North Bonneville, WA 
North Bonneville DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #5 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 397ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Diamond in the ruff

1    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Absolutely beautiful scenery
*Very fun even in high wind, there are enough trees to break it up for the most part
*Nice baskets
*Very well maintained
*Not much underbrush
Cons: *No maps on site
*Could use some arrows pointing to the next holes, got confused a few times
*A sign next to the tee box with the hole number would be nice (currently the # is only painted on the concrete tee box)
Other Thoughts: I just loved this course. After the first hole there is a long transition across the street to the 2nd hole. The 3rd hole you are throwing into the wind in a wide open area. The good news is you get to use that same wind in you favor on the next tee shot. We had some difficulty finding the basket on the 5th hole. The map makes it look like a gentle hyzer but in reality it is a sharp almost 90 degree bend to the basket. So make sure you know where the basket is before driving here. After the 6th hole there is the longest transition back to the 7th. On hole 8 the map is misleading once again as it is a very sharp turn with a big hyzer needed again. Got lost trying to find the 11th hole, we found the map misleading here. The rest of the holes had a good flow after that.
There were a wide variety of shots needed on this course. You get a few wide open drives, some good hyzer shots, & decent variation in hole distances. I look forward to playing this course again.


Currently I would say this is the best course in the Columbia River Gorge.

For those in the Portland area, if you are looking for a new course to hit, this would be worth the drive up. For what it's worth, I drove 45 min to get to the course and felt it was well worth my time.

As an aside I would recommend you skip the bar/restaurant there. The staff was very nice but the food was terrible and the place was a bit of a dive.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

1    11/11/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Different looks/shot types
-Concrete Pads
-Good Baskets
-Pretty good flow and use of space, first time a little confusing but nothing major, check map if unsure
-Good use of natural obstacles
-Clean and well kept
Cons: -No Tee Signs, but yardage is on pad which is good enough to get by
-No restrooms that I know of, which means if they do have them, they are not well marked
-Separation of some holes from the rest (2-6)
-Very close to road on several holes
-Many pedestrian paths crossing throughout the course
-If busy, there are multiple holes that could have players going opposite ways on the fairways, potentially backing it up

Other Thoughts: I had heard from several people that they loved this course, but I didn't see anything that special considering its location and relative isolation. If there was another really nice course nearby it would help to make it more worth the trip. It is definitely worth checking out and I do plan on going back. Had fun even though I played poorly and it was cold and rainy, but not windy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Almost great

1    9/12/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 94  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map at the entrance to the course (but spot for flyers was empty). Great use of the space with minimal interference or overlap. Busy course but not too busy when I was there. Open but well ranged and fairly technical. Well balanced course and great for practicing most shots. Excellent course to practice in heavy and steady wind (while I was there at least). Tees were marked with hole numbers and ranges.
Cons: Don't like the split across the street for two shots then four shots then back, especially without much direction to tee 7 without looking at the map again. Some confusion over next tee location from baskets, there were several shots where I threw at the wrong basket since I didn't have a copy of the map and wasn't familiar with the course. Some shots were mostly or completely hidden. Other than hole number and distance, no other tee maps were provided, making it hard to figure out where some of the baskets were without checking the map or scouting. Some serious hazards present, river (was dry at the time) and brier patches. Even if you can find your disc, you may not be able to get to it without serious personal danger/damage (I got lucky a few times).
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty good course but could be really excellent with tee maps/markers, bigger/clearer basket/pin markers. Transition from hole 6-7 is awkward and confusing since they are nowhere near each other and no good signage available at basket 6. Similar situation between basket 8-9, easy to get confused and throw straight to 9 since it's what's visible from the tee when 8 is a long left dog leg. No way of knowing without constantly checking the map or having played the course. Also applies to 12-13 and 14-15.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Oaks and Big Wind

5+    8/28/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: Pin placements make the course challenging and with the wind...big-small-gusting-breezy-you guess what's next!...it makes for a fun course. Some good obstacles very large oak trees and some punishment places for errant throws...a river and lots of blackberries. Enjoy playing this course. The last time out the wind was none existent and my score showed it :)
Cons: Signs directing the way to each tee box were needed. Have to be careful of others using the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice way to spend a couple of hours out in nature. Some great views and occasionally some critters...have seen coyotes, squirrels, deer, geese, beaver.

Phil Mickleson and John Denver Together At Last

5+    10/26/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At one time this was the most "country clubbish" course I'd played, by dint of the houses lining some of the fairways like a ball golf course. Yet the Gorge wilderness borders it on all sides and provides moments of scenic grandeur. The grass is immaculate, the trees and shrubbery mature and well-manicured, the baskets excellent, textured cement tees, upkeep impressive. Most baskets can be seen from the tees with the exception of #s 5, 9, 12. Some slight and some abrupt, though short, elevation changes. The mostly mature trees and varying length help shape a wide variety of throwing options, that may have you exploring your bag. New signature hole #6 is a real challenge with consequences: the basket sits on a boxing ring-sized pedestal built of 24" logs, right on the edge of Hamilton Creek. Hole #s 2-6, 9-11 more sun than shade, rest of holes vice-versa. Along with the "open" holes come stupendous mt. and Columbia Gorge views north, west & south, and we've seen deer, beaver, coyote, raccoon, large salmon, and various raptors while playing. Doesn't attract duffers due to isolation from urban areas, so it rarely seems crowded.
Cons: The wind is prevalent enough to possibly affect open-hole shots any time of year. Hamilton Creek just left of #s 4-6 is deep and fast enough Nov-July[rainy season] to make discs unrecoverable. Hole #s 9, 12-14 have some blackberry thickets, but maintenance has slowly been eradicating them. Aquifer seeps in fairway #s 2 and 3 create a very soggy walk--its best to throw near the hole, then walk along the sidewalk/road on the left and cut directly towards the basket. US Government property-don't get caught with alcohol/recreationals.
Other Thoughts: Mixed doubles on Sundays with an atypically friendly bunch of discophiles. Garbage cans on several tees. Store 300 yds from 1st tee. Playground, library and city hall in same parking lot. Great hike on Hamilton Creek just off Hwy 14 nearby.
Rumors of another future 9 holes on the property to the west of #4.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 N. Bonneville

2-4    12/6/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Corey D
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads,nice baskets,Great scenery with mountains,a river and Beacon rock, well groomed,The park is clean and well maintained,not crowded.Excallant pin placements.Hole# and distance painted on tee pads,Benches everywhere.we played 36 holes and only saw 2 other golfers *(it was cold ,but blue skies) Just a great place to be,i love it there.
Cons: Lots of wind,wind,wind, parts of the course can get a little muddy in the winter months,can't really think of many cons,oh and it can get windy.
Other Thoughts: If you have not been there I suggest you go ASAP , the drive up is beautiful in itself.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Tee pads are in; Layout still difficult

1    9/5/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: MvrnShkr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New tee pads have been installed and are painted with the hole number. Each basket has a small sign on top with hole number. The course is laid out amongst great oak trees with maintained grass fields between. Good variety on types of holes and length. A fun course to play.
Cons: The map at city hall and all three maps here are NOT ACCURATE. The "new" layout still doesn't make much sense. Hole #1 starts west of parking lot. Then cross road for 2-6. Return to hole #7 tee pad near basket #1. From there, the holes follow, but do not adhere to, the old numbering. This was frustrating on a hot day. Also: WIND.
Other Thoughts: This is a great stop for those traveling through the Gorge. Don't forget about Walking Man brew pub in Stevenson when you're done!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 long drive for a so--so course

1    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Friendly locals, who were installing tees when I was there. We had the place almost to ourselves. The arrows on each tee pad were helpful.
Cons: Windy, very windy, there is only 2 or 3 baskets were your not driving into the wind. The layout is FUNKY! I got lost trying to find basket 3 even with a map it was a real pain.
Other Thoughts: if they change the basket order it wouldn't be that bad. Basket 10 was a blind dogleg left that was wrought with prickly bushes more than just black berry bushes, EVERYTHING seemed to have thorns. FIX THE LAYOUT!!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the stop

1    9/6/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Sean Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great example of how a good course is made better by the environment around it. The course plays through a small but well maintained park, and the grass was so nice I even found myself throwing a roller or two. The front nine of the course is more open, and easier, but it is the back nine that really makes this course. It is more technical and there are more interesting holes. The course seems easy, but the wind coming off of the Columbia Gorge seriously changes the difficulty. The course enjoys majestic views and the area surrounding this course is worth the trip in and of itself
Cons: The signage was pretty bad and the course maps didn't really seem to accurately represent scale, layout or which direction the hole itself plays. Add on some really confusing and downright baffling course layout, and it really became a mess to navigate. If the wind wasn't kicking (and it almost always is), I probably would have found it a little too easy
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through the Gorge, take the time and stop here. The course was fun to play and was groomed well enough that you could play barefoot in the well-defined fairways. The course is dotted with beautiful trees, and they are worked into course layout in some imaginative ways that make short holes a lot more fun and dynamic. Don't underestimate what the wind will do to your score! Also, there are literally hundreds of waterfalls throughout the gorge, and they are worth taking an entire extra day to explore.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Prettiest Course You've Never Seen!

1    6/26/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady Oaks has a classical, traditional golf course beauty to it. It's doesn't have the breath taking vista views like Whistler's Bend or Tree Top DGC at Sorosis Park in The Dalles. It's set in nice sized city park. I like the way the city has layed out this park right next to and thus connected to the post office, the town hall, some retail stores and the surrounding homes. The views of the mountains, both north and south are lovely to look up at. The park's gently rolling terrain, mature Oak trees and pockets of nasty rough provide a wonderful setting for a course. The maintenance and care for both the course and the park are evident everywhere. The baskets are Mach 5's. The natural teepads are currently in great shape except for one on the other side of the tunnel. There are tee signs on wooden posts but three in particular are very close to each other and therefore, a little confusing. These signs are on 4" x 4" poles and have the hole number on the side and a metal plate on top with an arrow pointing to the hole. I think this course would appeal to everyone from newbies on up to top tournament players.
Cons: The flow of the course is a little out of sync. I followed someone's advice on the course home page and played it in his recommended order:
1-2-7-9-3-4-5-6-8-9-10-11-12-13-14-15-16-17-18.
Playing it in this order seemed to make sense. I would like to see the locals reconfigure the signs to follow this order. The wind is ever present here and adds to the challenge. Holes 3-6 in the other part of the park don't measure up to the ones in the main part of the park.
Other Thoughts: After playing the first 12 holes, I was thinking to myself how much I was enjoying this course and if it wasn't for the gorge winds, I probably have to put this course into my favorites. Then I came to # 13. An absolutely classic disc golf hole. Just a simple little (maybe 250 ft.) downhill shot through a natural fairway with a dogleg left at the end to a basket tucked away behind some trees. Thick rough lies just 20 feet left of the basket. Not a spectacular hole but more like disc golf's version of one of Augusta National's elegantly, beautiful holes.

Then I played # 14. Another classic hole. A little longer than # 13 with a slightly raised teepad throwing over a small valley to a peekaboo basket tucked nice in behind a small knoll. This lovely course has knolls. There is one majestic Oak tree dead center in your flight path.

Then came # 15. Another classic. You're throwing to another peek-a-boo basket tucked in behind two large Oaks. Some low hanging branches on the left eliminate being able to hyser in your floater. There is some serious rough directly behind the basket here.

And finally you finish with # 18. This is a very pretty finishing hole. Just a straight 250' shot to a basket guarded by some Oaks and a rock outcropping in front. Another classic.

After playing these lovely holes on the back nine, I've decided that this is my favorite course in Washington. Before some of you get all excited, Note that I said that this is MY favorite course, not the best course in the state. I realize that it's lack of length and overall challenge will keep many players from rating it higher. But for me, an aged recreational player with a weak arm, this course is as good as it gets! How I wish I lived closer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.