Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: Skwirly Hole #3 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I spend way too much time here.

5+    1/5/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: FatLarry
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I am lucky enough to play here almost everyday. The multiple pin placements and frequency of change keeps it fresh. A mix of long and short, right and left keeps the round fun mixing shots. The creeks and trees changing throughout the year is also a game changer. Having a pro shop may be a downside for my wallet. The locals are a good group, my game has improved greatly since I started playing the Get Bent Daily random draw doubles.
Cons: Lately parking has been hard. I am amazed at how seriously folks take bag tags, it's a key chain with a number on it for christ sakes. A thousand people play here everyday, I'd like to see more help with the course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: OV for life! Get Bent.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/2/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: TeetersMcClain
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms on site
- Practice baskets near the pro shop
- Numerous garbage cans and very little litter on the course
- Concrete tees and clear, accurate signage
- Signs posted for any mandatories
- Varied hole layouts challenge all aspects of a player's game
- Course layout is both intuitive and accurately represented in course maps
-Friendly, knowledgeable staff at the on-site pro shop
Cons: - Very crowded by 11:00 am every day.
- Extremely muddy for most of the late fall, winter and early spring
Other Thoughts: -Watch out for snakes, mosquitos, and dogs off leash
- Show up 15-20 minutes before sunrise if you want to get a round or two in before it crowds up
- See the pro shop for lost & found
- Beware of numerous water hazards from September-April, as the fairway for several holes are dominated by a creek.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Sacramento???

5+    8/29/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: martianmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Everything! Great layout, 18 holes, challenging obstacles, great indoor pro shop, each hole has multiple pins that are changed regularly, shady (thus the name), well maintained, plenty of friendly people. FREE to play.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc on many of the holes with all the trees. Can get VERY hot in the summer, but there is shade. Can be VERY muddy in rainy seasons.
Other Thoughts: This is my personal favorite course, I play often as I only live 20-25 minutes away.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Stoked on Shady Oaks

1    12/13/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very prominent DG community & culture. Superclean, well laid-out, superb teepads and signage, excellent baskets. High number of trees; played in fall, so leaves everywhere, but very aesthetically pleasing. Excellent flow to the layout, especially for the large crowds playing. Not too long, not too short. Amazing DG pro shop on site; easily found a rare disc I've been looking for. Benches at each teepad. Just a perfectly maintained DGC that has obviously been around for a while, and gets tons of traffic. Beautifully "broken-in".
Cons: Right up there with Golden Gate, Condon, & Sunset for busiest DGC I've played. Not too hilly.
Other Thoughts: This course compares with De La Raza in San Jose. Joined up with a couple college kids on 5th hole, and overall had a really great 1st time out.
==================
Uniqueness: A (a truly nice course; aged like a fine wine)
Difficulty: A- (tons of trees; more elevation would be better)
Fun Factor: A (great hole designs; tons of shot variety & drive options)
Aesthetics: A (gracefully aged for a 30 yr old course; litter free!)
--------------------
Overall: A

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 SacTown's Most Popular

5+    9/19/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: EG ChainRacker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -all the local pros play here (Oates, Billings, Anthon, etc.)
-2 practice baskets
-biggest pro shop in norcal on site (THEY GOT EVERYTHING THERE)
-everyone plays here
-short and technical
-multiple pin locations
-daily doubles every day
Cons: -not alot but it does get crowded sometimes and alot of people do lose discs here alot but i have yet to lose a disc here
Other Thoughts: don't come and play here unless your ready because this course is not begginer freindly

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Good the Bad and the Ugly

5+    12/23/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has all the shots with many alternate pin locations.Tuff technical yet forgining to to novice
Cons: Increased popularity has overwhelmed course traffic causing huge crowds causing very slow play. Too many lets go just to get drunk and stoned and cause a ruckus type of people who dont respect this game or people for that matter
Other Thoughts: Pro shop on site. But dont expect great customer service or product knowledge of anything other than popular Innova prouducts.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great!!!

1    6/30/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: bongripper0420
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offered alot of different types of shots, mostly techinal, with very few wide open shots. Lots of unique uphill/downhill shots. Layout was o.k., fairly easy to follow. Pro shop on site is a big plus in my book. Locals seemed really friendly and willing to lend a hand.
Cons: REALLY DUSTY!!! Not used to playin a course that was that dry and come out as dirty as I did!!
Other Thoughts: All and all this was a unique experience for me as I will probably not be in the area for a few more years. really enjoyed all the courses in northern cali. and cant wait to get out here again. If your in the area I definetly reccomend this course. A must play!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    7/11/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best designed courses I have ever played. They built a fantastic course on a relatively small amount of land. You have to be able to control your disc and must be able to throw many different types of shots to play well here.

The course runs through a grove of great oak trees with lots of shade, and OB due to the creeks that traverse through the course.

Great pro shop, well marked signs with daily pin indicators, it's a professionally run course. It's a must play course.
Cons: Honestly not much, holes 1, 2, and 11 (I think) were pretty lackluster, but the rest of the course is solid. That said, how many times can you pick out only a couple of bad (or normal) holes, and it's not the other way around?
Other Thoughts: The day I played this course they had every pin in the long position which made it much more fun for me.

It's a natural course so the greens were fast and it was dusty and stuff, I personally like these conditions, but others may not. The creeks were dry too, which made it much less stressful since there was little chance to lose a disc, in the spring this must be a killer course.

I also played with my friend as a guide and by his advice got there at 8 to miss the crowds. So I had a great day, but as we were coming off the local guys were just starting so I could see where some of the other ppls comments were coming from.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Best course in Cal!!!

5+    12/20/2008   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course in the central valley, You have to travel to Santa Cruz to find better!
Pro shop on the course!!
Chit load of inventory!!!
Great staff!
Course has water hazards during wet season.....
Elevation changes annd a lot of tunnel shots.
Cons: The fact that I moved and won't have to contribute to the Oates reteriment fund!
Other Thoughts: Home of the Christmas classic in the central valley series.
Home of Master Champion Jim Oates
Tall guy dark hair throws like a 20 under.....donate your money!!!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.