Pikesville, MD 
Silver Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Practice @ Silver Creek

1    4/12/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 116  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 8.8 Years
Pros: 7 upright Discatcher baskets with numbers in a small area of a park. All the fairways are well maintained grass and mostly open with some scattered large trees to shape the holes. With the map you kind of get the gist of where the tee might be, I teed off the pavement on holes 2, 3, and 5, you could probably also use pavement for tees on hole 1 and 6 if you wanted. If you play the pavement as OB it makes for some added challenge approaching a couple baskets, and the creek can come into play behind basket 4. You can play a few safari holes and make up some par 4 and 5 holes.
Cons: It's more of a practice course, no obvious signage other than numbers on baskets, bring the course map. Holes play a little close to each other, but I can't image it being crowded. Very flat, lacks diversity and challenge. Single chained baskets.
Other Thoughts: If I lived nearby, I'd play Silver Creek often to practice. I might play here again if I get stuck in 695 beltway traffic, the course is just a minute or two from 695 at 26/Liberty Rd.

 Silver Creek DGC

5+    10/6/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Spartan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for practicing drives and putts. Usually well maintained.
Cons: Only 7 holes available. Tees are hard to find and often made up on my part.
Other Thoughts: If you want to get in a few throws but want more than an open field, Silver Creek is great. Going for anything else would be useless, especially with so many better courses 10-20 minutes away.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to Find a Silver Lining

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 98  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is on a very well taken care of park. Although flat, there are plenty of mature trees and the day I played it had been freshly mowed.
-Decent baskets (DISCatchers).
Cons: -There isn't even a hint of where the tees should be. No tee signs, no bricks in the ground, no worn in dirt patches, nothing.
-Seriously, why 7 baskets? If you are going to buy 7, why wouldn't you find the money somewhere to buy 2 more? They could have squeezed 2 more holes on the land, and I really think whoever runs the park should try. It would make for a huge improvement.
Other Thoughts: From the park sign at the end of the cul-de-sac, the first basket is on the left. The holes then make a clockwise loop around the park ending with 7 back on the right side of the cul-de-sac. The only exception is that (what I assume is) hole 3 is in the back-center of the park, then 4's basket is to the left, then you have to backtrack to the right side of the park for basket 5. I just reversed the numbered basket 4 with the unmarked basket 3 when I played and it flowed a little better. Baskets 3 and 4 are across park roads, but the rest are on the same piece of park you started on. I generally just picked a tee spot somewhere near the previous basket. It was almost fun to play the role of course designer, picking a tee that incorporated multiple obstacles and making the hole challenging.

The sad thing is that this course could be greatly improved by just adding some kind of permanent tee markers to the course. It wouldn't take much time and hardly any money to just sink a few bricks with painted numbers on them. Additionally, if 2 more baskets were added, this would be a pretty nice 9-holer.

One final thought. If you think that the course is too short, or even too long, may I suggest that you picked the wrong tee spot? Unless someone knows exactly where the tees were designed to be, tee off from wherever you want to suit your tastes and talent level. Although I would rather have a set course, you could play this course with a different layout every night without ever repeating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  practice course

11/13/2007   11/13/2007
Review By: rromeo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good approach and practice course for beginners
Cons: 7 Holes??
Very short, almost whole course is on a neighborhood park about two blocks long.
Other Thoughts: Cool if you live in this neighborhood because it is right there.
Do not go out of your way if you want any type of serious disc golf experience this place does not compare with other courses in the vicinity. ie patapsco, rockburn, druid hill etc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.