Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #6
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Classic Course for the Area

5+    7/13/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: MrSpectroscopy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical
Good variation (doglegs L+R, distance, etc)
Pro shop on site
Good signage
Large cement teepads
Elevation changes
Cons: Crowds
Summer heat
Other Thoughts: Great course. The local club provides a good atmosphere. The course is well-maintained with bridges that span the creek and stepping stones in potentially muddy areas. Benches at every hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Majority Wins

1    8/5/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging layout with multiple hole types and complexity. Natural environment, with many elevation changes, albeit none too large. Water, trees, fences -- every imaginable hazard comes into play.
Cons: A minority of holes seem designed to force you to lose a disc or to spend time retrieving from trees, bushes, etc. A generally dirty track too, as there's little grass and wet conditions make things miserable.
Other Thoughts: Often busy, due to its popularity.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ducks on a disc golf course

2-4    2/2/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: Philbert
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady Oaks is a course that is good at testing your game in almost every aspect.

The holes are laid out in such a way that there are a very good mix of shot selection. Right to left, Left to right, and a couple straight down the pipe. Even a few tees that have some interesting trees positioned in front of the tee pads to force more line shaping.

There are also a few mandos scattered around the course to force safety where some of the holes come a little close to one another. 10-11 really comes to mind. Though again these server more to shape a shot more then anything.

For the most part, Shady Oaks lives up to its name and you play through a nicely covered oak grove. The wind if any is fairly restricted though out the course except the few holes that are opened up. 1, 2, 3, 5, 12, 17, 18.

Winding throughout the course is a small creek. I've played it both with water, and with out water. It was a far more enjoyable experience with the water due to a couple of pairs of mallards that have made the course there spring/summer home.

The course dynamics change quite a bit as the weather turns as there is not a lot of grass on the fairways. So expect some crazy skips when its dry. This of course leads to bringing the water more into play. Just don't hit a duck.

The tee pads are mostly wide and have a rounded front. I find myself really liking these tee pads. The usual at my home courses are 6x3. So these textured, wide, and open lined tees are a wonderful thing. The face that I can adjust my runup to align with my shot without running off of the tee pad is just a beautiful thing.

The baskets are good old Mach 3's. The pin positions are quite a bit more interesting then some places. Whole hole dynamics can be shifted based on the pin position. With the excellent tee pads mixed in you can feel like its a natural adjustment, more then a forced change to the layout.

Each hole has a solid tee sign, with distances and a quick route to get to the pin. There is also a marker that indicates the current pin position. There is also trash cans and benches at most holes.
Cons: Not a lot of cons on the over all.
-- There is a parking lot, but there is also overflow when its needed.
-- Poison oak is on the course.
-- Lots of people.Lots. This is most likely the premiere course for Sacramento so there are a lot of bodies out here. The pace can slow down quite a lot. Backups at hole 5 are very common.
-- Typical graffiti on benches. I have no idea what a disc charger is, or why I think a piece on non conductive plastic would need a "charge". I think I am going to have to form a club of anti-disc chargers.
-- Apparently the common litter bug wanders this course as well. Not very much. Mostly just cigarette butts being left 2 feet from the trash can sort of thing.
-- Bring some dawn. If your disc does end up in duck infested waters. That puppy is going to stink. Yeah.. For reals.
-- The ducks laugh at you when you miss your putts.
Other Thoughts: I like this course quite a lot. There are design elements here I would like to see at other courses. Especially those tee pads. There is just something about having the ability to actually play any position of pin on a hole with out worrying about your footing. This place in spring is beautiful. St. Pattys Classic is held here for a reason.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shady Oaks - Me likey

1    1/25/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great selection of shots. Since I am new to the game (only about a year playing) I decided to play this course for the 1st time. I was intimidated going in, but that went away after a few holes. Love the layout: Long, short, dogleg left, dogleg right...etc. Lots of trees, probably why it has the name of Shady Oaks. Great scenery and they have a Final 9 to get supplies before you play or after the 9th.
Cons: SO MANY PEOPLE!! If you time it right on the weekend, you can get there before the regulars get up and out of bed. Small parking lot and really hard if there are lots of people to find a place to park. Water hazard can be a bit of a pain, but there would have to be rain in the area for that to happen.
Other Thoughts: When taking a large group of people to play here; more than 5 or 6, please be nice and let those that have smaller groups play through or at least hang back and let them go. I was behind a group of people that were there to talk, drink and not play really. It was kind of a pain, but only lasted until hole #3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

still my favorite course

5+    12/30/2013   1/1/2014
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start there's a pro shop on site with almost every disc imaginable as well as refreshments. There's a practice basket set up for around the wirld and 2 more in a horseshoe pit set up so you can throw back and forth. The course is 18 great holes through an oak grove right in the middle of town but once your on the 3rd hole you forget your not in the woods somewhere. There's a cool creek that snakes through many of the holes. The shots are long short medium left right straight and even some up and down. Some risk/reward and lots of fun. Great locals make this a cool place to visit. Restrooms on site.
Cons: Lots of people play here and if you go in the afternoon or on weekends you should expect a wait. Undercover cops looking for drugs and alcahol. When the creeks full there's risk of loosing discs.
Other Thoughts: I lived in the area for a long time and this was my favorite course. I've moved away and played 70 other courses and guess what....still my favorite. Stop here if your in norcal and patronize the shop. Jims the gyt who runs it and hes a grump but even grumps gotta eat.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun layout

1    5/14/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays in a large disc golf exclusive area, it's always nice not to have to worry about other park users. Most of the course has scattered mature trees with varying degrees of rough. Many holes make you shape a line off the tee, with a nice balance of left and right turning holes in the setup I played. About half of the holes had enough rough that you really paid for a missed line, the rest were easier to recover for par after a bad drive.

There is some nice distance variety here, with ace runs and some longer shots where I got to pull out a driver. A couple longer shots make you stay under a ceiling or follow a tunnel, making it a decision to bite off more distance or to focus on staying on the fairway. The alternate pin placements looked like they'd add even more variety if rotated regularly. The indicators on the tee signs for the current position are a great touch, and the signage in general was plenty adequate.

The tees are nice concrete pads with enough texture to provide grip even with a little sand on the tee. The course seemed like it gets a lot of work on erosion control and landscaping, nice to see that on a public course. There is a pro shop and a nice putting area by the first tee.
Cons: There are a lot of spots where holes play close to one another and it's easy to throw onto another fairway. It seems like there's a good amount of use here, so that's a bigger deal than at a course in the middle of nowhere. There are a couple spots where next tee signs would go a long way, otherwise make sure you grab a course map.

There are a handful of holes that weren't very exciting, and just felt like filler holes, that's one of the big things keeping this course from being rated higher for me. There is some poison oak off many of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but not too much so. It's got some nice technical shots, but the punishment is reasonable and shouldn't be too frustrating. More experienced players will find some good tests here, along with several straightforward birdie chances. It's not a top level course, but it's a fun layout that's worth playing if you're in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: krife
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of terrain, elevation, baskets, long and short holes. Although there are no big arm-wrenching par 4's or 5's, there are a few that really tested my arm. Technical holes aplenty. The creek clearly adds a whole new dimension of difficulty when it is running.
Cons: As many others have said, this place is crowded. I spent at least 5 minutes waiting on most of the tees, and my round lasted 2 1/2 hours. I would also like to see some alternate tee pads, but with as many as 4 basket locations I doubt regulars get bored often. Poison oak on a couple of holes on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting Sacramento for a wedding from Seattle. My cousin and I certainly felt some animosity from the locals (especially in the pro shop) which was likely due to the fact I was rocking my Seahawks hat, lol. However, we ended up playing with two other twosomes who were very friendly and great course guides, pointing out holes where you need a spotter on your tee shots #3 comes to mind). Big thanks to Taz and Chili for showing us around, sharing the kind, and most of all pointing out the poison oak (which I was seconds away from trampling into)! Shady Oaks is one of the coolest courses I've played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A personal Favorite

5+    8/15/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: toomanymoose
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I learned to play on. After playing several other course I still put this at the top of my list.
The course offers a variety of challenges from wooded areas to a few wide open holes.
During the summer the fairways tend to be really dry so big skips and rollers are common. That could fall in the cons depending on your playing style.
The only course I have been to with a pro shop located on site.
They also have multiple pin placements which they change fairly frequently so your always getting a new challenge
Cons: The course is very popular so get there early to avoid crowds.
They are some who come who dont respect the rules, environment, etiquette, etc, and odds are on a busy day you will run into them.
When the water is running(or standing) there are a few places you may find yourself in a deep dirty water hazard and discs can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Still one of my favorite places to play. They have been cracking down more and more over the years on drinking/smoking, so if you chose to do so, try to avoid the areas where houses and other park patrons are around. There is no need to carry a 30 pack with you and be smoking next to a family having a day out at the park. I have seen this happen many times and that is a big reason why they are getting upset. Compared to other courses i would say this is the least lax course in that sense, that's why i at least wanted to say a few words about it.
Overall, if your looking for a challenging course that is fun to play, I recommend checking it out

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, sometimes hard to play

1    1/27/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: fhwks
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the better 18 hole courses I have played in Cali so far.

Great variety on holes, some are long and open, others are short and require quite technical shots.

Great shade to protect you from the sun.

Pro shop with good disc selection.
Cons: People people people. Let me elaborate because this is the biggest Con with this course.

1) Pro shop staff. Pretty rude when asking about the course and play. I just asked the question, "It's busy out today, are there any holes that you would recommend me starting on since I'm a solo player?". I thought this was a decent question because at most courses I've been to, you can start at 2-3 different holes near the parking lot to avoid a large crowd at hole one and I am a very quick player. His response was, "If you don't want to get in a fight, start at hole 1".

2) Locals. After following the "advice" of the shop owner, went to hole one where a group of 8 locals wanted to cut in front of me to start and made a big deal about me playing. C'mon guys, 1 player vs 8? I'm not going to slow you down. Also, people take bag tags too seriously around here. They are just numbers, and this is just a game, no reason to be rude to non-locals or get so serious about something so trivial to the point of wanting to fight someone.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the area, I have had a great experience there and a bad experience there, based on the crowd/people who show up.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Course

1    1/26/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: JonCatch
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout. Numerous Trees to keep you guessing. Very removed from urban environment.
Cons: A small creek runs right down the middle of many holes and you might be fishing.
Other Thoughts: Lots of right bends, so make sure you bring your anhyzer game.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.