Memphis, TN 
Shelby Farms Share
Uploaded By: carrioke Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 long tall sally

2-4    9/5/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course. Pretty scenery. Let's you pull out the big gun, ON EVERY THROW.
Cons: LONG.
VERY LONG.
VERY VERY LONG.
One of the baskets was halfway hanging together when I played it because some tractor had ran into it. I think it was hole 14 or something like that.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New course layout

5+    5/16/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Bikeknut
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The new holes create much needed challenges. There are great shot varieties now. Great way to get a tan?
Cons: Hot,hot,hot! No water, little to no shade, no benches, no directions to next holes, and lots and lots of walking back and forth. The tee pads are so short they are almost worthless. Hate to say it..but the natural teepads allow more run up without falling off the end. Could be a great course with a few more modifications.
Other Thoughts: I know the guys were trying to improve the old course..and they did a good job....as far as golf shots go. I played it for the first time this weekend...and was completely lost. There were multiple baskets with wrong numbers in the same field..(you could see them from one of the teepads)..pick a basket? any basket?
The old layout could be played in a little over an hour...this extra long hike takes ALOT longer...pack water and a snack.
UPDATE...played four more times with the newer layout...still a major disappointment. The game is supposed to be fun...not a bit of fun on this course. Come on guys(designers...I know who you are) you can do alot better..if not tear it up and start over..the bad layout can be corrected. Anyone like to play golf in a pasture?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Layout, New Teepads, etc.

5+    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: volmed10
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Layout - Prior to the change, every drive on this course was pretty much identical.... straight and long. Now, the are 5 anhyser holes ranging from ~280' to ~450', 3 hyser holes, and the rest are straight but long. Longest hole on the new course is 504', uphill, with a ~10 change in elevation. The new course is much longer, and also definitely more difficult than before. I know that it has already made me a better player when I've gone to other courses.

The new layout plays the terrain very well, with some holes that cause you to think, "Are you kidding me?"

Teepads - FInally! The new teepads are great. Before, some of the "mudpads" would become so slick that you would actually have a difficult time driving from a stand still without slipping. Great addition.

Cons: Teepads - A little small. Only 4-8' I know it's a small gripe since we did not have them before, but a little larger would have been nice.

No Trash Cans - There are only 2 spots for trash.... Hole 1 and Hole 16. More should be placed to help with overall trash disposal. The course is very clean, but it would be nice to not have to carry trash for up to 15 holes before throwing it away.

No Benches or Water - not all courses have these amenities, but they are nice if available. Water would be great for the steamy 100 degree summer days.

Marked Baskets - The baskets have been moved from their original positions, so that the basket for the new Hole 15 still has Hole 5 in place. This has let to big problems with the flow of the course, as new players that do not know the course are constantly playing the incorrect layout. I've told about 2 groups per round the correct directions due to confusion.
Other Thoughts: Temporary signs are in place, and permanent signs will be soon to follow.

Overall, this is now a great course. There are still a few things that we are working on adding (signs, basket labels, etc), but it is still a much welcomed change from the old design. If you live in the area or will be traveling to it in the future, I highly recommend visiting this DGC.

Edit: I have changed the "Hole Info" section to indicate that Hole 6 also involves a potential water hazard that depends on the recent rain/water level of the pond on hole 7. For instance, yesterday and today, the water from the pond was ~3-4 feet from the basket on Hole 6.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  New Concret Pads!

5+    4/12/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: docepting
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Concret tee pads and all new course layout. Finally have signs so beginners are well directed. A little harder than the previous layout. Friendly fellow disc golfers. Its not super crowded so hardly no waiting to tee off. A lot of money has been put into it so more improvements are to follow.
Cons: Horrible after a rainy day. No trashcans. Hole numbers on the baskets are wrong so dont follow what is labeled on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: I play here more than any course in the Memphis area(I live in Lakeland, TN). You'll need a real strong arm for this course for the holes are real long. (longest one is over 500ft.)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thanksgiving

1    11/27/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is wide open you can really let go. Great place to play if you are new to disc golf. Don't let hole 4 intimidate it really isn't that far to the basket. But the real pro of this course is the people that play here. Played two rounds the people were helpful and friendly. On my second round I played with a local named Chris and a visitor named George the two of them made my visit to the course a great experience. George was a beginner but he was able to keep his disc in play and did not slow the game up at all. If you are in Memphis go out and play this course for no other reason that to meet the Memphis disc golfers.
Cons: There no teepads on this course. only trenches and potholes. You could break a leg doing a run up on hole 10. And for goodness sake get some signs. I would still be out there looking for the teepad on hole 15 if one of the local.players had not come along and told me where to go.
Other Thoughts: The gentlemen who helped me find the teepad on hole 15 informed me that the local players have already paid to have tee pads installed, He didn;t mention the sinage problem. The area around Memphis has some turly classic disc golf courses. With a little work and the judicious planting of a few trees and shrubs this course could join the ranks of great courses surround the city.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/12/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I was just visiting memphis and gotta couple games in!!Nice long open shots!Great for beginners.Couple water shots.nice course lays well..
Cons: Little to easy for advanced players.No concrete tees..well there where a couple,but mostly dirt.course very hard to follow due to no signs pointing you where to go.No signs..No trash cans...Also Gets very sloppy when wet!!
Other Thoughts: Nice park and course.Just needs little more money spent on course.signs,trash cans and tees.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Joey Ingle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like open hole courses then you will love this course, I like more of a mixture.
Drains well after heavy downpours.
Cons: No tee pads, all earth and are unsafe, some being 8" - 10" deep with ruts and roots running through them
No bathrooms, no benches.
No signs or distances on the tee pads.
Would be hard to navigate during a casual round .
Other Thoughts: I play GMP and I am not a fan of throwing as hard as you can on every hole.
This course had very few short technical shots.
For me it was throw as long and hard as possible.
Due to playing during heavy rains of the '09 Copper Hill Classic it was a miserable first round for all players.
I would like to play this course during dry conditions to get a better feel for the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners & Distance Practice

2-4    7/3/2010   9/8/2009
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are a beginner you should play here, as you really can't get into any real trouble. it's a good practice course for those wanting to work on building some distance off the tee.
Cons: A wide open course that presents no real technical challenges (i.e. no narrow fairways or doglegs). Little shade for those hot days. No trash receptacles on course - please carry your trash back to the parking area and dispose of it properly.
Other Thoughts: Because this course is (unexplainedly) so popular, it's a good place to meet other dg'ers and learn about other courses, or find playing partners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 my first

2-4    7/26/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: long and open with shots in the woods, over water, and up-hill
easy to get to and very pretty to walk through


Cons: not well marked out. dirt tees with just concrete blocks to mark the tees.
watch out for skunks-i counted 5 within 3 holes one day

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I Can't believe it got 2 scores of 4.

1    5/22/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Thtcat
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice disc-catchers. There is one technical hole (#3) down a narrow alley with water on left and woods on right. Another (#15 or 16) that is a challenge getting through or araound the trees. Discs are available for sale in the park, but not so near the couse, at the boat house. I lost a disc in the water off #3, and got a call that someone found it 3 days later.
Cons: This is a wide-open heat-blasted load of nonesense. Excepting the two holes mentioned above (and maybe two others where trees come into play slightly), here is no challenge but length to this course. It's difficult to navigate, even with the scorcard that's difficult to aquire from the information center of the park. The tees are unmarked and natural (i.e. dirt depressions in the grass). There are no facilities near the course, but they are available in the park. Don't expect to walk to them. Better take the car.
Other Thoughts: Memphis seems to have an active disc golf association, and it seems to base it's operations at this course (though I could be wrong about this point). The course was well populated on the Thursday afternoon I played. I don't see the appeal. I will likely never play this course again, despite living just south of Memphis. There are too many better options in the area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.