Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #4
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Classic Course for the Area

5+    7/13/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: MrSpectroscopy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical
Good variation (doglegs L+R, distance, etc)
Pro shop on site
Good signage
Large cement teepads
Elevation changes
Cons: Crowds
Summer heat
Other Thoughts: Great course. The local club provides a good atmosphere. The course is well-maintained with bridges that span the creek and stepping stones in potentially muddy areas. Benches at every hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shady Oaks - Me likey

1    1/25/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great selection of shots. Since I am new to the game (only about a year playing) I decided to play this course for the 1st time. I was intimidated going in, but that went away after a few holes. Love the layout: Long, short, dogleg left, dogleg right...etc. Lots of trees, probably why it has the name of Shady Oaks. Great scenery and they have a Final 9 to get supplies before you play or after the 9th.
Cons: SO MANY PEOPLE!! If you time it right on the weekend, you can get there before the regulars get up and out of bed. Small parking lot and really hard if there are lots of people to find a place to park. Water hazard can be a bit of a pain, but there would have to be rain in the area for that to happen.
Other Thoughts: When taking a large group of people to play here; more than 5 or 6, please be nice and let those that have smaller groups play through or at least hang back and let them go. I was behind a group of people that were there to talk, drink and not play really. It was kind of a pain, but only lasted until hole #3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

still my favorite course

5+    12/30/2013   1/1/2014
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 73  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start there's a pro shop on site with almost every disc imaginable as well as refreshments. There's a practice basket set up for around the wirld and 2 more in a horseshoe pit set up so you can throw back and forth. The course is 18 great holes through an oak grove right in the middle of town but once your on the 3rd hole you forget your not in the woods somewhere. There's a cool creek that snakes through many of the holes. The shots are long short medium left right straight and even some up and down. Some risk/reward and lots of fun. Great locals make this a cool place to visit. Restrooms on site.
Cons: Lots of people play here and if you go in the afternoon or on weekends you should expect a wait. Undercover cops looking for drugs and alcahol. When the creeks full there's risk of loosing discs.
Other Thoughts: I lived in the area for a long time and this was my favorite course. I've moved away and played 70 other courses and guess what....still my favorite. Stop here if your in norcal and patronize the shop. Jims the gyt who runs it and hes a grump but even grumps gotta eat.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: krife
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of terrain, elevation, baskets, long and short holes. Although there are no big arm-wrenching par 4's or 5's, there are a few that really tested my arm. Technical holes aplenty. The creek clearly adds a whole new dimension of difficulty when it is running.
Cons: As many others have said, this place is crowded. I spent at least 5 minutes waiting on most of the tees, and my round lasted 2 1/2 hours. I would also like to see some alternate tee pads, but with as many as 4 basket locations I doubt regulars get bored often. Poison oak on a couple of holes on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting Sacramento for a wedding from Seattle. My cousin and I certainly felt some animosity from the locals (especially in the pro shop) which was likely due to the fact I was rocking my Seahawks hat, lol. However, we ended up playing with two other twosomes who were very friendly and great course guides, pointing out holes where you need a spotter on your tee shots #3 comes to mind). Big thanks to Taz and Chili for showing us around, sharing the kind, and most of all pointing out the poison oak (which I was seconds away from trampling into)! Shady Oaks is one of the coolest courses I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A personal Favorite

5+    8/15/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: toomanymoose
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I learned to play on. After playing several other course I still put this at the top of my list.
The course offers a variety of challenges from wooded areas to a few wide open holes.
During the summer the fairways tend to be really dry so big skips and rollers are common. That could fall in the cons depending on your playing style.
The only course I have been to with a pro shop located on site.
They also have multiple pin placements which they change fairly frequently so your always getting a new challenge
Cons: The course is very popular so get there early to avoid crowds.
They are some who come who dont respect the rules, environment, etiquette, etc, and odds are on a busy day you will run into them.
When the water is running(or standing) there are a few places you may find yourself in a deep dirty water hazard and discs can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Still one of my favorite places to play. They have been cracking down more and more over the years on drinking/smoking, so if you chose to do so, try to avoid the areas where houses and other park patrons are around. There is no need to carry a 30 pack with you and be smoking next to a family having a day out at the park. I have seen this happen many times and that is a big reason why they are getting upset. Compared to other courses i would say this is the least lax course in that sense, that's why i at least wanted to say a few words about it.
Overall, if your looking for a challenging course that is fun to play, I recommend checking it out

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Course

1    1/26/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: JonCatch
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout. Numerous Trees to keep you guessing. Very removed from urban environment.
Cons: A small creek runs right down the middle of many holes and you might be fishing.
Other Thoughts: Lots of right bends, so make sure you bring your anhyzer game.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thank the shade of the oaks!

1    7/27/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very challenging course that has a creek that runs through much of the layout (creating more challenge and thoughtful shot selection). A little elevation is thrown into the mix on a dusty track (in summer) and replace this dust with a mix of grass & tall grass in the winter. The multiple pin placements were pointed out by the locals and had me drooling for more.

Though it was a busy day and I reached a log jam on hole #5 (see cons), the group ahead of me offered to let me play with them which added much enjoyment to my round. It always having good company (and course guides!).

Fantastic amenities - Pro shop, Around the world putting course, 2 other practice baskets, and restrooms!

Cons: A very popular course - so be patient and expect to wait a bit at the tee pads. Though other reviewers claim that people won't let you play through, I did not have this issue. Hole #5 is a typical spot for a log jam - due to the difficulty level of 5 & 6, and intersecting fairways. Beyond that, the waits were not bad.

The creekbed was dry when I played, but I was told that when wet, it is very swampy and easy to lose a disc in the deep water. I don't like losing discs (does anyone?), but some of the fairways are just waiting to gobble your discs - even with a seemingly decent drive.
Other Thoughts: Get good on this course in the summer, and then you will have the confidence to challenge that creek in the winter. I'm telling you, my shots would have changed to a far more conservative game if that creek had been running. At the same time, I look at that as a positive - I like to have holes that require some finesse instead of just blasting every shot.

Holes 13-18 seemed very quiet compared with the rest of the course - I played this convenient loop a couple of times late in the day, instead of playing the crowded front 9.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Valley Jewel

5+    4/22/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As mentioned before, lots of challenging holes and plenty of variations. Pretty good bunch of folks that frequent the place. Used by many age groups and ethnic backgrounds.
Cons: Beware of walkers, joggers, horses, family's etc.
Drinking, cigs and 420 have cast a shadow, unfortunately. Citations are not unheard of and the tolerance level by the neighboring home owners is growing thinner. The course post warnings to violators at the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: I love the diversity of this course. The dog legs and tricky basket placements keep you on your toes. The creek comes into play often and creates plenty of risk reward shots. I spent 15 minutes, knee high in the creek for 15 minutes, two weeks ago, and never found my Orc! Love that disc. Two day's later it was waiting for me in the pro-shop. Good karma to whoever you are =)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Sitzmann420
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety, heavily wooded to wide open, left's, right's, and straight ahead holes.
- Creek flows past many of the holes, sometimes crossing the fairways multiple times in a single hole
- Huge amount of risk / reward shots
- Distances range from short and sweet to long and wooded
- Nice concrete teepads
- Good signage
- Great pro shop onsite with excelent selection including many rare discs that they get printed for tournys
- There is only a little elevation change on the course, but it definatly helps add to the experence
- Easy to find, right off of Hazel.
- Trash Cans around
- Benches on most holes sometimes 2
- Practice baskets next to the pro shop
- Easy to navigate
- Great use of land given
Cons: - Usualy crowded during peak hours, sometimes with large groups, some of which won't let smaller groups play through
- Creek is often brown and deep neer the basket and can be hard to find a disc in
- Road noise on the holes neer the back of the course
- A couple of holes are blind
- Can get muddy in the winter and dusty in the summer
Other Thoughts: -overall one of sacramento's bests course

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home!

5+    12/29/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: CptSaveAPar
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady Oaks lives up to it's name as most of the round is played in the shade underneath the mighty oak trees. This is especially nice during the summer months when things really heat up. The pro shop on site is awesome, and has a huge selection of discs as well as food and drink. There are bathrooms next to the parking lot and 2 practice baskets are located just beyond the pro shop. Every hole has solid concrete tee pads as well as benches and trash cans. Multiple pin positions that get changed weekly ensure the course never gets boring. A washer system showing the current pin location is on all tee signs. Course layout is excellent, flows nicely, and should be fairly easy to navigate for 1st timers. Each hole is unique and different forcing you to throw many different types of shots. Considering the location there is a good use of elevation, and a creek that runs thru much of the course comes into play on more than a few holes depending on the time of year.
Cons: An insane amount of people play this course every day! If you come later in the day or on a weekend be prepared for what could be the longest round of your life. Also sometimes out here you do come across some pretty questionable people.
Other Thoughts: I learned to play disc golf here and while the course has changed over the years it has always remained challenging and fun. No two holes are the same and most offer a great risk/reward factor. Poor shots off the tee can be severely punished making par tough to get while there are still plenty of birdie ops to be had.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.