Seneca, SC 
Shaver Recreation Center Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    11/22/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: I think this is a good wooded course, most of the front 9 is fairly open with trees lining the fairways. You've got a couple tucked pins and overall the course has good length on most of the holes. You've got several elevation changes that will test your ability to shape shots. There are a fair amount of trees but it's pretty open considering it's in the woods. Nice tee pads and decent signage. I would say the back 9 is more technical that the front 9 but overall very enjoyable course.
Cons: A lot of the front 9 is red clay type dirt, so it makes for a tough time when the weather is bad. You've got to have a lot of control and be able to putt if you want to make birdies (not a draw back by any means).
Other Thoughts: I've taken a number of people to play this as their first disc golf course and they've all seemed to enjoy it. You've got a creek that comes into play on the back 9, it's a blind shot to the hole so if it's your first time playing you might want to checkout the pin location first.

 Classic Carolina woods

1    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a course secluded from the ball fields and other parts of the park. Huge concrete tee pads with plenty of room for everyone.

Well defined fairways cut throughout the woods. Not one hole that had a WTF fairway or an unfairway. But that doesn't mean they are all easy either.

Looks like they have multiple basket positions available and move some of the baskets around.

Good use of elevation where available. There are no huge hills here, but the ups and downs are well used when it presents itself.
Cons: Signs could use a little updating. They don't always coincide with the current course layout. I had to walk a few fairways to spot baskets for blind shots.

No open holes for big distance throwers. This is a technical, wooded course.

Some of the baskets and pads are fairly close to each other. For the first timer it can be a little confusing. I can see where it could get a little crowded or tight feeling if there were a lot of people playing.
Other Thoughts: This is what I would consider a classic wooded course in the Carolinas. This course forces you to throw left, right and straight while keeping your disc on the fairway. Most of the course has a very reasonable amount of 'rough', but a few holes have just tons of small tightly packed pines and other trees that are almost impossible to safely play out of. If you can throw a putter and mid accurately down the fairway, you can play well here. If you just want to fire away with your drivers, your round may go badly.

While #1 makes this course seem like it's going to be a beginner course with its 165' distance and no obstacles, the course quickly shows you what it is all about. #2 played at just 295', but the tightly packed woods on each side make you throw clean or pay dearly. #5 has a nice basket position that can make putts and approaches an adventure. #11 was my personal favorite. It is a downhill anny (RHBH) that goes over a creek and has several trees that keep you honest. Fun little shot. Overall, I thought the back nine here was a little more fun than the front, but the whole course is solid. There is not only ace runs available in a few spots, but plenty of challenges also. This would make a nice home course for almost anyone. It's also a great looking place to work on your putter and mid-range shots in the woods.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Woodsy Feel

1    12/19/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful deep woods course. Lots of alleys cut through the trees puts a premium on shot placement. I love that there are par 4's & even a Par 5 on this course. Large benches, large concrete tee pads & fully descriptive tee signs on EVERY HOLE! I think this is the first course where I've ever seen that. I dont think this can be overstated enough. This is just what I want at every course! Practice basket & Information Kiosk next to #1 tee pad. Hole #9 & #18 end at the parking lot. This is so convienient if you forget something or you want to play a short round. Easily navigated. It seems like each new tee box is right around the corner from the previous basket. 'Next tee' signs were there also.
Nice Innova DisCatchers at each hole.
Cons: The overall layout is dominated by tight woods shots. It would've been nice to have an open shot or two. The winter leaf cover made losing a disc easy. The design is lacking pizzaz. I can't really put a finger on it. It has all the emenities you could ask for yet...
Other Thoughts: When you finish #9 go back outside the
chain-link fence & turn left. Walk down path & turn left again past fence line to #10 tee box. Ignore the other baskets on the perimieter of the baseball fields. This is not part of the course.
Again: lack of people. Where are all the disc golfers? I played this & the Walhalla course & barely saw a sole all day. I never got the chance to throw with any locals which was unfortunate.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    2/3/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: I3ooI3oo
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course with both short 165' and long 500'+ holes. There are hole that play uphill and others that play down hill. A good mixture of straight, right, and left holes. The fairways are tight and can lead to a hard second shot. All the pad are concrete and long enough to give anyone a good footing. This are benches at most holes to give you a chance to rest.
Cons: Single pin placement along with single pads per hole make the course something that plays great the first time but over time would lead to boredom due to the lack of change. Also there is a small run off creek that runs beside or through a fairway, you have to cross it multiple times. There is not a bridge, and while I was there the water was almost non-existent during the rainy season I could see this being a problem.
Other Thoughts: Being from Florida I really enjoyed the elevation changes that this course has to offer. I would recommend this course to anyone that enjoys the outdoors as this course shows off what South Carolina has to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Challenge

5+    2/23/2011   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course gets better each time you play it. It's a heavily wooded course with nicely defined fairways that will challenge you on most holes to hit 'the line' to the basket.

Great cement tee pads that are bigger than most tee pads I've seen and well designed tee signs. Several benched throughout the course to sit and rest for a while and a nice use of elevation.

Cons: The course is heavily wooded and if you stray off of the fairway, recovery can cost a throw or two on the score card.

Several of the holes have multiple pin placements but the signs don't say which holes (2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 12, 13) which means you could end up throwing to the wrong location a time or two. A few of the alternate pin placements are on the same line just longer while others might require a different line.
Other Thoughts: Six additional holes have been added to make the course 24 holes but there are no tees marked yet. The park is suppose to me putting an additional 12 holes in to make this two 18 holes courses at one location.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 bease

5+    7/15/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to Clemson. Nice benches on most holes. I like the different pin positions. 18th hole is near the first.
Cons: tight woods and fairways. Need more trash cans. No restrooms close
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I love it!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.