Memphis, TN 
Shelby Farms Share
Uploaded By: carrioke Hole #3 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Shelby Farms

1    5/4/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course design. A solid variation of hyzer, anhyzer, and forehand holes with some great elevation changes throughout the course. Mostly open holes with a lot of space for big drives. This course heavily favors those who can throw big drives and approach accurately. A much more enjoyable course for beginners than others in Memphis because there are fewer trees to hit than on some of the more wooded courses such as Shelby Forest or Bud Hill.
Cons: Because nearly every hole is open the course can get a bit repetitive, especially for those who cannot throw +350. Lots of easy par threes with only a few birdie opportunities. Also, the pin on number 11 has been moved from its usual location and the new location is not as good as the old one.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play when mixed in with other courses around Memphis. This course provides a more wide open course than others, and thus provides some well-needed variety. A good course, especially for beginners, but if you're visiting and only have time to play one course, I would recommend either Bud Hill or one of the two courses at Shelby Forest.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/14/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is set in a huge park with rolling hills and plenty of space to throw your big drives.
-There were concrete tee pads at each hole, they were small but small pads are better than no pads.
-The baskets were in great shape and could easily be seen from each of the tees.
-The course utilizes the elevation present for shots off of hills, being from the Houston area, I can appreciate good hilly courses.
-The locals were extremely courteous and helpful. They were probably the nicest people I had ever met out at the course.
Cons: Navigation is a mess. I came out and played the first few holes until I noticed that I was shooting at the same basket another group of guys were shooting at in a completely different area. They explained that people were using the "old" layout that were marked with little flags instead of playing from the tee pads.

I can understand if the course wants us to play from the "old" layout but there should be some sort of sign at the beginning of the course should specify where players should be playing, it becomes problematic when you have two groups of people shooting at the same hole from different areas.

17 out of 18 holes were wide open shots with no obstacles. It can become very boring, very fast.
Other Thoughts: Even without the navigation mess this course is still not up to the same level as Johnson Road Park, it is too repetitive and there are no obstacles. If there were some trees planted and given time to grow and with the distance already there this course could become a great course for the Memphis area until then this is a very forgettable course and comes in second place behind JRP in Germantown.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not great, not horrible

1    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: byebyebirdie
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open course on moderately flat terrain. If you're the player who likes "grip & rip" courses then this is for you. On most holes there are hardly any trees or other obstacles between the tees and the baskets. Considering the very open layout the holes are not too long (most between 350-400ft). Two pin positions for each hole make it fun for both amateurs and more advanced players. Course was clean and grass was cut at a nice height. Has parking near the first hole, porta potty, and a covered shelter.
Cons: Not much variation. After 2 or 3 holes you'll have a good feel for what to expect for the rest of the course. I stopped at the Visitor's Center and was shocked to find they didn't have a map of the course. You would expect a visitor's center to have a map or more information on the course. Some holes have missing signage and the tee boxes are very short compared to what I am used to. Three of the baskets were gone when I played (either stolen or being replaced), making the holes unplayable. Thankfully I made friends with a local who was nice enough to show me around--otherwise, with no map, 3 missing baskets, and limited signage, I would've had a hard time trying to find several holes.
Other Thoughts: Not great yet not horrible either. If you have only a limited amount of time there are better courses in the Memphis area to play (check out Johnson Road Park). If not for meeting a local I probably would've gotten very frustrated trying to find holes that weren't even playable. Probably a better course to play in the fall or spring when the sun is not as intense considering there is very little shade.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hate 2B a hater

5+    7/3/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Signs
Love the visibility of Discatchers, especially on long courses.
Multiple pin placements keep course more interesting.
Cons: Several holes are a tee pad and a basket separated only by a vast expanse of grass. While I enjoy the chance to open up and throw a long drive, this is incredibly difficult to do on a 4X8 teepad if you have any kind of a runup on your drive. The combination of long holes and short teepads ruins this course in my opinion. I hate to be so critical because I am a local (albeit a new local who has only been playing disc golf for 6 months) and I have done nothing to contribute to this course.

One other con is that during the winter and spring there is almost always a very strong wind at this course.
Other Thoughts: When the weather cools off I would like to organize a work party with the local DG club to extend some of the teepads. I really do appreciate the work that has gone into this course. The signs are top notch, many of the holes are interesting, and the grassy rolling fairways are picturesque. I have had a lot of fun playing here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/18/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes spread out in gigantic multi-use park. Concrete tees and baskets. Mostly open with hazards consisting of a few trees, some elevation, and some seasonal water hazards. The design did a nice job of incorporating the existing land and flow was logical with the holes being nicely spread out.

Those that are looking for a place to let drives rip will like the room to work shots on most holes. Newer players will also be able to enjoy not having to throw perfect shots off the tee as there is room for error.

The day I played was a beautiful, sunny, warm Sunday afternoon and the park itself was super crowded, so I was expecting a long line just to tee off, but that wasn't the case. There were several people playing disc golf, but the groups were spread-out and well-paced, which was nice because I was playing solo and never had to wait, and seemed to be a result of good course design.
Cons: A lot of openness. Most of the challenge here was just in length. Baskets in a wide open field with no obstacles are boring to me, especially when there are lots of holes like this. There was a lot of repetition in how I played the holes- 1) throw as far as I could; 2) easy approach 3) tap in for a par, then repeat. This course does not require a wide-variety of shots and discs.

My favorite hole was #1- I got to the tee and saw the nicely worn dirt fairway between all these trees forcing a tunnel shot through the shadows to a basket shining in the sun surrounded by lush grass, and I thought "this course is going to be awesome." Unfortunately that got my hopes up and gave me false expectations as the rest of the course was unlike #1. The other 17 aren't horrible, but it is kind of a let down to have the first hole as the best and almost out of place.

The tee signs that existed were very nice, but some were missing. Without signs and a map, the openness makes it hard for first-timers to visualize where the next hole is and where it is going. Though the course is mostly in its own section of the park, one hole was blind over some picnic tables, the busy park road bordered a few holes, there were people walking down fairways, and I even had an older lady decide to sit down and take a rest on hole 12 (funny because that hole's purpose is to give you a choice of going right or left, but I was forced to go right as I didn't want to throw at an old lady!)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice, clean, friendly park with a course that can be enjoyed by almost anybody. About half the holes are pretty good, whereas the other half are just a tee and a basket in a field. I wouldn't discourage anybody from playing here, but if you looking for more of a challenge, there are other options in Memphis.

Shelby park is huge (picnicking, fields for ball, lake with paddle boats, kite and r/c plane flying areas, real live buffalo to see…) a whole lot more to do than just disc golf. It is also easy to get to from a couple of main highways.

Memphis is in Shelby County, so don't confuse this course and park on the southside with the Meeman-Shelby State Park courses in Shelby Forrest on the north side. Many of the locals I talked to shorten the names of one or both places to just "Shelby" which was a little confusing in discussion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    4/22/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: blabbee
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Alot of open long shots. Some challenging shots as well. Very hard to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Not enough trash cans or places to get drinks.Alot of trees to hide your disc if you hit a tree.
Other Thoughts: My most played course. Everytime im in memphis i play there.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/21/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a large, beautiful park with an area devoted exclusively to disc golf. It has concrete tees and multiple pin positions. The tee signs are nice and list the distance to each basket. I really like that unused sleeves were marked with a 3 foot tall white pipe. This allows you to more easily figure out which position the basket is in.

The course is very long with only a couple holes under 300 ft and roughly half of them over 400 ft. A lake comes into play on a few holes and a stream on another one, depending on the pin position. There are a couple nice shots that force a turnover and a few fall away greens that add to the challenge.

Cons: With the exception of a few holes, this course is basically wide open and boring. To make matters worse, so many of the holes are long par 3's where you have little chance of getting a birdie, but getting par is easy. It's just long drive, short approach, putt. Even with the water in play, there really isn't any risk reward here.

The tee pads are only 8ft long. On your typical course this isn't really a con for me, but it is when you're throwing for max distance on most of the holes.

A number of baskets are bent, but still usable; looks like they've been hit by the mowers.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course to practice long drives, and despite its length, it's not a bad beginner course since it's so wide open. But the complete lack of risk/reward and wide open spaces make for a rather boring round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No big guns? Stay at home!

5+    6/12/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: carrioke
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, signs, few water hazards, unlikely to lose a disc, multiple pin positions
Cons: TOO LONG!! Too wide open - if there is a light wind everywhere else, expect 10-15 mph shifting wind on this course. Very few skill shots. No benches. Bathroom @ hole 1 only. Garbage @ hole 1 & 16 (& close to 12)only.
Other Thoughts: This is a "Throw as hard as you can every single time and hope for par" course. Very few holes offer women or beginners a chance to par much less birdie even in the short positions. Pictures updated 6/2011 but not hole information.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Creative and long

5+    12/3/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: boonestock
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Let me start by saying that the new layout is a vast improvement, so don't pay too much attention to the older reviews. It is an excellent redesign that makes the most of the terrain. Plus, they have done some much needed work on the course infrastructure. The new tee pads are crucial, and the signs are clear and accurate and make it much easier to spot baskets off the tee and navigate the course.

This course has nice rolling hills, but not very many trees. Thus the old layout was basically just one long open shot after another. Now they have made much more creative use of what's available to create some great hyzer and anhyzer shots. Be sure to bring your long game! Also, it is practically impossible to lose a disc out there unless you toss it into the water, so its generally a forgiving course.
Cons: As mentioned, it could use more trees. Also, while long is great for some of us, it would be nice to have some short but technical shots for beginners. As is, there is not much to get in the way of a bad drive. They go all the way, whether to the basket, or to the ditch.

The tee pads are a little small and a couple are already cracking up. They will probably have to replace them soon. Also, it can get a bit crowded and peanut gallery-ish out there, but that is not the course's fault.
Other Thoughts: Shelby Farms is planning a multi-million dollar revamp over the next several years including planting over one million trees (it's a really big park). We will see what is in store for Shelby Farms disc golf in the years to come.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shelby Farms

2-4    10/21/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: Warhammer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes good use of the terrain it is on. This is a very good course for new players as there are few opportunities to lose a disc. It is forgiving in that fairways are typically open to one side. Approaches and putts present more of a challenge for newer players. It is very easy to get to from anywhere in the Memphis area.
Cons: Once you are experienced, the course will play fairly easy. The wide open fairways mean that you can make mistakes without having to pay for it. It can get crowded, especially on a nice day. There are no benches, bathrooms are limited, and there is no water on the course.
Other Thoughts: As a new player, I enjoyed this course much more than Johnson Road Park. I didn't feel like a mistake was going to result in a lost disc. With the wide open spaces, it gives you a chance to try things without worrying about water, hitting a tree, getting lost in the woods, etc. This is a heavily traveled course so you will get your share of rude players, but also your share of nice players who are willing to give or take advice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.