Bloomington, IN 
Sherwood Oaks Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
5 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bring Your Kids

2-4    7/6/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: bholy08
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overview:
The course is located on the campus of a large church with excellently kept grass fairways with some hills. For a 9 hole course that is geared toward lower skilled and young players, it has different lines that are required and several well designed holes.

Pros:
The tee pads are very large, smooth and clear of debris. The baskets are in excellent condition and greens all in good shape. The course has excellent signage and navigation is not an issue other than needing to cross the road after the 2nd basket. There are hills that come into play and every hole plays on plush grass that is kept cut. Several tee shots are longer and more challenging for new players. Holes 2, 5, and 8 are the best in my opinion. The course is very quick and fun and exactly what I would want to take my son to play and learn on. I took a first time player and he shot a 30 on this course. Experienced players will not find a challenge here but I think would still enjoy a quick round here.
Cons: The only cons for this course are holes 6, and 7. Both are less than 200 ft and wide open. They are good birdie chances for a new player but I feel that holes of this length can be very beginner friendly and still require shot shaping. As a 9 hole course, its rating will be lower than if it were 18 holes. But I think this course accomplishes what it was designed for and maintains a fun factor.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed a quick round here and seeing how many birdies I could rack up. Fun for putter/mid only rounds, safari golf and even possibly night golf (depending on the church's restrictions). If you need a place to work on some fundamentals such as approaches and putting it is a good place since it is very quiet and empty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginners course

5+    3/28/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Nico28
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great park for anybody new to the sport holes 4 and 5 are my favorites. The park is never that crowded and makes for a quick round or two. The church does a really great job of maintaining the course as it is always freshly mowed.
You can never lose your disc here
Cons: Small and very easy to play, but it is a beginners park.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to practice your skills

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New tee pads. New baskets. They do a good job of maintaining the course. Parking is very close to the hole. Its close to downtown Bloomington but not noisy with traffic.
Cons: With only 3 holes really having any obstacles in play it can get a bit tired. Being that its a great beginners course or maybe because of the location there tends to be a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: Like it was said in earlier reviews, it is what it is. Great beginner course! Very well maintained and that leads to a very predictable round. Gives you plenty of time to try new discs and shots. I gave this a 3 because if your new to the sport it is a good course, if you have been playing awhile you may be better off playing cresmont.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginners Course

5+    5/20/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: dougefresh
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with concrete tees and good signs. Almost all of the holes use trees and/or elevation changes. Great for beginners or to take a stack of putters and practice your approach shots.
Cons: Very short. Newcomers to the course can get confused after hole 2. There is only one garbage can by the first tee so lazy golfers tend to discard trash wherever they please.
Other Thoughts: Again, good course for beginners or approach practice. Adding 9 holes is feasible and could really enhance the course.

Please encourage those around you to not litter, and pack out what they pack in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Practice/Beginner's course

5+    5/25/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice holes, cement tees and well maintained grass (most of the time - but never really an issue). Great course to get in some practice. Holes are not too long to make you launch it, but each requires you to be accurate. The holes are also situated in a way that is very creative for the land - uses all the trees on the property in some way.
Cons: It's short. It's not particularly challenging. Every hole is deuce-able. The walk from 2 to 3 is impossible to know if you have not been there before.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. This is a course that is very doable at night (if you're into that) as it is virtually impossible to lose your disc. Like I said, it's not a challenge, but if you are looking for a quick course to just go mess around with some friends or take a beginner, this is it!

Another reviewer mentioned adding another 9 - I haven't heard anything about that but there is certainly room for more on the property.

Remember, if you're at hole #2, walk east across the road and you'll find 3 more holes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Course

5+    5/4/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KETBLC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Siimple course. The first time we played, we didn't realise there were 3 holes across the road. Those are more open than the rest. Very straight forward, short holes. Only one or two where trees are a problem. Pretty Course.
Cons: I have no problem with taking your dog along with you but keep it on a leash. I was hit by another players disc when walking away from one of the pins so be careful because powerthrowers will go straight past the pin. Also as of today, the course has not been mowed so the grass is long and there are dandelions a plenty. When it rains, the pins get saturated.
Other Thoughts: Great course when you just want to get it a quick round.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.