Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #15 (Taken 2/2015)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign

Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
One of my favs

5+    9/1/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: Tcollins88
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of trees making it a technical course. Several dog leg holes. Easy to get to. Hole 12 ends right by the parking lot and picnic tables if you want to stop or pause there.
Cons: Quite a bit of poison oak.
Other Thoughts: This is my standard go to course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice park course

1    4/15/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: Phlick
Played: 62  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 33.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has all a good course should. Benches. Trash cans. Restrooms - with running water. Awesome pro shop. Great tees. Incredible signage. Nice parking - easy to get to. Well designed/balanced layout. What doesn't this course have?
Cons: Bomber holes. (lack of)
Crowds. Has to be almost always.
Wind exposure
Old baskets
Did I say crowds?
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. The pro shop is well stocked and staff know their stuff. Prices are good and a discount was offered for PDGA membership - without asking. No maps available - but they're not needed. I'd like one for posterity - this was a course where no two shots were the same and each was memorable in it's own way. The tee pads are well placed and a good shape/size. The signage includes a washer on each tee pad indicating the basket position with accurate position/footage indicated on the very well illustrated tee signs. Benches were plentiful and needed on each of the tee pads. Lots of time/money/thought has gone into this course - and it shows. Multiple (3-5) pin placements on each hole ensure infinite re-playability and challenge for tournament set ups. There were no holes over 500' in the layout I played, maybe one or two pins allowed for this distance (maybe more - maybe none - I only played once) - but I can see this being tough in longest layout - the size of the park and layout of the holes easily allow. Wayward drives aren't brutally punished, but make for a tough save - which is a challenge in an open (for the most part) park setting like this.

This park challenges my rating evaluation system - it has it all. The only things keeping it from rating higher - outside of better baskets, which really aren't that big of a gripe - are really out of what this park can control

#1 Crowds.
#2 Bomber 500'+ holes - modern NT/gold level course size/design.

Would recommend and look forward to playing again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course for any skill level

5+    1/29/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 30  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
-Multiple pin positions for all holes

-Bench/seat on every hole to sit or put your discs on, instead of the ground

-Still challenging even after playing it more than 25X+ since I began playing disc golf

-Obstacles on every hole force you to bring out all of your tools in the bag

-Any skill level can play the course and play well

-Pro shop on site

-Bathrooms on site

-BBQ pit with tables under a large wooden canopy type structure, provide a place to relax after a round or just a place to get out of the Sun

-Pedestrian walkers not a problem, maybe 2%-3% of the time. Never been a problem for all the times that I've played there

-Plenty of parking, despite being a small park

-3 practice baskets: 2 by holes 1 & 12, 1 by hole 2 teepad
-Hole 5 on deep in the jungle should be a Par 4

-Get there before doubles start at 10AM, or you can and probably will be waiting for a bit

-Holes 1 & 2 are upshots and players in front of you might forget to let the trailing group know it's clear to play, so one in that group must walk up the hill and find out. 1 isn't a problem if the basket is in the short position
Other Thoughts: My home course is still enjoyable even after playing it a ton of times. The players that play here are mostly friendly, as is the Pro Shop and it's staff. Jim, the manager of the Pro Shop is one of the nicest guys that you'll ever meet. He is one of the touring pros in the Grandmaster division. Drew Gibson, another tour pro in the Men's Open division, has spent a lot of time joining his game here. The tournaments that are held here are phenomenal and I hope to enter one very soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Local Advantage

2-4    3/15/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design of this course is really something amazing. There are no holes that look the same and the land used is used in such an incredible way that it is really something special. The tee pads are nice and big and the baskets are consistent. The tee signs look nice and have accurate information. Final 9 sports is right there on location offering discs and other accessories. There are a lot of locals that clearly love this course and keep improving the course over time as they can. The flow of the course is good. There is a lot of fun and interesting shots on this course. As far as scoring separation from a good shot and a bad shot, this is one of the best courses I have seen. There is a very nice picnic area and practice area near Final 9 sports and teh first tee. There is a good amount of signage in order to find the next tees. There are several places on this course that simply look beautiful, as in the course itself looks beautiful. There are lots fo nice bridges and stepping stones to get over water features or other areas that become muddy. There are multiple basekt locations and a few alternate tees.
Cons: The baskets are older and could use an upgrade to the newer, better catching baskets. There are lots of places to potentially find poison oak. There are several holes that are very not begginner friendly. In talking with locals, I learned that the crowds on this course can be very bad, especially on the weekends. This along with the fact that several holes are on top of each other or have blind elements, there can be some serious issues. There is also tennis courts near Final 9 and the first tee with very run down bathrooms right there, only adding to the frustrations with crowds. The parking lot is not big enough to handle what I imagine to be the crowds that will be at this course. There are a couple of longer ish walks between holes that would be confusing without signage. There are some drainage ditches that provide some awesome water features when there is water in them, but I never saw water in them. There are some walking paths to go through the course, which may have people walking them without really know what is going on with the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is really good.and props goes to the locals that make this course home. The experience is really enjoyable and I would highly reccomend playing this course. Playing this course consistently will make you a better player. I feel like this course is only going to get better as improvements are continually made. The pyramid hole is something I was told was a new addition to the course and I thought was very well done and made the course that much more interesting. Even after a few rounds on this course, there are still holes that I am replaying in my head. There has to be a way to figure out how to play this course, but it is not necessarily a course that one can just figure out in one round, which will always keep things interesting. I was fortunate enough to play this course as part of the 2015 St. Patty's Classic tournament. I would highly reccomend playing in tournaments run by the same people on this course or other courses as they did a wonderful job. Really there are not enough good things to say about the people associated with this course in one way or another.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Where I learned to pay.

5+    10/8/2014   11/19/2014
Review By: Taz Michael
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very few hikers, bikers, etc to get in your throwing area. Lots of obstacles and water hazards. Not a beginner course, for sure.
Cons: Very popular course, so wait time can be a pain. The placement nails (for hole placement guide) are often wrong, so you throw blindly to a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The pro-shop is awesome. Very friendly staff and average pricing on their equipment.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Classic Course for the Area

5+    7/13/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: MrSpectroscopy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical
Good variation (doglegs L+R, distance, etc)
Pro shop on site
Good signage
Large cement teepads
Elevation changes
Cons: Crowds
Summer heat
Other Thoughts: Great course. The local club provides a good atmosphere. The course is well-maintained with bridges that span the creek and stepping stones in potentially muddy areas. Benches at every hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Majority Wins

1    8/5/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 33.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout with multiple hole types and complexity. Natural environment, with many elevation changes, albeit none too large. Water, trees, fences -- every imaginable hazard comes into play.
Cons: A minority of holes seem designed to force you to lose a disc or to spend time retrieving from trees, bushes, etc. A generally dirty track too, as there's little grass and wet conditions make things miserable.
Other Thoughts: Often busy, due to its popularity.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ducks on a disc golf course

2-4    2/2/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: Philbert
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady Oaks is a course that is good at testing your game in almost every aspect.

The holes are laid out in such a way that there are a very good mix of shot selection. Right to left, Left to right, and a couple straight down the pipe. Even a few tees that have some interesting trees positioned in front of the tee pads to force more line shaping.

There are also a few mandos scattered around the course to force safety where some of the holes come a little close to one another. 10-11 really comes to mind. Though again these server more to shape a shot more then anything.

For the most part, Shady Oaks lives up to its name and you play through a nicely covered oak grove. The wind if any is fairly restricted though out the course except the few holes that are opened up. 1, 2, 3, 5, 12, 17, 18.

Winding throughout the course is a small creek. I've played it both with water, and with out water. It was a far more enjoyable experience with the water due to a couple of pairs of mallards that have made the course there spring/summer home.

The course dynamics change quite a bit as the weather turns as there is not a lot of grass on the fairways. So expect some crazy skips when its dry. This of course leads to bringing the water more into play. Just don't hit a duck.

The tee pads are mostly wide and have a rounded front. I find myself really liking these tee pads. The usual at my home courses are 6x3. So these textured, wide, and open lined tees are a wonderful thing. The face that I can adjust my runup to align with my shot without running off of the tee pad is just a beautiful thing.

The baskets are good old Mach 3's. The pin positions are quite a bit more interesting then some places. Whole hole dynamics can be shifted based on the pin position. With the excellent tee pads mixed in you can feel like its a natural adjustment, more then a forced change to the layout.

Each hole has a solid tee sign, with distances and a quick route to get to the pin. There is also a marker that indicates the current pin position. There is also trash cans and benches at most holes.
Cons: Not a lot of cons on the over all.
-- There is a parking lot, but there is also overflow when its needed.
-- Poison oak is on the course.
-- Lots of people.Lots. This is most likely the premiere course for Sacramento so there are a lot of bodies out here. The pace can slow down quite a lot. Backups at hole 5 are very common.
-- Typical graffiti on benches. I have no idea what a disc charger is, or why I think a piece on non conductive plastic would need a "charge". I think I am going to have to form a club of anti-disc chargers.
-- Apparently the common litter bug wanders this course as well. Not very much. Mostly just cigarette butts being left 2 feet from the trash can sort of thing.
-- Bring some dawn. If your disc does end up in duck infested waters. That puppy is going to stink. Yeah.. For reals.
-- The ducks laugh at you when you miss your putts.
Other Thoughts: I like this course quite a lot. There are design elements here I would like to see at other courses. Especially those tee pads. There is just something about having the ability to actually play any position of pin on a hole with out worrying about your footing. This place in spring is beautiful. St. Pattys Classic is held here for a reason.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Shady Oaks - Me likey

1    1/25/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great selection of shots. Since I am new to the game (only about a year playing) I decided to play this course for the 1st time. I was intimidated going in, but that went away after a few holes. Love the layout: Long, short, dogleg left, dogleg right...etc. Lots of trees, probably why it has the name of Shady Oaks. Great scenery and they have a Final 9 to get supplies before you play or after the 9th.
Cons: SO MANY PEOPLE!! If you time it right on the weekend, you can get there before the regulars get up and out of bed. Small parking lot and really hard if there are lots of people to find a place to park. Water hazard can be a bit of a pain, but there would have to be rain in the area for that to happen.
Other Thoughts: When taking a large group of people to play here; more than 5 or 6, please be nice and let those that have smaller groups play through or at least hang back and let them go. I was behind a group of people that were there to talk, drink and not play really. It was kind of a pain, but only lasted until hole #3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

still my favorite course

5+    12/30/2013   1/1/2014
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start there's a pro shop on site with almost every disc imaginable as well as refreshments. There's a practice basket set up for around the wirld and 2 more in a horseshoe pit set up so you can throw back and forth. The course is 18 great holes through an oak grove right in the middle of town but once your on the 3rd hole you forget your not in the woods somewhere. There's a cool creek that snakes through many of the holes. The shots are long short medium left right straight and even some up and down. Some risk/reward and lots of fun. Great locals make this a cool place to visit. Restrooms on site.
Cons: Lots of people play here and if you go in the afternoon or on weekends you should expect a wait. Undercover cops looking for drugs and alcahol. When the creeks full there's risk of loosing discs.
Other Thoughts: I lived in the area for a long time and this was my favorite course. I've moved away and played 70 other courses and guess what....still my favorite. Stop here if your in norcal and patronize the shop. Jims the gyt who runs it and hes a grump but even grumps gotta eat.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.