Memphis, TN 
Shelby Farms Share
Uploaded By: carrioke Hole #18 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Course

5+    4/22/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: blabbee
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alot of open long shots. Some challenging shots as well. Very hard to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Not enough trash cans or places to get drinks.Alot of trees to hide your disc if you hit a tree.
Other Thoughts: My most played course. Everytime im in memphis i play there.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Creative and long

5+    12/3/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: boonestock
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Let me start by saying that the new layout is a vast improvement, so don't pay too much attention to the older reviews. It is an excellent redesign that makes the most of the terrain. Plus, they have done some much needed work on the course infrastructure. The new tee pads are crucial, and the signs are clear and accurate and make it much easier to spot baskets off the tee and navigate the course.

This course has nice rolling hills, but not very many trees. Thus the old layout was basically just one long open shot after another. Now they have made much more creative use of what's available to create some great hyzer and anhyzer shots. Be sure to bring your long game! Also, it is practically impossible to lose a disc out there unless you toss it into the water, so its generally a forgiving course.
Cons: As mentioned, it could use more trees. Also, while long is great for some of us, it would be nice to have some short but technical shots for beginners. As is, there is not much to get in the way of a bad drive. They go all the way, whether to the basket, or to the ditch.

The tee pads are a little small and a couple are already cracking up. They will probably have to replace them soon. Also, it can get a bit crowded and peanut gallery-ish out there, but that is not the course's fault.
Other Thoughts: Shelby Farms is planning a multi-million dollar revamp over the next several years including planting over one million trees (it's a really big park). We will see what is in store for Shelby Farms disc golf in the years to come.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New Concret Pads!

5+    4/12/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: docepting
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Concret tee pads and all new course layout. Finally have signs so beginners are well directed. A little harder than the previous layout. Friendly fellow disc golfers. Its not super crowded so hardly no waiting to tee off. A lot of money has been put into it so more improvements are to follow.
Cons: Horrible after a rainy day. No trashcans. Hole numbers on the baskets are wrong so dont follow what is labeled on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: I play here more than any course in the Memphis area(I live in Lakeland, TN). You'll need a real strong arm for this course for the holes are real long. (longest one is over 500ft.)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great on sunny days

5+    10/25/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: davearcher76
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice long holes. More length than technical challenge. Beautiful park with a beautiful course. Not certain where the other reviewer plays that has so many amenities. Sounds too plush for disc golf.
Cons: Concrete tees would be nice.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    3/21/2007   7/4/2008
Review By: memphisDGdestroyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 1/8/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. I must admit that I'm biased because this is my home course and it was the first course I ever played. Having said that, I'll get to details. Located in side Shelby Farms, this is a fairly wide open course that offers the opportunity to use a variety of different shots to access the basket. Holes range from +/- 200' to roughly 480'. Elevation changes are present on about half of the holes, whereas water hazards make appearances on another 4 (or 6 depending on rain). Since it's located on one of the highest places in the city mild to severe S-N wind plays a factor through much of the year. The course stays pretty busy throughout the year and is the home to the Memphis Disc Golf Club which is active through most of the year.
Cons: This course lacks many of the niceties that make others stand out. There are no benches, signs, or bag hangers at the holes and all trash must be thrown away at parking lot at hole 1. with the exception of 1 or 2 port-a-potties the only restrooms are at the visitors center in the center of the park. Also, because of its location within the park it's not uncommon to have to play around careless park-goers who neither acknowledge nor care about disc golfers. I'm not going to lie: that really gets old sometimes. Watch out for skunks. You don't see them very often but they are out there. Fire ants too; watch where you put your bag.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park and over the next 15 years the entire park is to be renovated. As a result we stand to remake the current course as well as create 2 others; one 9-hole for beginners and one 18- to 27-hole course for tournament play (that's at least 5 years away though). In the nearer future however the Club is looking into raising money to install concrete tee pads since the current dirt slicks have the tendancy to wash away in the Spring rain or become deeply rutted during heavy Summer and Fall play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center