Sacramento (Orangevale), CA 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #1
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Long throw up onto a plateau / 3' Retaining wall just after dead tree



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Technical Course

1    1/26/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: JonCatch
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout. Numerous Trees to keep you guessing. Very removed from urban environment.
Cons: A small creek runs right down the middle of many holes and you might be fishing.
Other Thoughts: Lots of right bends, so make sure you bring your anhyzer game.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I spend way too much time here.

5+    1/5/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: FatLarry
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I am lucky enough to play here almost everyday. The multiple pin placements and frequency of change keeps it fresh. A mix of long and short, right and left keeps the round fun mixing shots. The creeks and trees changing throughout the year is also a game changer. Having a pro shop may be a downside for my wallet. The locals are a good group, my game has improved greatly since I started playing the Get Bent Daily random draw doubles.
Cons: Lately parking has been hard. I am amazed at how seriously folks take bag tags, it's a key chain with a number on it for christ sakes. A thousand people play here everyday, I'd like to see more help with the course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: OV for life! Get Bent.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Challenging Tournament Class 18

5+    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 142  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moderate elevation change throughout course. Concrete tees and multiple pin locations on every hole. Quality signs on every hole showing hole layout and pin locations with distances and a washer showing the current pin location. Garbage cans at every hole. Great pro shop on site with a great selection of discs and gear, as well as drinks and snacks. Water in play on many holes. Challenging technical shots with many obstacles to shoot around. Good variety of hole layouts not favoring any single throwing style and requiring a lot of shot shaping. Well maintained course with a great group of regulars. Several tournaments hosted annually. Good scenery throughout the course.
Cons: Only one tee on all holes except for hole 12 where there are 2. Some holes are pretty open and depending on the pin placement can be fairly easy. This is an extremely popular course (and for good reason) so it is often busy, especially in the afternoons, which means you will often have to wait. Several holes are pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Sacramento area and one of my personal favorites. The course isn't extremely challenging but is still a lot of fun to play even if you're a professional. Holes 4-8 are the most memorable for me as they play through a wooded area with a winding creek running through. I would recommend arriving early if possible. I have very rarely run into a big crowd before 11AM but if you arrive after noon on a nice day you will most likely be waiting for a bit at a few holes. No alcohol is allowed on the course, and this rule has been enforced a lot by undercover cops this summer at this course. Also refrain from using herbs around hole 5 as the neighbors have been known to take pictures of disc golfers breaking park rules. I have heard that these neighbors have even made attempts to shut the course down, so please be on your best behavior on hole 5. Update (01/17/2013): Police still enforcing no alcohol policy on course; several people were cited around holes 4 & 5 by a plain clothed police officer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Chucker's Paradise

5+    11/13/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Pretty good layout, only a few fairways overlap

- Best Pro Shop I've ever been to on site. I cant imagine theres a disc they don't sell.

-Some really memorable holes. Love 4-8, which run along a creek bed and require pretty precise drives. Back 9 is pretty good. Two big ole bomber holes that I can remember.

- Course upkeep is nice. All the lines are well worn in, and trash is surprisingly sparse, given the number of people that go through on a weekly basis
Cons: - Crowded as hell, and not always a good crowd either. Even at 7am there are waits on some holes. This wouldn't be too bad if a lot of the crowd wasn't kind of douchey. Almost pointless to go on a weekend or holiday.

- Rough going when wet. Day or two after a big rain will leave the course super slick and muddy. The large number of golfers that come through really tear up some areas (hole 3 specifically).
Other Thoughts: I'm from socal, but my wife is from El Dorado Hills, so I get up to play this one 5 or 6 times a year. I really like the layout but the course is practically unplayable on weekends or afternoons due to the long waits. One of the best courses in the area though, and if you can get a weekday off I'd recommend checking it out.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shady is right

5+    7/17/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course right off of Hazel, making it super easy to find. There are a fun variety of shots, and creeks that run through lots of the property making shots on some holes more risky. There are tons of squirls running around the course. There are nice concrete teepads throughout the course with extended folow through areas. The baskets are all prety nice. There's a great pro shop on site if you need to pick up some new discs.
Cons: This is one of the most crowded courses that I've ever played. There is allmost allways a wait on every hole, and lots of groups won't let you play through even if you are playing way faster. The last time I was out on the course there was a cop hanging out in plain clothes giving people tickets for drinking and smoking.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Thank the shade of the oaks!

1    7/27/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very challenging course that has a creek that runs through much of the layout (creating more challenge and thoughtful shot selection). A little elevation is thrown into the mix on a dusty track (in summer) and replace this dust with a mix of grass & tall grass in the winter. The multiple pin placements were pointed out by the locals and had me drooling for more.

Though it was a busy day and I reached a log jam on hole #5 (see cons), the group ahead of me offered to let me play with them which added much enjoyment to my round. It always having good company (and course guides!).

Fantastic amenities - Pro shop, Around the world putting course, 2 other practice baskets, and restrooms!

Cons: A very popular course - so be patient and expect to wait a bit at the tee pads. Though other reviewers claim that people won't let you play through, I did not have this issue. Hole #5 is a typical spot for a log jam - due to the difficulty level of 5 & 6, and intersecting fairways. Beyond that, the waits were not bad.

The creekbed was dry when I played, but I was told that when wet, it is very swampy and easy to lose a disc in the deep water. I don't like losing discs (does anyone?), but some of the fairways are just waiting to gobble your discs - even with a seemingly decent drive.
Other Thoughts: Get good on this course in the summer, and then you will have the confidence to challenge that creek in the winter. I'm telling you, my shots would have changed to a far more conservative game if that creek had been running. At the same time, I look at that as a positive - I like to have holes that require some finesse instead of just blasting every shot.

Holes 13-18 seemed very quiet compared with the rest of the course - I played this convenient loop a couple of times late in the day, instead of playing the crowded front 9.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A park called home

5+    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -pro shop
-bathrooms
-3 practice baskets
-almost all holes in the shade
Cons: The only con i have is there is a cop that wonders around and writes tickets to everyone with a beer or dog off the leash....to make things better he parks in the parking lot and gives away tickets to people with bad registration
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for anyone to play cause it is very challenging with alot of O.B. and trees. I recommend it to anyone that passes through the area with disks....probably the best course in Sacramento.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/2/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: TeetersMcClain
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms on site
- Practice baskets near the pro shop
- Numerous garbage cans and very little litter on the course
- Concrete tees and clear, accurate signage
- Signs posted for any mandatories
- Varied hole layouts challenge all aspects of a player's game
- Course layout is both intuitive and accurately represented in course maps
-Friendly, knowledgeable staff at the on-site pro shop
Cons: - Very crowded by 11:00 am every day.
- Extremely muddy for most of the late fall, winter and early spring
Other Thoughts: -Watch out for snakes, mosquitos, and dogs off leash
- Show up 15-20 minutes before sunrise if you want to get a round or two in before it crowds up
- See the pro shop for lost & found
- Beware of numerous water hazards from September-April, as the fairway for several holes are dominated by a creek.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Valley Jewel

5+    4/22/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As mentioned before, lots of challenging holes and plenty of variations. Pretty good bunch of folks that frequent the place. Used by many age groups and ethnic backgrounds.
Cons: Beware of walkers, joggers, horses, family's etc.
Drinking, cigs and 420 have cast a shadow, unfortunately. Citations are not unheard of and the tolerance level by the neighboring home owners is growing thinner. The course post warnings to violators at the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: I love the diversity of this course. The dog legs and tricky basket placements keep you on your toes. The creek comes into play often and creates plenty of risk reward shots. I spent 15 minutes, knee high in the creek for 15 minutes, two weeks ago, and never found my Orc! Love that disc. Two day's later it was waiting for me in the pro-shop. Good karma to whoever you are =)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Sitzmann420
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety, heavily wooded to wide open, left's, right's, and straight ahead holes.
- Creek flows past many of the holes, sometimes crossing the fairways multiple times in a single hole
- Huge amount of risk / reward shots
- Distances range from short and sweet to long and wooded
- Nice concrete teepads
- Good signage
- Great pro shop onsite with excelent selection including many rare discs that they get printed for tournys
- There is only a little elevation change on the course, but it definatly helps add to the experence
- Easy to find, right off of Hazel.
- Trash Cans around
- Benches on most holes sometimes 2
- Practice baskets next to the pro shop
- Easy to navigate
- Great use of land given
Cons: - Usualy crowded during peak hours, sometimes with large groups, some of which won't let smaller groups play through
- Creek is often brown and deep neer the basket and can be hard to find a disc in
- Road noise on the holes neer the back of the course
- A couple of holes are blind
- Can get muddy in the winter and dusty in the summer
Other Thoughts: -overall one of sacramento's bests course

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.