North Bonneville, WA 
North Bonneville DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #11 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 329ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Big Oaks and Big Wind

5+    8/28/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: Pin placements make the course challenging and with the wind...big-small-gusting-breezy-you guess what's next!...it makes for a fun course. Some good obstacles very large oak trees and some punishment places for errant throws...a river and lots of blackberries. Enjoy playing this course. The last time out the wind was none existent and my score showed it :)
Cons: Signs directing the way to each tee box were needed. Have to be careful of others using the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice way to spend a couple of hours out in nature. Some great views and occasionally some critters...have seen coyotes, squirrels, deer, geese, beaver.

Phil Mickleson and John Denver Together At Last

5+    10/26/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At one time this was the most "country clubbish" course I'd played, by dint of the houses lining some of the fairways like a ball golf course. Yet the Gorge wilderness borders it on all sides and provides moments of scenic grandeur. The grass is immaculate, the trees and shrubbery mature and well-manicured, the baskets excellent, textured cement tees, upkeep impressive. Most baskets can be seen from the tees with the exception of #s 5, 9, 12. Some slight and some abrupt, though short, elevation changes. The mostly mature trees and varying length help shape a wide variety of throwing options, that may have you exploring your bag. New signature hole #6 is a real challenge with consequences: the basket sits on a boxing ring-sized pedestal built of 24" logs, right on the edge of Hamilton Creek. Hole #s 2-6, 9-11 more sun than shade, rest of holes vice-versa. Along with the "open" holes come stupendous mt. and Columbia Gorge views north, west & south, and we've seen deer, beaver, coyote, raccoon, large salmon, and various raptors while playing. Doesn't attract duffers due to isolation from urban areas, so it rarely seems crowded.
Cons: The wind is prevalent enough to possibly affect open-hole shots any time of year. Hamilton Creek just left of #s 4-6 is deep and fast enough Nov-July[rainy season] to make discs unrecoverable. Hole #s 9, 12-14 have some blackberry thickets, but maintenance has slowly been eradicating them. Aquifer seeps in fairway #s 2 and 3 create a very soggy walk--its best to throw near the hole, then walk along the sidewalk/road on the left and cut directly towards the basket. US Government property-don't get caught with alcohol/recreationals.
Other Thoughts: Mixed doubles on Sundays with an atypically friendly bunch of discophiles. Garbage cans on several tees. Store 300 yds from 1st tee. Playground, library and city hall in same parking lot. Great hike on Hamilton Creek just off Hwy 14 nearby.
Rumors of another future 9 holes on the property to the west of #4.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Prettiest Course You've Never Seen!

1    6/26/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady Oaks has a classical, traditional golf course beauty to it. It's doesn't have the breath taking vista views like Whistler's Bend or Tree Top DGC at Sorosis Park in The Dalles. It's set in nice sized city park. I like the way the city has layed out this park right next to and thus connected to the post office, the town hall, some retail stores and the surrounding homes. The views of the mountains, both north and south are lovely to look up at. The park's gently rolling terrain, mature Oak trees and pockets of nasty rough provide a wonderful setting for a course. The maintenance and care for both the course and the park are evident everywhere. The baskets are Mach 5's. The natural teepads are currently in great shape except for one on the other side of the tunnel. There are tee signs on wooden posts but three in particular are very close to each other and therefore, a little confusing. These signs are on 4" x 4" poles and have the hole number on the side and a metal plate on top with an arrow pointing to the hole. I think this course would appeal to everyone from newbies on up to top tournament players.
Cons: The flow of the course is a little out of sync. I followed someone's advice on the course home page and played it in his recommended order:
1-2-7-9-3-4-5-6-8-9-10-11-12-13-14-15-16-17-18.
Playing it in this order seemed to make sense. I would like to see the locals reconfigure the signs to follow this order. The wind is ever present here and adds to the challenge. Holes 3-6 in the other part of the park don't measure up to the ones in the main part of the park.
Other Thoughts: After playing the first 12 holes, I was thinking to myself how much I was enjoying this course and if it wasn't for the gorge winds, I probably have to put this course into my favorites. Then I came to # 13. An absolutely classic disc golf hole. Just a simple little (maybe 250 ft.) downhill shot through a natural fairway with a dogleg left at the end to a basket tucked away behind some trees. Thick rough lies just 20 feet left of the basket. Not a spectacular hole but more like disc golf's version of one of Augusta National's elegantly, beautiful holes.

Then I played # 14. Another classic hole. A little longer than # 13 with a slightly raised teepad throwing over a small valley to a peekaboo basket tucked nice in behind a small knoll. This lovely course has knolls. There is one majestic Oak tree dead center in your flight path.

Then came # 15. Another classic. You're throwing to another peek-a-boo basket tucked in behind two large Oaks. Some low hanging branches on the left eliminate being able to hyser in your floater. There is some serious rough directly behind the basket here.

And finally you finish with # 18. This is a very pretty finishing hole. Just a straight 250' shot to a basket guarded by some Oaks and a rock outcropping in front. Another classic.

After playing these lovely holes on the back nine, I've decided that this is my favorite course in Washington. Before some of you get all excited, Note that I said that this is MY favorite course, not the best course in the state. I realize that it's lack of length and overall challenge will keep many players from rating it higher. But for me, an aged recreational player with a weak arm, this course is as good as it gets! How I wish I lived closer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Secret Spot, shhh!

5+    10/19/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Big Papa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll rank this an excellent course, for the added bonus of the surrounding scenery----the Columbia Gorge, the different vegetation/birds, etc, the much better weather found here at N. Bonneville is so worth the 40 minute drive from P-town, not to add the 0 crowds. This course is great for beginners/middlers. Advanced may find it a bit short. Nice mix of straight drives, dog-legs, blind approaches. No hazards, really. Again....no crowds, upgraded weather from P-town.
Cons: My friend KC Don showed me this place, I've come with him since. I get lost/confused easily, so it takes some insight to figure out the layout. Must be a map somewhere, take it with. I think the T's were either not there. However, since it's in the dryer area, they were OK, not muddy pits. Ibe toilet at the first tee, so plan it out. Drinking water midway through.
Other Thoughts: What a neat place---right in the middle of a village!!! Houses for sale, reasonably priced. I've wondered about going in on one, use it as a vacation/destination....ah, well, I'm sorta scared to drive the Gorge in the winter. Some local gent put this course together: "Who was that masked man, I wanted to thank him". Thanx, whoever you are. Well done!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole yet.

5/3/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Good long drives with a few dog legs and actual fairways. Well maintained course and ruffs off into the bushes. In the middle of a small town, quiet and friendly. Trails on the outside of the fairways.
Cons: Not a 18
Other Thoughts: Could make it a 12 hole with available space but, not required.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center