Disc Golf Store
North Bonneville, WA 
North Bonneville DGC Share
Uploaded By: krickerd Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 376ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course

1    11/11/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Different looks/shot types
-Concrete Pads
-Good Baskets
-Pretty good flow and use of space, first time a little confusing but nothing major, check map if unsure
-Good use of natural obstacles
-Clean and well kept
Cons: -No Tee Signs, but yardage is on pad which is good enough to get by
-No restrooms that I know of, which means if they do have them, they are not well marked
-Separation of some holes from the rest (2-6)
-Very close to road on several holes
-Many pedestrian paths crossing throughout the course
-If busy, there are multiple holes that could have players going opposite ways on the fairways, potentially backing it up

Other Thoughts: I had heard from several people that they loved this course, but I didn't see anything that special considering its location and relative isolation. If there was another really nice course nearby it would help to make it more worth the trip. It is definitely worth checking out and I do plan on going back. Had fun even though I played poorly and it was cold and rainy, but not windy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Almost great

1    9/12/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 94  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map at the entrance to the course (but spot for flyers was empty). Great use of the space with minimal interference or overlap. Busy course but not too busy when I was there. Open but well ranged and fairly technical. Well balanced course and great for practicing most shots. Excellent course to practice in heavy and steady wind (while I was there at least). Tees were marked with hole numbers and ranges.
Cons: Don't like the split across the street for two shots then four shots then back, especially without much direction to tee 7 without looking at the map again. Some confusion over next tee location from baskets, there were several shots where I threw at the wrong basket since I didn't have a copy of the map and wasn't familiar with the course. Some shots were mostly or completely hidden. Other than hole number and distance, no other tee maps were provided, making it hard to figure out where some of the baskets were without checking the map or scouting. Some serious hazards present, river (was dry at the time) and brier patches. Even if you can find your disc, you may not be able to get to it without serious personal danger/damage (I got lucky a few times).
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty good course but could be really excellent with tee maps/markers, bigger/clearer basket/pin markers. Transition from hole 6-7 is awkward and confusing since they are nowhere near each other and no good signage available at basket 6. Similar situation between basket 8-9, easy to get confused and throw straight to 9 since it's what's visible from the tee when 8 is a long left dog leg. No way of knowing without constantly checking the map or having played the course. Also applies to 12-13 and 14-15.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tee pads are in; Layout still difficult

1    9/5/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: MvrnShkr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New tee pads have been installed and are painted with the hole number. Each basket has a small sign on top with hole number. The course is laid out amongst great oak trees with maintained grass fields between. Good variety on types of holes and length. A fun course to play.
Cons: The map at city hall and all three maps here are NOT ACCURATE. The "new" layout still doesn't make much sense. Hole #1 starts west of parking lot. Then cross road for 2-6. Return to hole #7 tee pad near basket #1. From there, the holes follow, but do not adhere to, the old numbering. This was frustrating on a hot day. Also: WIND.
Other Thoughts: This is a great stop for those traveling through the Gorge. Don't forget about Walking Man brew pub in Stevenson when you're done!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for practice!

1    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: kristoferfaur
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) It actually is a full 18 pin course. There is an area separated by a street (pins 3 - 6) that feels disconnected with the rest of the course, but all 18 pins were up when I played.

2) The course does a great deal with little to work with. The design is good and maximizes the space to provide a true 18 pin experience. It's not one of your longer courses, and certainly there are quite a few ace holes (if you can actually control your disc), but it feels and plays longer than it should.

3) The setting is epic. Nestled right in the Columbia River Gorge, the views are spectacular! On the day I played there were clouds flowing down out of the mountains like billowing rivers.

4) It's only 35 minutes or so from Portland, which means that it's just far enough to be off of everyone's radar. I didn't have to wait at a single tee.

5) There is little chance of losing your disc. That being said, I found a lost disc in the river/creek that I wouldn't have expected to come into play.

6) Errant throws are not punished too harshly. You can let the cannons loose and not worry that a wild drive will screw you from at least a bogey.

7) Signage for the most part is good, but it's always wise to bring a map.
Cons: 1) The pins 3 - 6 were far enough from the body of the course that it wiped out any sort of flow for the front 9. Also, these fairways were soaked with standing water from a rainstorm from a couple of days ago. There isn't great drainage on this stretch.

2) There was no tee sign or obvious tee pad for pin #3. I ended up just choosing a spot and throwing...

3) ...except when I waited 10 minutes for the little girl on her bike to get out of the way. This is a pedestrian park, very much so, and it doesn't seem like the locals know much about the hurt that flying pieces of plastic can cause (I couldn't be mad however, she was just waiting for her mom and I'm sure I looked menacing).

4) No concrete tee pads! I never realized how much of my drive is reliant upon the dimensions of a concrete tee pad. I never felt like I could get a good rip off the tee. Also, on wet days these pads probably turn to mud.

5) The layout is somewhat confusing. Finding the basket for #10 was disorienting (but I really liked the hole once I started playing the correct basket). This course is packed into a park that isn't actually that large, and consequently there are areas where crossover occur. This could be a problem if the course is busy, but I suspect this is still too much of a hidden gem to ever get overly crowded.

6) The tee pads for pins #9 and #10 are right next to each other. Leave your stuff after your throw on #9 because you're coming right back.

7) There is a definite lack of elevation, but not all courses need it. You make due with what you've got, and it seems they've got a little wind to compensate.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, so much so that I'll probably be back. This is great practice for the technical game, as many birdie opportunities are available if you can just hit that line. It's a nice round of golf that teaches control through reward for great shots, as opposed to punishment for errant ones.

Concrete tees would help immensely, but the fact that an 18 pin course even exists out there is impressive enough. I will probably make the drive back out, but not on a wet day.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.