Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: woodstock Hole #15 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket: Alt. location is on an island



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Majority Wins

1    8/5/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout with multiple hole types and complexity. Natural environment, with many elevation changes, albeit none too large. Water, trees, fences -- every imaginable hazard comes into play.
Cons: A minority of holes seem designed to force you to lose a disc or to spend time retrieving from trees, bushes, etc. A generally dirty track too, as there's little grass and wet conditions make things miserable.
Other Thoughts: Often busy, due to its popularity.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Challenging Tournament Class 18

5+    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moderate elevation change throughout course. Concrete tees and multiple pin locations on every hole. Quality signs on every hole showing hole layout and pin locations with distances and a washer showing the current pin location. Garbage cans at every hole. Great pro shop on site with a great selection of discs and gear, as well as drinks and snacks. Water in play on many holes. Challenging technical shots with many obstacles to shoot around. Good variety of hole layouts not favoring any single throwing style and requiring a lot of shot shaping. Well maintained course with a great group of regulars. Several tournaments hosted annually. Good scenery throughout the course.
Cons: Only one tee on all holes except for hole 12 where there are 2. Some holes are pretty open and depending on the pin placement can be fairly easy. This is an extremely popular course (and for good reason) so it is often busy, especially in the afternoons, which means you will often have to wait. Several holes are pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Sacramento area and one of my personal favorites. The course isn't extremely challenging but is still a lot of fun to play even if you're a professional. Holes 4-8 are the most memorable for me as they play through a wooded area with a winding creek running through. I would recommend arriving early if possible. I have very rarely run into a big crowd before 11AM but if you arrive after noon on a nice day you will most likely be waiting for a bit at a few holes. No alcohol is allowed on the course, and this rule has been enforced a lot by undercover cops this summer at this course. Also refrain from using herbs around hole 5 as the neighbors have been known to take pictures of disc golfers breaking park rules. I have heard that these neighbors have even made attempts to shut the course down, so please be on your best behavior on hole 5. Update (01/17/2013): Police still enforcing no alcohol policy on course; several people were cited around holes 4 & 5 by a plain clothed police officer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Chucker's Paradise

5+    11/13/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Pretty good layout, only a few fairways overlap

- Best Pro Shop I've ever been to on site. I cant imagine theres a disc they don't sell.

-Some really memorable holes. Love 4-8, which run along a creek bed and require pretty precise drives. Back 9 is pretty good. Two big ole bomber holes that I can remember.

- Course upkeep is nice. All the lines are well worn in, and trash is surprisingly sparse, given the number of people that go through on a weekly basis
Cons: - Crowded as hell, and not always a good crowd either. Even at 7am there are waits on some holes. This wouldn't be too bad if a lot of the crowd wasn't kind of douchey. Almost pointless to go on a weekend or holiday.

- Rough going when wet. Day or two after a big rain will leave the course super slick and muddy. The large number of golfers that come through really tear up some areas (hole 3 specifically).
Other Thoughts: I'm from socal, but my wife is from El Dorado Hills, so I get up to play this one 5 or 6 times a year. I really like the layout but the course is practically unplayable on weekends or afternoons due to the long waits. One of the best courses in the area though, and if you can get a weekday off I'd recommend checking it out.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shady is right

5+    7/17/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course right off of Hazel, making it super easy to find. There are a fun variety of shots, and creeks that run through lots of the property making shots on some holes more risky. There are tons of squirls running around the course. There are nice concrete teepads throughout the course with extended folow through areas. The baskets are all prety nice. There's a great pro shop on site if you need to pick up some new discs.
Cons: This is one of the most crowded courses that I've ever played. There is allmost allways a wait on every hole, and lots of groups won't let you play through even if you are playing way faster. The last time I was out on the course there was a cop hanging out in plain clothes giving people tickets for drinking and smoking.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Norcal

1    8/5/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great Pro shop with a helpful, knowledgeable person. Good signs with multiple basket positions. Challenging wooded holes. Good, long tee pads. Plenty of garbage cans and bench's.
Cons: A little crowded, but that is expected with the limited number of courses in the area. No memorable holes to discuss with friends later. Just typical, generic layouts. A little dull.
Other Thoughts: A good course, but nothing exceptional that would make me go out of my way to go back. I've seen other reviewers complain about the dust and dirt, but it's California. If you don't like it dry and dusty go up and play in OR or WA. It's sunny and warm, but that's the price of playing in most of the West. I'll take it over snakes and gators.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.