Bellaire, MI 
Shanty Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
View from hole #6 basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/6/2011   6/6/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays down a ski hill on the back side of a resort in picturesque northern Michigan. Be aware that if you are there at the same time as a large convention or during the winter, the course is unplayable.

Baskets-- decently visible with the ribbons and orange necks. In good repair.

Variety-- some mix of open and wooded shots. the open shots lack any sort of challenge except for dodge the tourist.
Cons:
Design-- the design is relatively awful, holes are short and playing up and down a ski hill with a 1000' rollaway potential is pretty terrible.

Teepads-- sand with wooden boxes reminiscent of horseshoes (not the dg variety) pits. when the hotel is busy, the tourists think these are random sandboxes and play in them.

Other Thoughts: For a resort 9-hole this could be SOOOO much better. the property that this company owns is pretty immense and has world class golf courses, ski hills, resorts and a TON Of ammenities. The placement of this course at the top of a ski hill is just straight up wonky.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: HmRnKngJC25
Played: 105  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Right outside a nice hotel. Nice baskets. Nice use of terrain. Have to adjust to shooting up and down hill. Cool place to make some safari holes, or a Ript round.
Cons: Missing 1 basket, replaced with travelers. Teepads just sand. Could be better. Pulled during winter for skiing
Other Thoughts: Alot better courses in the area. Pass this one by unless your staying for a round of ball golf or just a getaway to northern Michigan.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Total Disaster

2-4    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2011
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Proper signage on 6 of the 9 holes.

One of the holes is over 300'.

One of the holes is a cool downhill dogleg left with an obscured basket.

One of the holes is a tunnel shot.
Cons:
The above are all the same hole.

A volleyball court sits smack dab in the middle of holes 5, 6, & 8, with additional possibilities to hit it from holes 1 & 2.

No challenge whatsoever.

No aspects remotely pleasing.

No reason it should be this way.
**update:
I spoke with the designer, and he informed me that the one rule Shanty Creek gave him was "every hole must be visible from the dining room." I see, now, there was at least one reason it had to be this way.
**
Other Thoughts:
I played this pathetic excuse for a course back in 2007. At the time I knew I "never" would come back.

Then I read reviews on DGCR of 700'+ downhill holes, and decide I have to go back, as they must have redesigned it. This year, Shanty Creek took out the redesigned course from 2008, and put this stinker back in, and I ate my words.

To be fair, it is off the Fitness Center's door, and was designed not with DGers in mind, but getting the average shlub out to get some exercise. If you had never thrown a disc before, your score might reflect the course par and you could never be in danger of hitting anyone, except for #8. You might even have enjoyed yourself, but I doubt it.

Course par is laughable. I usually play the posted par the first time I play a course, and my round would have been 9 under, which included terrible putting.

This course is well off US-131, and unless you are trapped at a convention held in Shanty Creek, stay well away, for your own good. It's a shame, too, as Bellaire's brewery, Short's, has very fine brew.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 holes

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the course is in good condition
-mowed often for well defined fairways
-creative nine hole layout is fun to all skill levels
-tee signs show general direction of baskets, but all baskets are visible from their tees
-good balance of shot type, all around fun 9 hole
Cons: -the distances on the signs are WAY off
-the tees are just sand and can get muddy when it rains
-out in the middle of nowhere, and out of the way of the other, better courses in the area
Other Thoughts: The directions to the first tee are a little shoddy, so when you park in the "ski parking" lot, up to the right. Park in the corner closest to the buildings (hole 7, the red temp basket will be to your right), and hole one tees off right by the bottom of the tube run, through the buildings to your left.

It was a fun, quality 9 hole course. i just wish it was closer to civlization. not worth going out of your way for, unless you're near Mancelona.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 79  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 6 is definitely the highlight of this course 760 ft. bomb down the slope,baskets have lights on top of them,some signs,good mix of holes for a short course,seems like a nice resort,
Cons: holes are a little spread out it gets a little confusing,course is pretty close to patio area errant shots could be dangerous,knee high grass through most fairways,
Other Thoughts: this is a pretty exhausting 9 holes be prepared and bring water,overall this course was just ok, I had fun but wouldn't go out of my way to play again,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  So-So 9 hole course

1    7/13/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: mmurph98
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You get good exercise playing this course. Has a 700 foot hole back down the ski slope.
Cons: Grasses on slopes not cut, makes finding discs more difficult and makes your legs itchy! (wear shoes and socks), not 18 holes
Other Thoughts: Don't stop unless you're driving right by and need to get 9 in.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.