Seneca, SC 
Shaver Recreation Center Share
Uploaded By: JJchaingang Hole #4 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Shaver Recreation Center

1    9/25/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course with lots of elevation changes and a creek running through most of the holes (although it was just about dry when we played). There are defined fairways but you need to execute well planned shots to follow the twists and turns. There are some good birdie ops here.
Cons: Holes 2 through 7. As other reviews indicate, these holes are unlike the rest of the "normal" wooded course. They have fairways about 25 feet wide plowed through incredibly steep brush. If an errant throw gets into that stuff, your only hope is to drop back into the fairway. They all seem to follow the same pattern of a really long gentle LH/RH curve, then an extreme 90 degree dogleg to the basket. Because the fairways are completely uncovered, the ground is dry, rocky, and there are plenty of roots sticking up where bushes were cutoff about 3" off the ground. This surface will tear up your feet and you really need to be careful not to catch a rock/root/stump on your runups. These holes aren't too bad on their own, but six in a row is way too repetitive and had us wondering if we were going to stop playing after the front nine. Fortunately, we were able to determine that the rest of the course was different and we played all 18. There were also lots of yellow jackets everywhere when we played; I am glad only one of them got me.
Other Thoughts: Whew…those long, dry rocky holes were a challenge. Overall a fun course to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    9/14/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: htorbit
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun woods course. Holes 1-8 are bulldozed fairways through thick woods and not so pretty but the beautiful back side makes up for it. This course has some of the best concrete tee pads. Course has all the shots with some elevation changes. The times I have played there hasn't been many other disc golfers so it feels like you have the course to yourself. Some holes have alternate pin positions. Benches on most holes. Trash cans throughout course. Practice basket.
Cons: How thick the shule is 2 feet off the fairway on most of the front nine.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you learn a sidearm if you don't already have one. Very technical. Fun course! Nice park with walking trail, gym and athletic fields.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shaver Complex

1    8/30/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Master_Locke
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course. The front nine and the back nine both begin and end next to the parking lot. Some challenging holes. The from nine is a series of 25' wide fairways surrounded by trees on both sides. Most front nine holes require a 100'-150' drive then some twist/turns at the end. The range in elevation on the back nine allows for some difficult trick shots. Overall enjoyable course
Cons: Repetitive on front nine, narrow fairways, all requiring a 150''+ drive before the disc tails off, otherwise your in the woods. Several holes are blind drives (unless you walk 3/4 of the distance down the fairway) you can't see the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Look forward to playing again now that i know where some of the baskets actually are and how severe some of the cut backs are in the fairway.

Course is very tightly packed, and most holes share boundaries; however, they've done well with the space they used. Course seems well kept.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Course

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the wooded fairways. That kept it scenic and tested my ability to keep the disc where I wanted it. And since I don't have a cannon for an arm, except for one hole, it was relatively short. I was able land quite a few birds which made it fun.
Cons: Who ever designed this course must have really liked like going 250' then a hard lef/right (sometimes both!). Even though I don't have a big arm I do like to blast it down the fairway and watch it sail, but there wasn't many opportunities to do it.
Other Thoughts: I only found one stupid hole and it was #9. I mean, c'mon, who's disc flies 100' up hill, turns a hard 100 degree turn to the left then hunts the basket? If they cleared this hole out a bit to give another shot at the basic, it'd be ok.

Now, I liked #11, a shortblind shot over a hill that if thown well can give you the nice sound of crashing chains

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A really good hike through the woods while chucking your disc. The lay out was super easy to fallow.

Cons: This is not a course for beginners. Very tight fairways and a few holes are almost identical to one another.
Other Thoughts: I do hope to make it to this course again if I am ever in the area. I am 10 hours away so doubtful.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/30/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1142  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: wooded course, some decent elevation changes, nice and long cement tees, next tee signs
Cons: First 7 fairways are about 25 feet wide and flat.
Other Thoughts: Community Center adjacent to park as well as a walking path. Be careful of your speed.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.