Disc Golf Store
Bloomington, IN 
Sherwood Oaks Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherwood Oaks is on a church property, appears to be well taken care of and is a great course for beginners to learn the game. This short course is has hole distances ranging from 150 to 300 feet and has good tee signs and concrete tee pads. The first two holes start out with tree lined fairways, a couple baskets are behind large trees and the rest of the holes are wide open. There is a bulletin board by hole one that has a course map. The course is pretty easy to follow, after holes two and five you do cross the road though.
Cons: This course was designed to introduce new people to the game. There is no shot diversity and no challenge for a player who can throw 300 feet accurately. I feel I have to mention all this, but these things really aren't needed for a beginner level course like this.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent place to bring brand new players and teach them how to throw without worrying about obstacles. Once you're past that, there is no challenge here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Kids

2-4    7/6/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: bholy08
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overview:
The course is located on the campus of a large church with excellently kept grass fairways with some hills. For a 9 hole course that is geared toward lower skilled and young players, it has different lines that are required and several well designed holes.

Pros:
The tee pads are very large, smooth and clear of debris. The baskets are in excellent condition and greens all in good shape. The course has excellent signage and navigation is not an issue other than needing to cross the road after the 2nd basket. There are hills that come into play and every hole plays on plush grass that is kept cut. Several tee shots are longer and more challenging for new players. Holes 2, 5, and 8 are the best in my opinion. The course is very quick and fun and exactly what I would want to take my son to play and learn on. I took a first time player and he shot a 30 on this course. Experienced players will not find a challenge here but I think would still enjoy a quick round here.
Cons: The only cons for this course are holes 6, and 7. Both are less than 200 ft and wide open. They are good birdie chances for a new player but I feel that holes of this length can be very beginner friendly and still require shot shaping. As a 9 hole course, its rating will be lower than if it were 18 holes. But I think this course accomplishes what it was designed for and maintains a fun factor.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed a quick round here and seeing how many birdies I could rack up. Fun for putter/mid only rounds, safari golf and even possibly night golf (depending on the church's restrictions). If you need a place to work on some fundamentals such as approaches and putting it is a good place since it is very quiet and empty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginners course

5+    3/28/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Nico28
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great park for anybody new to the sport holes 4 and 5 are my favorites. The park is never that crowded and makes for a quick round or two. The church does a really great job of maintaining the course as it is always freshly mowed.
You can never lose your disc here
Cons: Small and very easy to play, but it is a beginners park.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to practice your skills

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New tee pads. New baskets. They do a good job of maintaining the course. Parking is very close to the hole. Its close to downtown Bloomington but not noisy with traffic.
Cons: With only 3 holes really having any obstacles in play it can get a bit tired. Being that its a great beginners course or maybe because of the location there tends to be a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: Like it was said in earlier reviews, it is what it is. Great beginner course! Very well maintained and that leads to a very predictable round. Gives you plenty of time to try new discs and shots. I gave this a 3 because if your new to the sport it is a good course, if you have been playing awhile you may be better off playing cresmont.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5+    1/13/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: Papa T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees and baskets are in great shape. Tees are cement providing great traction, and baskets are fairly new/finished well.

Course is well kept and very neat.

Most of the holes are short, but the one upside to this course is the differing elevation changes. A few of the holes rise or fall considerably. There is also one tunnel hole, and a couple holes around 300-350 feet.
Cons: There are only nine holes, with a few being under 200 feet. This is a beginner/practice course. Don't expect to be challenged.

I also think a lot more could be done with this course. There is room for 18 holes if the owners were a bit more creative. And it could certainly be more challenging. It's hard to not be pessimistic when there is so much room and so little creativity.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid beginner/practice course. I owe a significant amount of my development, especially with putting, to this course.

I will say this, I have played it upwards of 100 times. Quite frankly, it has become boring for me. I will only play it I only have time for a quick round, or I am helping some beginners.

If you are looking for a more challenging course, check out Crestmont Park. It is only 10 minutes away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginners Course

5+    5/20/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: dougefresh
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with concrete tees and good signs. Almost all of the holes use trees and/or elevation changes. Great for beginners or to take a stack of putters and practice your approach shots.
Cons: Very short. Newcomers to the course can get confused after hole 2. There is only one garbage can by the first tee so lazy golfers tend to discard trash wherever they please.
Other Thoughts: Again, good course for beginners or approach practice. Adding 9 holes is feasible and could really enhance the course.

Please encourage those around you to not litter, and pack out what they pack in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Practice/Beginner's course

5+    5/25/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice holes, cement tees and well maintained grass (most of the time - but never really an issue). Great course to get in some practice. Holes are not too long to make you launch it, but each requires you to be accurate. The holes are also situated in a way that is very creative for the land - uses all the trees on the property in some way.
Cons: It's short. It's not particularly challenging. Every hole is deuce-able. The walk from 2 to 3 is impossible to know if you have not been there before.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. This is a course that is very doable at night (if you're into that) as it is virtually impossible to lose your disc. Like I said, it's not a challenge, but if you are looking for a quick course to just go mess around with some friends or take a beginner, this is it!

Another reviewer mentioned adding another 9 - I haven't heard anything about that but there is certainly room for more on the property.

Remember, if you're at hole #2, walk east across the road and you'll find 3 more holes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Course

5+    5/4/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KETBLC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Siimple course. The first time we played, we didn't realise there were 3 holes across the road. Those are more open than the rest. Very straight forward, short holes. Only one or two where trees are a problem. Pretty Course.
Cons: I have no problem with taking your dog along with you but keep it on a leash. I was hit by another players disc when walking away from one of the pins so be careful because powerthrowers will go straight past the pin. Also as of today, the course has not been mowed so the grass is long and there are dandelions a plenty. When it rains, the pins get saturated.
Other Thoughts: Great course when you just want to get it a quick round.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    4/23/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely a course that is designed for beginning players. All the holes are fairly short, and mostly open. A few well placed mature trees come into play on a few holes, and on two holes, long rows of smaller trees present an interesting obstacle.

There is a little bit of elevation on a couple holes to keep things a bit more interesting. The grass is well taken care of, and mowed weekly, making it easy to find errant throws and a nice walk.

The tee pads are concrete, and are still relatively new and in good shape. The signs are easy to read, and all the pins are visible from the tee, so this is an easy course to follow and play for beginners.
Cons: This course is very easy and open (especially if you play with the very generous pars on the signs). For more experienced players, this course is mostly a putt/approach practice course with very little length on any of the holes.

More than the other area courses, this course gets crowded with new players who do not know dg etiquette, and who are not receptive to polite tips on the subject. On weekends and late afternoons, there are often very large groups of first time players on the course, and this can make for a slow round.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for beginners to try out the sport, and learn without getting too frustrated. There are supposedly plans to expand this course to 18 holes, so it may get more challenging and interesting if this occurs.

This course is closed on Sundays as the church uses all their parking for services.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.