Seneca, SC 
Shaver Recreation Center Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #10 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I love Shaver

1    6/2/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. this was the first course I ever played a tournament on. And it kicked my butt. I actually took a small break from the course because I got whooped so bad. But then I realized that it was me who caused the problem. This course is not a course to throw your driver as hard as you can and hope for a good result. you need control, and accuracy. Once I learned that a Comet would serve me much better than a Boss, I succeeded. and fell in love with the course.

Here is a brief outline

The front nine is definitely the killer part of this course if you cant throw straight.

Holes 3,4,5 are all long,tight holes with thick rough on the sides. I actually had a putt for a 3 on hole three which for me is insane! once you get through that gauntlet it eases up a bit.

The back nine is very different from the front.

There are two blind holes, I reccomend spotters for them. (11,12) and a nice down then up shot that seems like its much further than it is.(14)

The reason I like this course so much is that it challenges your mind. you cant just throw your disc as hard as you can and hope to get lucky. That does not work here. you need control and patience and a good mental toughness.

There are multiple pin positions for many of the holes, this makes it interesting in tournaments. they usually change the pins between rounds.
Cons: The only negative is the mud/dirt/rocks that make up the fairways on the first 5 holes. Not much that can be done about this, and its not that big of a deal. but it will chew up some discs over time.
Other Thoughts: there is an alternate 9 holes you can play that are much more open. it plays around the fields. I havent played it yet but I probably will next time I am up there.

Give this course a try. bring some mid ranges, and dont forget that 2 shots in the fairway is always better than 3 in the schule.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 this course humbled me

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: midrangemachine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was very well setup,very good variety of holes for bh and fh alike.some holes require you to be very creative with your lines. Many with great risk/reward factor.
Cons: A few of the fairways were a little overgrown. Also some benches were broken.
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course but very humbling I considered myself atleast an intermediate player until that course ate me alive and spit me back out. It def made me realize I need to work on my finesse shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Deep woods tree love/hate

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great amenities, large concrete pads, good signs, quality baskets with clear numbering (good since you see so many at once).
Decent fairways around, many line shaping requirements, this is not a course you want to play if you cannot make a disc turn.
A good challenge that does not seem like it would get boring.
Benches on almost every tee.
More than one pin on a lot of holes.
Cons: Brutal off-line punishment on much of the front nine. If you are in the brush you are pitching out.
Very skippy ground on those brutally punishing holes.
Extra pin positions not listed here or on the map so sometimes the basket was in an unexpected position.
Other Thoughts: I want to say right off that this course absolutely handled me in a not very good way. That doesn't change my feeling about the course, it was very good but it is not very forgiving. If you are rather new you are better off heading to Sertoma field in Walhalla, this will make you feel much better.

I generally don't have a problem keeping it on the fairway but just about every shot on 2-6 ended up in the thick junk off the perfectly clear fairways. I am sure the 100 degree weather didn't help a bit but this course just seemed to beat me relentlessly. I couldn't help but feel that those long twisty holes should've been split up a bit to minimize the fatigue but it probably isn't possible.

I enjoyed the back 9 a lot more than the front 9. The real woods shots are great, good lines, lots of trees but lots of fair gaps and little to no punishing underbrush.

I don't suggest that anything change with this course, it is a great course and it is my fault I didn't do better. It is not a noob course and its barely a rec course...you can play it but expect an ace whooping.

I do feel a set of short tees for the long twisty bits might help but isn't necessary.

This is a sweet course and we hope to come back in the fall when it is cooler and we can enjoy it without the pain and suffering of the flaming ball of death in the sky.

The people of SC have it good, they have courses reminiscent of the IDGC and a great variety of course types to play. Apparently there is also an open course on the land too but that was not going to happen when we played...way too hot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 95  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent wooded course! If you're used to disc golf in the Carolinas, you know your way around the trees, and Shaver is a great course for hitting all the lines you'll need to have if you play around here often.
The holes are fair -- while all are in the woods, they all offer a clear path to take with a fairway and landing zones. No holes with a nice fairway line but "that one tree right in the middle", which I appreciate.
Some daring gaps are available, but miss them and you're punished with a tough out from the woods. Great risk vs reward.
There's never a question as to where the lines are designed to be played for the course. The fairways are never rail thin, but also never extremely wide, usually about 15-30 feet-ish.
Great variety of left, right, up, down -- you WILL shape a variety of lines!
Navigation is a breeze so long as you walk down the path from 9 to 10. Never guessing where you need to go next is a BIG plus from me.
Discatcher baskets ,well-labeled and easy to see.
Concrete tee pads, nice benches(with ball golf detail), excellent tee signs showing how the hole is shaped -- very helpeful as many pins aren't visible from standing on the tee -- and "next tee" signs.
Trash cans and recycling right near the parking lot/first hole/ hole 9/ practice basket.
A number of baskets out around the baseball fields are another 6 holes, but we didn't see any tee pads and were preparing for the upcoming tourney, so we stayed away. Looks to be an excellent addition and give you a chance to air out a bit.
No traffic noise, no foot traffic other than other disc golfers, and even then I don't think you would run into paths crossing often.
Close to Clemson University -- lots of great restaurants and co-eds within minutes.
Near Y Beach and Walhalla if you want to loosen the arm up first on a more open layout.
Easy to find, there are signs to the complex and you can see baskets before you get to the entrance.
Cons: It's ALL in the woods. No open shots, nothing starts out of the trees to in them or vice versa. Not a big minus, especially in the heat to be in the shade all day :-) And we didn't play the extra baskets, which we could see were open around the baseball fields, so this is just for the 18.
Other Thoughts: I really loved throwing at Shaver today and look forward to playing in the Seneca Spring Open. You will learn to play GOLF -- not just going for it every time, but having to play smart, laying up, hitting landing zones, and developing skills that require careful thought instead of out-and-out brute plastic chucking.
Once I know what the extra baskets are for and how they play I will update my review, but this course is excellent practice for Carolina disc golf -- Play with the trees and you'll love this course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    6/28/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: mwierda
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tight course in mid succession mixed and late succession deciduous woods. Multiple pin placements on 7 holes. Precision needed to score well. Woods are TIGHT ... if you get of the fairway it will cost you. Short and long holes.
Cons: Fairways are dirt often w/ rocks. Very little chance for roller shots.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I am very happy. Every round is different! Winter vs summer, when the trees leaf out it is an whole new course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My home course at Clemson.

12/26/2007   12/26/2007
Review By: pitpit
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is my home. I just love playing here. The elevation changes and heavy wood-cover makes for a lot of fun, but interesting shots.
Cons: The trees tend to jump in front of my discs too much. Seriously, though, it is really easy to lose a disc on this course in the fall due to large collections of fallen leaves, so watch your discs carefully.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.