Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #11 (Taken 2/2015)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    5/9/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: fuzthepoet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very senic. Muti pins per hole for verity. Some really wicked water hazards. Disc golf shop on sight
Cons: very crowded on weekends. Small parking area. Poison oak at times
Other Thoughts: go early on a sunday morning, the course is very empty at around 7:30am in the summer before it get to hot.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Best course in Cal!!!

5+    12/20/2008   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course in the central valley, You have to travel to Santa Cruz to find better!
Pro shop on the course!!
Chit load of inventory!!!
Great staff!
Course has water hazards during wet season.....
Elevation changes annd a lot of tunnel shots.
Cons: The fact that I moved and won't have to contribute to the Oates reteriment fund!
Other Thoughts: Home of the Christmas classic in the central valley series.
Home of Master Champion Jim Oates
Tall guy dark hair throws like a 20 under.....donate your money!!!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Sacramento

2-4    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Produces very challenging shots, and has a lot of changes in elevation. Plenty of good players to play with. Great pro shop.
Cons: Many of the baskets and fairways are hidden, making it difficult to track a disc after tee or approach. Two sections of the course are pretty much in a swamp in the early summer. Tons of mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Sacramento by far. A little bit of a trek for some, but worth it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Shady Oaks

5+    4/2/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Axel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee's. Benches at every hole. Lots of shade. Stretegic course, lots of long range, mid range, open, short and difficult closed fairway shots.
Cons: Too many people. Not enough parking. People drink WAYY too much and can be very annoying. Lots of trash. You can smell burned pot (marijuana) at every hole some days. The drunk people take 5-10 minutes to tee off with no one in front of them sometimes.
Other Thoughts: I love the course. Charge to get in ($2.00 per group or person) for course upkeep. Ban drinking and smoking pot. At least the drunks...need to go.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

2-4    11/29/2008   3/6/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The pro shop is great with a huge assortment of discs, equipment, and don't forget advice
-All concrete tee pads with ample space allotted
-Multiple pin placements which are changed routinely
-Trees add great difficulty depending on pin placement
-A nice variety of short, long, confined, and open holes
-Technical course for sure
Cons: -It can get extremely busy at times
-Bugs can be a nuisance when you toss one in the creek
-More signage is needed between some of the holes
-Very worn course (beware of unwanted skippage)
-Some people drink way too much and can sometimes ruin your day
-Parking can get hectic at times since there's not much of it
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course I played and it completely showed. I wasn't even playing with the correct type of disc but the people understood and encouraged me to keep playing (and perhaps acquire a few discs). The course is a pleasant find amongst the sprawling urban landscape. If your in the area I would definitely stop by. Just remember that if your going on a weekend expect to have long waits in between holes.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Shady as...

5+    2/23/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical and challenging course. Well marked, they have a dial for the pin placements, and maps on every tee. Concrete tee pads, bathrooms, trash cans, benches. A couple of practice baskets. It is a wonderful course...but the people suck.
Cons: The people suck. I am from Sac, and I have no problem saying these people suck. They all think they are pros, because Jim Oates has a pro shop on site. Groups of 10 on every hole and nobody lets anybody pass...ever. There is zero etiquette. The worst place I have ever played by far.
Other Thoughts: The name says it all...SHADY! . 9 times out of 10 it will be a bad experience playing there. It's a wonderful course, but the people suck.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Oaks

2-4    11/9/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course to learn and work on your game. A good challenge for experienced players, but navigatable and fun for newbs. Warm up baskets are great. On site pro shop is a plus, but can be overwhelming for first timers.
Cons: Can be crowded - early in the day is best. Was surprised to see a constant flow of players on Thursday afternoon. I would love to see a roomier area to warm up - there is a small grassy area near the parking lot to practice short throws, but can't let it rip until you tee off. Course can be difficult to follow at a few spots, but for the most part it's fairly well marked.
Other Thoughts: Being the first course I played, I have a warm fuzzy for it. The course has a good selection of hole layouts, though only a couple are long enough to challenge big arms. 3 or 4 holes can be daunting to newbs, but most are accessible with mediocre shots. The corwds keep this course from being my group's regular hangout. There seems to be a fairly large "clueless" sect of players who don't get the concept of letting quicker groups play through and there is a regular problem of people cutting in at hole 13, causing unneeded delays. The flow seems to accordian throughout the round. It can be sluggish to start and then open up and flow, only to find 2 or 3 groups waiting on a tee box. Many groups exit after 12 which can open things up again if you don't have the cut ins.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    7/16/2005   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: lots of technical shots, lots of hallway shots, lots of trees. Really nice disc golf shop with great selection of discs right next to the course. I got an ace on 17 when I played there. I was pretty stoked.
Cons: lots of people in really big groups with beginners so I had to wait on a lot of holes, when I played there it was hot as hell.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good times?

1    10/29/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: blackskies
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: pro shop is excellent. Course has all the challenges you need. Benches at every tee box.
Cons: crowded. Seems to be the party spot so a lot of people are carrying coolers and taking their sweet ass time. When I was there, there were several large groups of 8 plus that had total disregard for other players. The "thug" mentality of alot of the players was too much

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better but busier

7/31/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: DuBose
Played: 54  Reviewed: 8
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great challenging course with a huge variety of left hand, right hand, open, tight, long and short shots. Just when you think you are getting the course nailed down it seems like they are always adding another pin placement. Because of 2 or 3 pin placements and the fact they change them up frequently, it's hard to get boared playing this course. Ever since the pro shop has been on site, the course has been much cleaner and better kept.
Cons: Lot's of underbrush and dead trees make this less atractive than many other courses. Also because of the lack of courses in the area and the growing popularity of the sport, the course is very busy and also looks well used. Most of the time you will have a to wait to tee off and sometimes you can get a large group ahead of you that can move pretty slow. As long as you expect this and try and plan for it, you will still enjoy your round. If you go on a weekend, you might have a problem parking.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's nice to see that this course continues to improve. The pro shop is great with a HUGE selection of disc at a reasonable price. I got a great portable basket there that is perfect to take out back or to a friend house to putt at.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.