Pikesville, MD 
Silver Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Updated Silver Creek Course

5+    11/12/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Chip Forward
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice practice/short course. This is a classic par 3 in every sense of the word.
Cons: 7 holes. We also need to get one of those walking wheels to measure the course and ive you the best info available.
Other Thoughts: I have installed a map in a document protector and box with maps for visiting players. There should be a .pdf file here with the map on it shortly. I have painted the Red and Blue tees November 2012 with surveyors outdoor paint and will refresh as needed. In Spring 2013 I plan to install brick markers for the tees where we can (tree roots are trouble) or use trees for proper tee markers.
We lost a 60 foot pine on the first hole that was everyone's nemesis so that's a little easier. I'll post video/photos in the Spring of 2013 with more info.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginners Course

2-4    3/19/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Flat, not crowded, easy to find baskets
Cons: no signs or marked tees; only 7 baskets
Other Thoughts: This is really a great course for someone who is just beginning to get into the sport. Flat open fairways are great for practicing. Short, easy to walk course. Basket Four is surrounded by rather dense "sticker" bushes so be care not to hook or slice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I liked the Baskets

1    12/12/2011   12/12/2011
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course sets on nice piece of property that has potential for a respectable 9 hole course. Excellent for practice and putting. Baskets are in great shape.
Cons: Except for holes 1 & 2 (barley marked on a tree). tees are anywhere you decide to stand. Seriously, someone put a map on here for approximate locations.
Other Thoughts: I doubt this course gets much. play on it. With that in mind, you can create your own holes at multiple distances and different looks. I recommend that over trying to figure out how to play the original course as designed. With tees this course could be a solid 2 at best

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Creek DGC

5+    10/6/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Spartan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for practicing drives and putts. Usually well maintained.
Cons: Only 7 holes available. Tees are hard to find and often made up on my part.
Other Thoughts: If you want to get in a few throws but want more than an open field, Silver Creek is great. Going for anything else would be useless, especially with so many better courses 10-20 minutes away.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to Find a Silver Lining

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 93  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is on a very well taken care of park. Although flat, there are plenty of mature trees and the day I played it had been freshly mowed.
-Decent baskets (DISCatchers).
Cons: -There isn't even a hint of where the tees should be. No tee signs, no bricks in the ground, no worn in dirt patches, nothing.
-Seriously, why 7 baskets? If you are going to buy 7, why wouldn't you find the money somewhere to buy 2 more? They could have squeezed 2 more holes on the land, and I really think whoever runs the park should try. It would make for a huge improvement.
Other Thoughts: From the park sign at the end of the cul-de-sac, the first basket is on the left. The holes then make a clockwise loop around the park ending with 7 back on the right side of the cul-de-sac. The only exception is that (what I assume is) hole 3 is in the back-center of the park, then 4's basket is to the left, then you have to backtrack to the right side of the park for basket 5. I just reversed the numbered basket 4 with the unmarked basket 3 when I played and it flowed a little better. Baskets 3 and 4 are across park roads, but the rest are on the same piece of park you started on. I generally just picked a tee spot somewhere near the previous basket. It was almost fun to play the role of course designer, picking a tee that incorporated multiple obstacles and making the hole challenging.

The sad thing is that this course could be greatly improved by just adding some kind of permanent tee markers to the course. It wouldn't take much time and hardly any money to just sink a few bricks with painted numbers on them. Additionally, if 2 more baskets were added, this would be a pretty nice 9-holer.

One final thought. If you think that the course is too short, or even too long, may I suggest that you picked the wrong tee spot? Unless someone knows exactly where the tees were designed to be, tee off from wherever you want to suit your tastes and talent level. Although I would rather have a set course, you could play this course with a different layout every night without ever repeating.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Perhaps

1    2/28/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Seven quality baskets in a flat park with some trees as obstacles is better than nothing.
Cons:
Only seven holes.
No tee pads.
No signage.
Only baskets 1,4,5,7 were actually labelled.
Flat, fairly short, smattering of trees provided the only obstacles.
Other Thoughts:
Quiet park behind an older neighbourhood.

There is certainly room to expand this "course" to nine holes, possibly more. Doing so, and adding some simple tee markers and signage, would result in a nice, simple, beginner-level course.

Since I couldn't find any tee pads, I simply played the course in a clockwise direction, teeing for the next basket from where I finished the current basket. This "layout" created a couple of decent-length holes, a couple of ace runs, and a few hyzer opportunities - not too bad for the small amount of area available.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Practice course

2-4    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: cute little course. Great place to meet up with friends and make up new holes and practice, but not a place to play a round.
Cons: 7 holes is a con, but worse was the fact there were NO TEES. Many of the baskets were unmarked also. There was no signage, no interesting holes, no reason to return.
-I returned 2 years later. I still rank this course in the bottom 3 ever played
Other Thoughts: Baskets anywhere is a good thing, but the lack of tees make this course chaotic and would turn off new players.
- 2 years later it looks like the baskets have been straightened, but still no tee pads, no direction, just 7 loose baskets on a feild.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Practice course

3/5/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: comcast eric
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick easy play.
Cons: Short, only 7 holes, gotta know the course to find the tees
Other Thoughts: DO NOT GO OUTTA YOUR WAY FOR THIS COURSE. if in the area and want to check it out go for it. Its poorly marked some tees are nothing but dug out spots of grass. Its an Awesome starter place and great for practice but in no way shape or form challenging to the experinced player. If you want to play it. Please contact me I live nearby and "play" there often as a practice course great to try new things/work on throws. I will gladly guide you to tees or meet you there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  practice course

11/13/2007   11/13/2007
Review By: rromeo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good approach and practice course for beginners
Cons: 7 Holes??
Very short, almost whole course is on a neighborhood park about two blocks long.
Other Thoughts: Cool if you live in this neighborhood because it is right there.
Do not go out of your way if you want any type of serious disc golf experience this place does not compare with other courses in the vicinity. ie patapsco, rockburn, druid hill etc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center