Disc Golf Center
Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #6 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Excellent and technical course

5+    5/18/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: dantheman0721
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -18 holes with many diffirent pin locations
-Lots of different types of holes, this course will teach you how to do it all
-Nice wooded setting, nice mix of trees and a stream runnning through
-Great pro shop on site

Cons: - Usually very busy
-Lots of "Riff Raff" - high schoolers throwing tomahawks 50 feet into a tree, 38 year old guys with no shirt and a pony tail(really dude? really?), etc...
- Hole 5 has a pin location that is 500 something feet deep, secluded by trees. I don't mind that it's still a par 3, but it really slows the flow of the course.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course when theres not a 20 minute wait to tee off at hole 1. Great diversity of holes and many pin locations make no round ever the same. Decent amount of locals that are good and friendly. The only problem I have are the low-life people with 1 disc and a 6 pack and don't let people play through. They had a security guard hanging out the past 3 months or so, but haven't seem him the past couple weeks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/21/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 123  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lot's of variety, heavily wooded to wide open, left's, right's, and straight ahead holes.
- Creek flows past many of the holes, sometimes crossing the fairways multiple times in a single hole
- Huge amount of risk / reward shots
- Distances range from short and sweet to long and wooded
- Nice concrete teepads
- Good signage
- Great pro shop onsite with excelent selection including many rare discs that they get printed for tournys
- There is only a little elevation change on the course, but it definatly helps add to the experence
- Easy to find, right off of Hazel.
- Trash Cans around
- Benches on most holes sometimes 2
- Practice baskets next to the pro shop
- Easy to navigate
- Great use of land given
Cons:
- Usualy crowded during peak hours, sometimes with large groups, some of which won't let smaller groups play through
- Creek is often brown and deep neer the basket and can be hard to find a disc in
- Road noise on the holes neer the back of the course
- A couple of holes are blind
- Can get muddy in the winter and dusty in the summer
Other Thoughts: Shady Oaks is a wonderfuly varied course in the Sacramento area. I would definatly say that it is the best course in the Sac area by what I've played The biggest problem that I think this course has is that it is busy, but the only way to help with this would be to put in more good courses in the area. The pro shop thats on location is the best spot in Sac to buy discs. Thier selection is top notch, with many discs that you usualy can't buy in retail (Cryztal Challenger's, Champion Archangels etc...). They also have bags, straps, clothing, food, drinks, and all kinds of other stuff.

For the St. Patty's tourny they also put in some extra holes along the backside of the course. These holes are mostly short and overgrown, with lots of poison oak. They also have natural teepads. I would probably rate this course a little lower if these holes were part of the perminant course in thier current condition, but as they are only used for the tourny I won't hold them against the course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/14/2010   12/2/2010
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Excellent layout
- Requires a multitude of shots
- No ridiculously long holes or stupidly difficult pins, save for the longest placement on hole 5
- Variety in pin locations, selections, hole designs, etc.
- Practice baskets in a devoted area
- Despite other reviews, actually does have grass in the winter/spring months
Cons: - Can get dusty
- Gotta get there before 10 AM, because the doubles think they own the place
- Sometimes is the place of disc golfers that choose to partake in objectionable actions or substances
- Customer service in the pro shop is absolutely horrible
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned to play. While I wouldn't recommend it for all other beginners, it definitely did serve to make me climb the learning curve much, much faster than a completely wide-open course (such as Elk Grove DGC).

The customer service in the shop is terrible. Jim Oates seems to think he's God's great gift to disc golf, and has had the attitude to support that notion each time I've spoken with him. A few of the other workers in the shop sport the same attitude, which is why I'll happily go play the course, but won't give Jim or his employees another cent.

In short: great course, terrible administration.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Memories of MN, Balboa Park

1    10/31/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: chonb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: While this course doesn't have the 1000+ holes that other top rated places seem to [DLV, North Tahoe, etc etc], this course has charm and difficulty to boot. It reminds me of Kaposia, Blue Ribbon Pines, or other Minnesota courses that don't have extreme distance or elevation changes but make up for it with phenomenal layout, and a priority on a skill set to navigate the tight, technical shots required for birdies.

You meander along a creek during the front 9, you get challenged by the eponymous shady old growth Oaks on the back 9, so the entire round is extremely enjoyable.

A pro shop? And you don't have to pay?? I haven't seen a pro shop since balboa park in san diego.

Cons: Folks say it gets busy, but I've got to say I've never been treated better - 3 groups let me and my partner play through on a relatively busy Sunday morning. Nothing compared to what I've seen at Balboa in SD though, where you better bring a mini-keg & a radio.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, part of what made the experience so great were the friendly and helpful locals.

This is definitely the kind of course you could come back to many times.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 SacTown's Most Popular

5+    9/19/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: EG ChainRacker
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -all the local pros play here (Oates, Billings, Anthon, etc.)
-2 practice baskets
-biggest pro shop in norcal on site (THEY GOT EVERYTHING THERE)
-everyone plays here
-short and technical
-multiple pin locations
-daily doubles every day
Cons: -not alot but it does get crowded sometimes and alot of people do lose discs here alot but i have yet to lose a disc here
Other Thoughts: don't come and play here unless your ready because this course is not begginer freindly

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/9/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: woodstock
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has good sized tees and the baskets are in great shape. Easy to find your way around. Great lefts and rights and elevation changes. Some holes have a tunnel of trees that makes play even on a hot day very pleasant. Most holes have birdie oppurtunities. Pro shop on premises has a great selection of discs and gear, Also sells drinks and snacks.
Cons: This is one of the best courses around so it gets alot of traffic. Expect to find newbs that dont know when to let faster groups play through. 10 or 15 minute waits are not uncommon on the tees. Parking is tough on the weekends.

Other Thoughts: The best time to play is in the morning. I think this is one of the best courses in CA out of the ones ive played.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The Facts

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: AviarThrower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multible pin placements on every hole that are rotated randomly every monday.
-Challenging layout requiring multible different types of shots that have you playing under and through massive oak trees, with a winding creek and several OB on or beyond locations.
-Big Teepads -Nice Signs everywhere,
-1 or 2 Benches on every hole -Garbage cans -Bathrooms
-Huge putting area with 2 baskets!
-Locals that love the course and are respectfull of the game & it's rules.
-Many good players to challenge.
Random Doubles/Acepot10:00am daily! $5.00
Cons: -This course does not have a water fountain!
-Since it's the only course around it's overcrowded daily.
-Alot of dumb Park Users generally do not think to use a leash on their dog, even when they know the dog is not trained & will not obey basic commands such as no sit or stay. Therefore if you have a little or exotic dog you should not bring it, as there could be trouble from free roaming large dogs.
-There is never any women in bikinis. NEVER!!
Other Thoughts: Unlike all other courses nearly everywhere the parks & recreation provide nearly nothing to the physical course other than to empty the trash cans and mow the grass. It is the local players who have made & continue to make this course happen. Respect is due to all the awesome locals who over this courses long history have donated their time, labor, & materials.
Also..There is a huge differance between a Park User and a dedicated Disc Golfer is there not people? On a average day Park Users outnumber the real golfers 50-1 or more at Shady Oaks. This is a public park so these degenerate people only use/abuse/litter/leave.
Much like any other public place without supervision. So meeting a few will happen.
The rule I see posted on a sign on hole 1 states.. that 6 max is the largest group that should be played. The locals follow that rule thus the sign & will generally always let a smaller group play through if asked. I like Shady Oaks and I hope you will want to try it after reading this review.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Just Fun

5+    6/20/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: DGwitty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging and comprehensive layout
- Under tree canopy over half of time yet still open
-a creek runs through it
-VERY fun for the beginner and moderate pro alike
-uses washer system for alternate pins
-great mix of short, medium and long holes
- Nice atmosphere
Cons: - can be hot and dusty
- people can seem a little 'shady'
- popular course so it can be a little crowded
Other Thoughts: My favorite course so far.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Course covers the full spectrum of technicality
-Love how this course takes you in and out of the trees going from long open holes to short technical holes
-Signs indicate basket placement
-nice big tee pads
-pro shop on course
-warm up baskets
-Nice use of elevation change, has couple nice holes that throw downhill
-couple great dog leg holes which is quite rare for most courses
Cons: -gets crowded
-This course should change its name from Shady Oaks to Shady Folks because of all the riffraff that play here
-Could use an uphill hole
Other Thoughts: -Best course I've played in the central valley by far

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shady P**ks

5+    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Pro shop that carrys most manufacturers like Discraft,Discwing,Gateway,Lat 64 and Innova and more.
- Practice area has two baskets in the putting area
- Large tee pads on all holes.
- Course flows well from hole to hole with very few if any pedestrian traffic to hold you up.
- Diverse and challenging course design with water (creek),elevations,hyzer,anhyzer pin placements.
- Clean throughout the course with trash cans and benches sometimes two benches.
Cons: - Can be crowded during the peak times.
- Parking can be tough during the peak times too.
- Peak times 10:00am 3:00pm.
- People like to start on holes 11 or 12.
Other Thoughts: - You can practice your drives on the soccer field just on the other side of the park and also additional parking available. Just follow the path going through the course area.
- Banks near the creeks can be very slippery

UPDATE: After reading this review I can't believe that I left out the fact that it's an awesome course and I make it a point to play here or at least putt a few.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.