons: The holes are not marked to show where the next tee pad is located (although there are maps provided at tee pad 1).

Accuracy does not play a major role on this course. I like courses that require distance and accuracy.
Other Thoughts: This park has a great mix of courses between the Orange Crush and Seth Burton Memorial. One requires a big arm while the other requires accuracy.

I like to call this course the Lemon Squeeze to complement the Orange Crush.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Right Leg Needed a Stilt

1    5/2/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A unique course that plays along the top of a pretty mountain park with mature hardwoods, maintained lawns and an ever sloping hillside from left to right for 13 of the 18 holes. There are 3 holes that slope to the left and the other 2 go straight up and down. There are no true downhill drives here, but the elevation is constantly present providing for tricky footing, fast roll aways (hint:watch your disc in flight and continue to watch it after it hits the earth as often mine would roll to another zip code altogether..a few times I bent down to pick up my bag and was mystified at how my disc ended up 100 feet from where I thought it landed) A road that doubles as a walking route is also a factor in shot placement on 15 of the holes. So there is challenge deriving from sloping geography, roads, hardwoods, and some moderate distance considering all the oob danger and trees. There are 2 longer holes 12 & 14 and 2 very fun hill holes 8 going straight up to a hilltop green and 9 straight back down short floater with danger oob (road) behind the basket.Very scenic old park with interesting stonework throughout. Bathrooms and water available. I threw a good mix of discs. I found the stretch of holes from 8-14 to be the most enjoyable and unique on the course. 10 had a tricky basket perched on a bank next to the road,11 was a delightful downhill drive through the hardwoods, 12 was a grassy more open hole away from the road finally, 13 was a perfect hyzer line followed by 14 which was a perfect long anyzer line. Plenty to think about and execute while you are huffing and puffing trying to keep your balance. Orange Crush is nearby which adds to the overall site. 16 offered a great risk/reward as you could dare yourself to go for it by driving right up the gut and risk hyzering/tree plinking off the hillside to oob hard left or play a safer wider line and hyzer within approach range. Tunnel Shot of 17 is quite challenging as well.
Cons: I got sick of the ever present slope and the never ending road. It just seemed that too often I was hitting my drive only to hit a tree and hit street or worse land perfectly but then roll 100+ feet into the road. Cruel and not really fair.(not whining it's just too random for my tastes..I don't mind such holes sprinkled occasionaly on a course but when every hole plays the same way it gets tiresome) Effort was made in most cases to put the basket on flatter ground..but there really is no truly flat ground in West Virginia. Much of the course plays in a drive approach and putt manner in which birdies and bogeys would be rare for seasoned players. 17 is a bitch of a hole..probably best played by intentionally playing the fence or throwing short controlled putts rather than risk the steep and incredibly thick woods to the right. (what is it about West Virginia...it has the thickest spindly tree masses I have ever seen...difficult to walk through these woods let alone find an errant toss) 18 is a bummer of a final hole...I kept waiting for something special to materialize but I got letdown here. The steep incline walk from 14 to 15 would have been a great spike hyzer shot or steep anny IMO....would have been a chance to do something different rather than the same type of hole over and over.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that will challenge you and provide some thrills. A regular player here will refine his game as many types of skills are needed here. It's well maintained and only a handful of times will the thick forest come into play. I would avoid this one if it was wet or icy. I slipped and fell a handful of times.....I really don't understand the obesity rate in West Virginia...seems everyone should be in remarkable shape with all these crazy hills everywhere!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 my adopted home

5+    2/4/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: allinpflop
Played: 180  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, baskets, and signage. The course is layed out in a very logical way, almost no chance to get lost. Given the fact that the park is nearly flat (especially by WV standards) good use of limited elevation. Other park facilities available are a big plus for me. Bathrooms and water available except in winter. Everyone I have ever talked to at the course has been very nice and have had discs returned that I left behind.
Cons: Lack of variety as stated by others several holes feel vary similar in type of shot required and total length of hole. No par 4s or par 5s. Somewhat RHBH favored (good for me but no fair for all). At least for me many holes I can make my 3 and move on regardless of my tee shot and really have no chance to make the 2. Would prefer more scoring variance per hole. The holes have 2 pin positions but it doesn't seem like the local club moves them very often.
Other Thoughts: This course can be summarized as a fairly open course with lots of OB from park roads providing the challenge. As mentioned by others, the park has another 18 hole course that make for a great but exhausting day of disc golf. If you are in the area you owe it to yourself to give this course a try.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hate #17... but that's my own fault!

2-4    6/17/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in a nice park with other activities available (playgrounds, walking paths, run-down tennis and basketball courts). Seth Burton is on the same site as 18 more holes at Orange Crush.

Nice concrete tee pads and signage. When using the course map, just try to use it to tell you which side of the road the tees are on and walk counter clockwise around the big hill to your left. Otherwise, the map can be a bit confusing.

A nice variety of shot-making skills is required to score well here. The length alone isn't short, but it isn't overwhelming either. Most every hole presents many obstacles (trees mainly) preventing a direct path to the pin. You have to be confident with both hyzer and anhyzer shots. "Trick" shots shouldn't normally be needed unless you find yourself well off of the nicely groomed fairways. There are a few holes that present serious roll-away possibilities on hard landing approaches so you have to haave nice touch around the greens. The course presents a nice cardio workout as you're constantly moving up and down over the rolling hills of the course.
Cons: The course basically runs counter clockwise around a big hill. So several of the holes do play similar to others on the course. About half of the holes tilt down from left to right. This is just nit-picking, though.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to play. My title about hating #17 is really tongue in cheek. The hole kicked my butt all three times I played it. It's a "tunnel" shot of about 250' between a tennis court fence to the right and a severe dropoff into the woods on the left. The hole just spooked me each time I played it and the fence ate up my drives each time. I look forward to getting some payback on that hole next Summer. The highlight of my rounds was on #12, a 515' foot hole between the woods on the right and OB road on the left. It rolls over a couple nice knolls. At the time I played it, my drives were limited to about 250' So when I cranked out a 250' drive I was happy. But when I parked my 265' approach within 3' of the basket for an easy 3 (Pro PAR) I was thrilled.

If you're travelling up I79 through West Virginia, definitely check it out. If you're near Morgantown, WV (WVU), definitely check it out. If you're within 100 miles or so, definitely check it out. You shouldn't be disappointed.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.