Fairmont, WV 
Seth Burton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 284ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nothing Spectacular, but Very Solid

5+    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Seth Burton Memorial DGC is located in Morris Park just south of Fairmont. This park is always in top shape and is very well manicured. While there isn't a whole lot to do in the park, there are various playground areas, pavilions, and walking/running paths which are often used. The best part of this park is that it plays near Orange Crush, both starting at the same spot in the park. Both play around the mountain in opposite directions - Seth Burton winds counter-clockwise around the park, while Orange Crush winds clockwise.
-Only about a half-mile off I-79 for easy access
-Signs are in top shape and they tell you everything you need to know (except for pars, for some reason) - holes lengths from both tees and to both pins. There are L's and S's posted on each tee sign's pole, as well as on every tee, to guide you to your tee of choice. Two tees per hole, as well as two pin positions per hole, give a good variety to the course. Each tee and pin position offers a significantly different challenge.
-Baskets are DISCatcher and in top shape
-Tee pads are in great shape, concrete, and are a perfect length
-A good variety of hole lengths: 5 200-300', 10 300-400', and 3 400'+, including a 665' long hole from the white tees, and 1 < 200', 1 200-300', 7 300-400', 7 400-500', and 2 600'+ from the blue tees.
-While this is only a moderately wooded course, it it surprisingly challenging with the tree positions in the fairway and elevation. Elevation is present on almost every hole, which definitely affects your upshot selection. Most of the holes slant hard down to the right, while 8 goes hard uphill and 9 goes hard downhill
-There is some shot selection on most of the holes
-The road is O.B. and plays a factor into many holes
-A lot of chances to bomb a disc and a lot of chances for fairly tight navigation through some trees. Maybe the most fun aspect of this course is the emphasis it puts on drives. On a lot of drives, you have to make it past some close trees to the tee and in between a few in the fairway. If you hit the line you are in a good spot for an upshot but hitting an early tree can and will hurt you score big time. I can specifically think of 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 18 that offer this type of look.
-Navigation is a breeze and your chance of losing discs is very minimal, almost 0%. Rough is hardly present except on a few holes.
-The course circles around the park and right back to your car.
-Every hole is solid but*
Cons: -There is no parking lot here, but there are a few spots for parking alongside the park's road when you first drive in. On crowded days (usually just weekend afternoons), it can be hard to find a spot.
-There are no bathrooms when you first enter. The only one I've come across are after hole 7
-Because the course plays in the same direction around the mountain, the fairways are usually slanted in the same direction. It depends how you look at this, as it can be seen as a challenge or it can be annoying. I've thrown near-perfect upshots that rolled 20-30 feet down to the road. Again, it can be viewed as upping the challenge but also comes across to me as a limitation to the course.
-Course can seem repetitive at times, not a whole lot of hole variety.
-Most holes play close to the road, where people walk and run. Not an overly crowded park, just pay attention to non-discgolfers.
-*None of the holes really stand out as amazing.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course and always serves an enjoyable round. This course in itself doesn't offer anything spectacular, but it is a great course to play a league with it's awesome upkeep, cleanliness, and lack of a chance to lose discs. The best part about Seth Burton is that it is right next to Orange Crush. Playing or combining both courses in a day is a lot of fun, and since they go around the mountain in opposite directions, you can break the courses up playing the front 9 of one and the back 9 of the other. This gives tremendous variety for a day of disc golf. Be prepared to see wildlife, as I've seen big snakes and deer a few times here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

At Its Best in Tandem with OC

2-4    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 74  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This easily accessible course is situated in a picturesque, well-tended park. Parking is obvious and plentiful, and bathrooms are well positioned throughout the 18 holes.

Seth Burton features a good variety of possible play-throughs, with two tees and two pin positions on every hole. The white tees are beginner friendly while offering an engaging round for intermediate players, and the blues are a good step up in challenge that will give even the most accomplished DGCR stud a run for their money. The course overall strikes a nice balance on difficulty.

The course is well designed given the limitations of its placement around the park's perimeter. Thoughtful pin positions help break up the generally counterclockwise motion of the hole progression, and there's a good variety of distances and elevation changes, even though a few elevation changes (such as hole 8) seem more gimmicky than anything else. OBs further shape many holes and color their challenges without seeming unfair or too plentiful. I got a kick out of the old tennis court OB off of 17, which prevents the easy-way-out overhand throw (or at least makes it a much more challenging shot).

Navigation from one tee to the next is a breeze; very thoughtful layout in this regard.

Good-sized concrete tees are in great shape.
Cons: The biggest con for me on this course is how much its location and terrain dominates certain characteristics. All of the holes feel narrow or constricted to me, caused by a combination of the ever-present drop offs and the woods that border them. Yes, this adds a challenging aspect that spices up otherwise conventional holes. But it gets redundant after a while. Variety is one of the most desirable aspects of a course for me, and having to be wary of the slope on pretty much every hole detracted from my experience.

Relatedly, there is the potential for some massive drop offs that surpass the challenging and enter into the absurd, particularly on the back nine as the holes rise up the mountain.

I would agree with the sentiment that a few holes in the woods would have done wonders to add variety to this course. I like that Seth Burton is so different from OC, but even two wooded holes could contribute a welcome change of pace.

There are a few instances where a blind throw is disconcerting at the least and potentially dangerous in relation to park foot traffic. I'm especially thinking of hole 9 here.

A few of the tee positions make it hard to safely/comfortably drive due to elevation changes. These are the exception rather than the rule, however.
Other Thoughts: This is an enjoyable course that gains strength when considered in tandem with Orange Crush (which I didn't factor into my rating). It provides a nice warm up or reprieve from the demands of OC. While my instinct was to use it as a warm up for OC, depending on what time of day you arrive you may want to do the opposite, since the overhead foliage in OC means that it will get darker earlier than on Seth Burton.

Give yourself time to play this and its sister course - my rounds with a partner here have lasted six hours, including a short break for lunch. We weren't hurrying ourselves, but we weren't lackadaisical, either.

I haven't had any problems with non-disc golf foot traffic here, even when playing on a Sunday afternoon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Memorable Memorial Course!

1    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's start off by saying that this isn't Orange Crush, but that's a good thing. That course is fine as it is, and this serves as nice open-air complement to its tight-fairway/technical sibling course.

I say "open-air" with reservation because it's not like you'll be ripping drives way open in fields every hole. There are a few like that (#4,7,12,14), but the vast majority of holes traverse up and down hillsides with many trees in play. These holes have precarious tree placement, and many provide two different lines to the basket.

The road comes into play on a few holes, and the tennis course comes into play on the last few holes. I think this characteristic forces the thrower to thread the fairways with lazer accuracy. I used my fairway drivers a lot during this round and found myself getting a lot of practice of controlling my drives.

My favorite hole was probably #9, a very short and blind RHBH anhyzer drive downhill to a basket placed right on the hill. Even though the hole isn't long, the blindness and possibility of discs rolling onto the road made this one stick out in my mind.

Nice use of red and blue tees to welcome people of all skill levels. Overall, I would suggest bringing a new player to this course without him/her getting too frustrated.

Bathrooms available, as well as many benches. Parking is plentiful.
Cons: I know it was a Saturday, but there were a TON of non-disc golfers walking around the holes. Because of the elevation on many holes (especially the blind ones), it's important to look before you throw here.

A few of the ponds in the park are dried up. It'd be great to see them come into play as water hazards.

I'd like to see a couple of the insanely-wooded holes like Orange Crush in this course. Not a whole lot, but 2-3 would be nice.

I wish there was a way to realistically throw off the hill to the first hole for #18. I realize this is a safety hazard, but it would make a memorable last hole. I thought 18, a short anyhzer drive to the basket, was a big let down compared to many of the other holes--notably the last few back nine ones.
Other Thoughts: Between Orange Crush and Seth Burton, this park has the complete disc golf package. While it took me a long time to play both rounds, I can't think of too many better places to get a complete and diverse golfing experience. The elevation, OB challenges, and mix of open-air and moderately-wooded fairways make for a nice course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    7/17/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Mac Attack
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is an unreal disc golf course and I feel lucky to be able to live so close to it! I mean really it doesn't get much better than this. Mowed fairways, tee signs on every hole, Pro & Am pads available for every hole, challenging layouts, multiple pin placements on every hole, water available on a couple holes, old growth, & plenty of shade. WVDGA is really to thank for course with on going maintenance and upkeep. This course is in my top ten for sure and you would be crazy not to play it if you have the chance!
Cons: The only thing I would have to say is watch for joggers, walkers & pets. They are around and the course is built on a walking loop so please be aware of other people discs hurt!
Other Thoughts: I wish there was a 2 day tourney here once a year.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

More air on the topside!

1    5/28/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with dual concrete tees, nice tee signs and dual color coded Discatcher baskets on each hole. Good use of elevation, available trees, and ob for a mostly open course. Navigation is fairly easy and course map in parking lot/ pavilion. Water fountains. Bathrooms .25 mile left down park from pavilion. Course is well maintained. Course is easy to get to off the highway and the town has food and amenities within few minute drive.
Cons: There is some car and hiker traffic along the ob road that plays across much of the course. There was a copperhead eating a squirrel between hole 16's basket and hole 17 tee. I got attacked by some bees around hole 11.
Other Thoughts: The Seth Burton Memorial course offers a nice balancing out to the Orange Crush. It plays around the top side of the mountain and plays counter clockwise to the Orange Crush, so it slightly favors RHBH although there are some holes that favor RHFH. It's refreshing to be able to air out some drives on this course, but still provides an excellent challenge along with some fun ace and birdie runs. This is a great course for any skill level with the dual tees and baskets which provide quite a variety of playing options. Check out the course vid in the media tab for a good idea of what to expect. There is some good disc golf to be had at Morris Park, WV!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well done

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept 18 hole course that wraps around a park and the hill it sits on. Great signs and maps to show you the layout. 2 tee pads at most holes with work being done to add alternate pads to the remaining holes.

This course has a nice balance of holes and shows no favoritism towards RHFH or RHBH type shots. Most holes offer multiple lines and routes to the basket.

Good use of elevation. There are holes that play along the hill, up the hill, and down the hill. And even a hole that uses the steep hillside as a great risk/reward feature.

Mostly a nice walk in the park without and brutal climbs or hikes. This would make it a good place if you had a less comitted friend or spouse playing with you.
Cons: No big draw backs. One could nitpick something, but there was nothing that stood out to me as a negative. Probably the largest negative is that the is nothing that stands out as exceptional either. I didn't have one hole that really stood out to me.
Other Thoughts: This course is the type that plays through mostly open fields with just enough mature trees to force some shot making. This can be fun as it leaves you with several ways to tackle a hole. You are never really forced to make one certain shot. This is good in a fun-factor kind of way, but it also make the course a little easier than some others. Most of the holes are from 300-400 feet, but there ae a couple longer holes for those that really can rip a disc. The few shorter holes offer a little more heavily treed fairways to keep things fun also. There's even a nice short downhill ace run mixed in with an OB road directly behind it.
The other aspect of this course is that there are really no super memorable holes. There is just a bunch of decent holes on a well-cared for course. There is also new pads and signs being installed to help make this course even better. combine that effort with the Oragne Crush course on site, and you have a must play experience. It makes for a tough day, but this is simply half of a great two-course location. If you are travelling on I-79 make sure you get here.. It is wellworth a stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Changes making it great!

5+    1/31/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: discus stu
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course keeps getting better over time. With help from the local club, the course now has 36 tee pads (Long and Short) and 2 pin placements per hole. This increases the total course distance to 7,684 ft in its most difficult layout.

The constant OB road surrounding the entire course really challenges the best players. All the new tee pads and B Pin placements have helped the course mature immensely. No wonder this once Par 54 course now has an SSA of 57.

This course was designed by the '86 PDGA World Champion from Lavalette, WV #1700 Johnny Sias!

If you have time to stay and play for the weekend, the 2 blended layouts give you the best of the Seth Burton Memorial and Orange crush in 18 holes.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: The Tee pads are in excellent condition. The signs embedded on the tee pad were all removed from the short tees many years ago.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/10/2010   3/7/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seth Burton Memorial DGC offers a fun variety of obstacles and terrain. It is a fun and more forgiving course to play after Orange Crush, but it still offers a good challenge.

Moderate elevation change - throughout the entire course there is a left to right slope as the course wraps around a hill. Although it can be subtle at times this slope can cause a good shot to roll OB if you aren't careful.

Great Mix of Holes - Each hole has 2 tee pads and 2 pin placments. Change of pin or tee pad can give each hole a very different feel. The course rewards players that can use a variety of FH, BH and overhand shots. There is a good sense of balance between tight shots and open long bombs.

Good Use of Obstacles - Mature trees throughout, however fairways remain clear. The OB road meanders through the course giving you something else to think about.

The course is overall in great shape. The park is wel maintained, no trash and the grass mowed regularly.

Navigation is relatively easy. Tee signs are accurate and the course follows a logical flow counterclockwise, with only a couple that backtrack.
Cons: There isn't too much to hate about this course. It definitely feels like the entire course slopes left to right and that can get repetitive after a while.

Other Thoughts: This course is a fun change of pace to Orange Crush. It's almost unfair to have 2 courses of this caliber at the same location. This park is definitely worth going out of your way for, but plan for a full day to play both courses.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty to Orange Crush's Beast

5+    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seth Burton is located in a very nice quiet park with very easy access to I-79.

The course plays mostly clockwise around a large hill in the center of the park but the designer has done a very nice job of including a nice balance of BH and FH holes. The holes are mostly open with great mature hardwoods to work around and OB in the form of a very low traffic road. The road is a factor on all but 1 or 2 holes. This road does not feel gimicky at all and in fact fits in with the course very naturally.

There are two tees and pin positions on each hole that provide very different looks and levels of difficulty. This is not a course where the long tees just add distance. They provide you with different angles and obstacles.

There is a great mix of distances to the holes. Depending on the pins you can have holes that range from under 200' to almost 700'.

Elevation is used to great advantage on Seth Burton. Most holes have some elevation present and add a little extra exictement.

The maintanence in this park is fantastic. I have never played this course when the grass was overly long or debris was present.

There are two very nice bathroom facilities and water fountains located in this park but they are open only Spring through Fall.

Located in the same park as another 18 hole course, Orange Crush.
Cons: There are not alot of Cons for this course. It is a very solid course without being exceptional.

I love the old tennis courts along 17 but I know that this is a sore point for many people since they are decrepid and a bit of eysore.

Not the most difficult course if you can control a 300 ft drive and a 225 'midrange. There is not a ton of scoring variance for similarly skilled players.

There is an ever present slope to the course from left to right due to playing around the large hill. (not every hole but enough to make it feel like it)

There can be some navigation issues for first time players since the tees can be across the road from the previous hole with little or no indication of where to go.
Other Thoughts: Seth Burton always provides a fun and relaxing round. It allows you to air out some drives on a couple of holes but also makes you be wary of OB tree kicks. The OB road seems to be a con to most people but I think the course designer really took advantage of it to make the course play more difficult and force players to second guess what otherwise would be some very straight forward shots.

I always enjoy coming to Fairmont to take on Seth Burton and Orange Crush. This is in part becuase the West Virginia Disc Golf Association hosts some very nice tournaments here and do a great job maintaining and improving the courses.

Seth Burton is a good course to get a round in on but paired with Orange Crush, Fairmont becomes a disc golf destination.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Park Course

2-4    9/11/2010   1/20/2011
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course's best attribute is its flight lines: grand shots along the hillside of a grassy park with towering shade trees. An OB park road that runs to the left of some holes and to the right of others places a premium on disc/shot selection. A round at Seth Burton will leave you with fond memories of stable drivers thrown out over the curving park road and fading back inbounds at the end of the flight to attack the pin.

Hole length, OB, sloping hillsides, difficult greens, giant trees, and two tees/pins per hole all provide challenge and interest. The course plays basically in a counter-clockwise direction around the crown of a big round hill that makes up a nice municipal park.
Cons: Seth Burton Memorial DGC suffers a little from ill-defined pars with a bunch of tweener holes. Short and long tees seem to vary widely in their difficulty by hole. I can't really figure out if they're designed for advanced ams or top pros.

Nit-picking a couple issues, the concrete tees are nice but are sometimes elevated a couple inches above the ground to risk a twisted ankle. Also, I find the tennis court on Hole 17 to be a little gimmicky, and wish the trees on the right side could be cut back so it would be clearer whether a disc landing in the tennis court was always OB or whether its flight path was inbounds before landing OB.
Other Thoughts: Make a day out of playing Seth Burton and Orange Crush DGCs. I liked Orange Crush a lot more than Seth Burton, but Seth Burton is certainly a much more relaxing round. Courses are located minutes from I-79. The West Virginia Disc Golf Club puts on fun events here, and I recommend playing one of their PDGA tourneys.

Have fun putting on this course, and see if you can best my 150' rollaway on Hole 1 during a PDGA tourney :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.